Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Queenstown backpackers hostel
199 followers|1,404,053 views


Ever wondered what it would be like to Skydive over Lake Wanaka? 
Add a comment...
Who has tried this in the Waitomo Caves?
Lonely Planet says that the Lost World is one of the most amazing things you can do in New Zealand. The experience starts with a 100 metre abseil into a mist-filled tomo (hole). Once down, you walk, swim and climb back to the surface through cathedral-sized caves, past stalactites and stalagmites that have taken millions of years to form.

(Photo and caption by Chris McLennan)
View original post
Add a comment...
So you've come to Queenstown, you've jumped off of high things and out of planes, rafted down the mighty Shotover river and shredded the beautiful slopes that this area has to offer but you still have a few days to kill? We have the perfect idea. Get a tent, hire a car and drive the Southern Scenic Route. It has some of the South Islands best scenery and wildlife. The best way to wind down after all the adrenaline that Queenstown throws at you. For more info visit
Add a comment...
Perfect bluebird day to be getting some turns in! Is spring ever going to arrive? The snow just keeps on falling. Get up there and make the most of it while it lasts!
Add a comment...
If you haven't already been to Milford sound this is just a snippet of what you're missing!! What are you waiting for? What a view eh?
kevin Paul Jeater's profile photo
Add a comment...
So you've come to Queenstown and done everything it has to offer from shredding the slopes to chucking yourself of a cliff or even out of a plane.....why not take the time to see the rest of the beautiful south island? Maybe one of these photos will change your mind.
kevin Paul Jeater's profile photoIsaura Iglesias Verdes's profile photo
Add a comment...
Where else would you rather skydive? 
With views like this it's no wonder skydiving over Queenstown is a must do when visiting NZ!
View original post
Add a comment...
So the snow's leaving us fast...the sun is starting to linger in the sky a little longer which means its almost summer. That can only mean one thing...MTB SEASON!!! Also the Queenstown Bike Festival is closing in with its many events like the wacky 16" World Championships! Who's been here to witness this madness?
Add a comment...
Taking a trip down memory lane today to remember past and present Nomads crew! Wonder where they are now? 
Add a comment...
The snow is still looking awesome for anyone that is keen to jump in a heli and shred some fresh turns....What are you waiting for? Get on it before the snow is all gone!!!!!
Add a comment...
The glowworm caves of Waitomo and Milford Sound are just the tip of the iceberg proving that New Zealand most definitely lives up to the hype. But have you ticked off many of the other 50 places on this list? 
Add a comment...
Happy ‪#‎SPCAcupcakeday‬ Today we are doing our part here for a great cause, selling lot's of Cupcakes and also running our Monday 'Apres On Ice' event for the Charity!
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5-11 Church St Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
5-11 Church StreetNZQueenstown9300
+64 3-441
Hostel, Travel Agency
Nomads Queenstown is backpacking in style. This fantastic property opened in July 2009 and is regularly voted the best hostel in New Zealand. It has a fantastic location just metres away from the lake in central Queestown.

With large and small dorms with or without ensuite, family rooms, and amazing king rooms with sky tv and fridge, Nomads Queenstown will be sure to impress. All dorm rooms have lockers, hanging space and reading lights for every bed.

The property also has a fully equipped modern kitchen, cinema, Lounge with fire place, sauna, Internet, travel desk and ski storage.

