Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel and Bar
Hostel
132 followers|1,389,090 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
38 Fort St Auckland, 1010 New Zealand
38 Fort StreetNZAuckland1010
+64 9-307 0181nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Travel Agency
Hostel
Travel Agency
Bar

Fun Backpackers Hostel located in downtown Auckland near to Vector Arena, The Skytower and all the downtown shops. Dorm beds start from $19 and that includes a FREE entree meal and a 241 drink voucher
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
Have them in circles
132 people
Flying Kiwi New Zealand Tours's profile photo
Arran Dempsey's profile photo
TravelSim's profile photo
Kelsey Michelson's profile photo
Laurie Johnson's profile photo
Mad Travel Shop's profile photo
Sant Jordi Hostel Gracia's profile photo
Agroventures Adventure Park Rotorua's profile photo
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$41
Book at Expedia.com
Booking links sponsored. $47 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
2.8
65 reviews
5 star
6 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
22 reviews
2 star
11 reviews
1 star
14 reviews
Basic rooms & dorms in a hostel with 8 shared kitchens & a bar, plus free evening snacks.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Matt Bussey
a week ago
A positive was that all the staff were friendly and helpful, no complaints here. However - staying in this hostel in January was hell. An old, outdated tower block type hostel that seems to trap all the heat and humidity into the building. Not only were the amenities (kitchen, showers, toilet) all very dated, but I could not spend any extended period of time in my room or its flat, as the stuffy, dense air forced me out. Moved to the newer Nomads Hostel about 5 doors down and had a much more enjoyable stay.
• • •
Yvette Cottam
2 months ago
To be honest, i felt like a criminal! I arrived to check in, and was asked for passport or drivers licence. I am a kiwi, so wasn't carrying my passport. I was travelling public trqansport, so didn't have my drivers licence with me. i WAS carrying a photo id, but this was almost not acceptable, and i was told repeatedly that i couldn't be checked in! I am seriously thinking of cancelling my upcoming booking at this place! The place was good, facilities good,location good.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hi Yvette, Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately it's our, and almost every other hostels, company policy that we take ID from everyone no matter where they are from. This gives us a chance to see where our main demographic are from but more importantly it is to serve as security for the business in case of damages or even accidents. It's also a good way of making sure no one is under age :) I'm sorry if you took offence to this but I can assure you that was not our intention and the staff were only doing what they were trained to do. I am happy however to hear that you liked what the hostel had to offer and we hope that you have better luck with your accommodation in the future. The Fatty Crew
Joe Blackwell's profile photo
Joe Blackwell
2 months ago
Nomad's Fat Camel is an OK hostel. It's centrally located so good for getting out and seeing the city. We had a private double room which was basic but comfortable, and the shared facilities were clean and adequate. WiFi was a little flakey, which is annoying when you have to pay for it.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Joe, Glad to hear you enjoyed your time whilst in Auckland and that the Fat Camel met your needs. I am really sorry to hear about the wifi issues you had though as we've just upgraded to fibre so we would hope it works amazingly. Sorry about mate but hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Much love, The Fatty Crew
jon puttick
2 months ago
Seems on a par with the other low cost hostels in Auckland. Perhaps a little worse for a little less money. It holds a strange atmosphere where the whole place smells like an old pub. Poorly equipped and unclean kitchens.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Jon, Sorry to hear you found the hostel a little smelly, no one likes to hear they smell like an old pub, not even an old pub! We are on the 'little worse for wear' side I do agree, the hostel is quite old but we always try to do our very best at keeping it as clean as possible. We will take extra care of the kitchen from now on and also look at purchasing more equipment for them. Thanks for your feedback, we really do appreciate comments like these. The Fatty Crew
Mariana Barreto
4 months ago
Great things and really bad things at the same time: The best ones: - The bar downstairs - The dinner served everyday, with options of the "free meal" and a cheap extra for the whole portion + a drink. It integrates the backpackers. - The price. It's the cheapest one I've found. - The localization. Very central and great infra around. Bad ones: - There's no air circulating at the dorms!!! The kitchens at the dorms CAN NOT have no window. The dorm areas have no window - just some bedrooms (not all!). When someone burns anything on the oven or simply open a Doritos bag the smell takes everything! This is really dangerous. - Few showers, toilets and sinks - at least not enough, in my opinion. The small bathroom in my dorm was always busy. - Internet paid. I moved to another hostel because it would cost much for me in the end (10 months).
• • •
Sarah Rasmussen's profile photo
Sarah Rasmussen
4 months ago
We had a very poor experience at Nomads Fat Camel. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, as were the pillows (Basically a piece of paper). We also had many issues with cleanliness. The bathrooms appeared to not have been cleaned for at least two days. Also, there was no room to put anything in the room itself. We had checked in and got the final three beds in the room, and there was no floor space to have our bags, so we practically had to sleep with them. Bought the wifi for 24 hours and it wasn't even powerful enough to type an email or google something. Unsatisfied and will definitely not be returning.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Hey Sarah, I'm really sorry to hear all of this, I hope the guys at reception helped you with your complaints at the time? We do in fact have cleaners that service all the common areas and facilities throughout the day and therefore your bathroom should have been clean so I aplolgise for that. I have spoken with our housekeeping team to make sure that these areas have special attention and nothing is missed in future. We greatly appreciate your feedback, without it would not know what guests need us to improve on. We hope you have a safe and fun trip. The Fatty Crew
connor hogan's profile photo
connor hogan
3 months ago
so dirty!! the white pillow cases had dirt on them when we arrived, when we woke in the morning to head out our key card stopped working when we were checkedn in for 2 days. the shower was filthy and falling apart the toilet was blocked and the toilet seat had been painted white. just made me feel filthy. the staff however were absolutely amazing
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Connor, Thanks for placing feedback and we are disappointed it did not live up to expectations. We are in the middle of re-decorating all of the apartments and upgrading the facilities is the next job on our to-do list. I have taken these matters up with our housekeeping team. Thank you for complimenting our absolutely awesome team though! The Fatty Crew!
Shawna Harris
5 months ago
The usual hostel experience. Good room mates=good time. Annoying people/snorers/inconsiderate people who pretend they dont see you sleeping. Yep. You'll get it anywhere, including here. I liked the private room from my last stay. No noise, but expensive.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Hey Shawna, Glad you enjoyed your stay.....we love our tea too :o) Thanks The Fatty Crew!