Check out more pictures of Nomads Queenstown.
Google+ URL

Street View

Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
107 reviews
5 star
59 reviews
4 star
35 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Danielle Clent's profile photo
Danielle Clent
2 months ago
Very nice place to stay in for the price. Central to everything and friendly/helpful staff. Would have been 5 stars however I think you guys should invest in some new pillows! They were quite lumpy but was only a small issue that could be overlooked due to the type of accommodation. Would definitely stay here again if I ever get the chance to return to Queenstown :)
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we are so happy to hear you a great time with us while you were in Queenie. We have since ordered some brand new pillows :) We look forward to you trying them out when you are back in town :) Thanks again Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team
Thorsten Schaeff's profile photo
Thorsten Schaeff
3 months ago
Conveniently located in the heart of Queenstown this hostel offers modern shared rooms with bunk beds and several shared facilities like a cosy common room and a free sauna. Dinner and breakfast are included. Staff was a bit sassy acting like this is heaven and we should be happy to get a bed tonight. Mattresses are quite thin. All in all good value for money though.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback - we are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our location is perfect and our common areas are a great place to chill out and keep your toes warm. Breakfast and Dinner are a crowd favorites, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed both options. It was a very busy weekend in Queenie this week with Gay Ski Week and the Final of the Winter Games - so beds were pretty tight all around town - we are glad you stayed with us and got to experience what we have to offer first hand. Thanks again for leaving your feedback - We hope the rest of your travels are going well. Cheers Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team
4 weeks ago
If you like big hostels with the possobilty to find people for partys, this could be a good hostel. Kitchen is a little bit too small, but clean. Bathrooms are also clean, just a little bit smelly. The common area is quite nice with the fireplace. Wifi is not free as promised on the website. Beds are not really nice, you can feel the springs and when someone is moving, the whole bunk-bed is shaking. But at least the bedrooms have lockers and small balcony with clothes horses for drying your clothes. It's really nice that you get free breakfast (toast + jam) and some dinner (not much, but at least it'sfree). It was my second time is Queenstown. The last time I stayed at Sir Cedrics. It was a much more familiar hostel. I personally prefered that one.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our common area is a pretty awesome spot to relax and the fire place sure does keep you r toes toasty on a cold day. Queenstown has just had the high speed fibre installed throughout town and we now have free wifi access for all guests. Our free light breakfast and light dinner are a crowd fav and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed them. Thanks again and we hope the rest of your travels are going well. Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team
Stephanie Whittaker's profile photo
Stephanie Whittaker
4 months ago
Great central location, super friendly front desk staff, free dinner if you fancy it, stuff going on each night posted on the board. Large common dining and lounge. Clean and modern rooms with a heat pump - actually got too hot! Had a 4 bed (wahine section) bunk room with a balcony, private toilet and a separate shower. Downside - NO PARKING! Free parking was a 5 min walk up the hill if you're lucky.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review - we are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. The staff love helping out where they can and are so grateful for the mention :) Our free brekkie and light dinner are a crowd favourite and we are so happy you enjoyed them. Parking can be a bit tricky in town but everything is within walking distance. Thanks again and Have a great week.Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team
Ray Yu
a month ago
This hostel was accommodating to my needs and the staff were very helpful and friendly. I was happy with the value. I stayed in a 8 bed dorm, the beds were quite squeaky and I could feel the bed frame through the mattress. The washrooms were cramped but were manageable. The kitchen seems to have everything you would need plus more. Overall it was a good hostel.
Response from the owner - 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our staff love helping out wherever they can and are so thankful for the mention. We hope the rest of your travels around our beautiful country are going well. Thanks again Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team
Jared Kelly's profile photo
Jared Kelly
in the last week
Really nice backpackers. Was cheap while still being clean, friendly and efficient. Loved the fact you had frisbees for the frisbee golf in the gardens.
Jessica Sacher's profile photo
Jessica Sacher
in the last week
Great hostel, full of people but they do a great job managing that many guests. Loved the balconies off of the rooms and the social events. Laundry didn't work so well but maybe that was just a fluke (the dryer wasn't really drying). Would absolutely recommend!!!
Dave Butt's profile photo
Dave Butt
a month ago
Good accommodation with free breakfasts and dinner but unfortunately still haven't figured out that internet access is pretty much a human right these days... Still, they've won awards and i didn't find any bodies under my bed so it's all good.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hey Dave! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. We figured free brekky and free dinner were a little bit more important than free internet. Despite facebook and tinder taking the world by storm, we strongly believe in human interaction. So the small fee we charge for our internet access, is our way of discouraging people to stop being glued to their phones. Yes we have won many awards over the last few years - fortunately none of them are for our body hiding capabilities but we are very happy to hear you did not find any under yours. Thanks again! Have a great trip and we hope to see you when you are next in town. Cheers Sam and the Nomads Queenie Team