Stream

 
Can you guess which NZ location takes top spot?
Get on down to Hobbitown and watch those likes pour in.
1
Add a comment...
 
In case you need some more convincing to travel NZ! 
1
Add a comment...
 
This looks amazing! 
 
For 11 years, National Geographic has searched the world to find the Adventurers of the Year. Get to know the 2016 honorees, and then vote for who you think should win the People's Choice award.
Video: Meet the 2016 Adventurers of the Year: National Geographic presents the people whose extraordinary achievements in exploration, adventure sports, conservation, or humanitarianism made our year in adventure. Honoring: Tommy Caldwell, Kevin Jorgeson, Chris Davenport, Christy Mahon, Ted Mahon, Steve Boyes, Pasang Lhamu Sherpa Akita, the Afghan Women's Cycling Team, Ben Stookesberry, Chris Korbulic, Benny Marr, Pedro Oliva, Arthur Middleton, J...
7 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Thinking about coming to New Zealand? This video might help you decide :)
1
Paul Burgess's profile photo
 
Can't speak highly enough of the staff, extremely accommodating and friendly. Place just had a repaint so was nice and fresh, only negative would have to be the thin mattress, but no big deal, everything else made up for that.
Add a comment...
 
Totally agree that this is an #NZMustDO 
 
#NZMustDO Emerald lakes, alpine meadows and hot springs surround the volcanoes in Tongariro National Park - the largest in the North Island. The park's most celebrated activity is the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, a one-day trek that traverses the otherworldly terrain along the slopes of all three mountains: Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu. http://bit.ly/tnztongariro
2 comments on original post
2
1
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
132 people
Flying Kiwi New Zealand Tours's profile photo
Arran Dempsey's profile photo
TravelSim's profile photo
Kelsey Michelson's profile photo
Laurie Johnson's profile photo
Mad Travel Shop's profile photo
Sant Jordi Hostel Gracia's profile photo
Agroventures Adventure Park Rotorua's profile photo
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
 
We agree. 
 
Some musings on how to "travel" - whether or not you leave home...
The travel state of mind is a way and means of traveling and experiencing the world. And you can even experience this without leaving home! Here's how.
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Here's what to do in New Zealand's hippest city. 
1
Add a comment...
 
This is something you should add to your bucket list!
1
Add a comment...
 
Very wise words! Just get out there and travel!
 
What are you waiting for?
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Mary did a bungy jump and she's 91! What's your excuse? Come and do a bungy in Auckland with +AJ Hackett Bungy New Zealand  off the Harbour Bridge!
1
AJ Hackett Bungy New Zealand's profile photoNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel and Bar's profile photo
2 comments
 
She totally is! :)
Add a comment...