Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel and Bar
Hostel
135 followers|1,548,807 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
38 Fort St Auckland, 1010 New Zealand
38 Fort StreetNZAuckland1010
+64 9-307 0181nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Travel Agency
Hostel
Travel Agency
Bar

Fun Backpackers Hostel located in downtown Auckland near to Vector Arena, The Skytower and all the downtown shops. Dorm beds start from $19 and that includes a FREE entree meal and a 241 drink voucher
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
Have them in circles
135 people
Amanda Burger's profile photo
Emmy Jegon's profile photo
Kiwi Experience's profile photo
Go Kiwi Shuttles's profile photo
Sant Jordi Hostel Gracia's profile photo
Mosaic HostelBelgrade's profile photo
Paul Dammers's profile photo
Coronet Peak Tandem Paragliding and Hang Gliding's profile photo
William Kinai's profile photo
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
$40
Book at Booking.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $46 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
2.8
75 reviews
5 star
9 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
26 reviews
2 star
14 reviews
1 star
14 reviews
Basic rooms & dorms in a hostel with 8 shared kitchens & a bar, plus free evening snacks.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Mark H's profile photo
Mark H
a month ago
One of the best hotels I've been at (and I've been to hundreds), except for some things like: 1) There are rooms with no windows, and they don't seem to have proper ventilation 2) No outlets at/close to the bed or bed lights 3) Wi-fi is not free and paying for it doesn't mean it's gonna be fast There is a $0(snack)/$3(full-size)/5 (+beer/wine/soda) meal option every night which might be good if you're on a budget - nothing special though. And the bar they have seems to be a good value. A big common room with TV, books and plenty of couches to crash on.
• • •
Alissa Edlinger's profile photo
Alissa Edlinger
in the last week
Had a great experience at Nomads. All the staff were really friendly and motivated and the backpackers were all awesome :)
Alec Wignall's profile photo
Alec Wignall
a month ago
Great location in the city, has a lot of potential if there was some investment. Otherwise its a great price but you get what you pay for and thats not much! Staff were nice enough so overall not too bad at all for the price!
Matt Bussey's profile photo
Matt Bussey
3 months ago
A positive was that all the staff were friendly and helpful, no complaints here. However - staying in this hostel in January was hell. An old, outdated tower block type hostel that seems to trap all the heat and humidity into the building. Not only were the amenities (kitchen, showers, toilet) all very dated, but I could not spend any extended period of time in my room or its flat, as the stuffy, dense air forced me out. Moved to the newer Nomads Hostel about 5 doors down and had a much more enjoyable stay.
• • •
Kelly Rice's profile photo
Kelly Rice
4 weeks ago
The facility is alright, not the best, not the worst. The set up is nice, but the lost and found system is a bit lacking in existing. I left a pair of glasses on the bed accidentally when I left. Called the desk, and was told they had not seen them. I guess they weren't found when the bed was cleaned? I went into the facility to see if they had found them, they hadn't. But they did allow me to go take a look for myself around the room.
Mariana Barreto's profile photo
Mariana Barreto
7 months ago
Great things and really bad things at the same time: The best ones: - The bar downstairs - The dinner served everyday, with options of the "free meal" and a cheap extra for the whole portion + a drink. It integrates the backpackers. - The price. It's the cheapest one I've found. - The localization. Very central and great infra around. Bad ones: - There's no air circulating at the dorms!!! The kitchens at the dorms CAN NOT have no window. The dorm areas have no window - just some bedrooms (not all!). When someone burns anything on the oven or simply open a Doritos bag the smell takes everything! This is really dangerous. - Few showers, toilets and sinks - at least not enough, in my opinion. The small bathroom in my dorm was always busy. - Internet paid. I moved to another hostel because it would cost much for me in the end (10 months).
• • •
Yvette Cottam's profile photo
Yvette Cottam
5 months ago
To be honest, i felt like a criminal! I arrived to check in, and was asked for passport or drivers licence. I am a kiwi, so wasn't carrying my passport. I was travelling public trqansport, so didn't have my drivers licence with me. i WAS carrying a photo id, but this was almost not acceptable, and i was told repeatedly that i couldn't be checked in! I am seriously thinking of cancelling my upcoming booking at this place! The place was good, facilities good,location good.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hi Yvette, Thanks for your feedback. Unfortunately it's our, and almost every other hostels, company policy that we take ID from everyone no matter where they are from. This gives us a chance to see where our main demographic are from but more importantly it is to serve as security for the business in case of damages or even accidents. It's also a good way of making sure no one is under age :) I'm sorry if you took offence to this but I can assure you that was not our intention and the staff were only doing what they were trained to do. I am happy however to hear that you liked what the hostel had to offer and we hope that you have better luck with your accommodation in the future. The Fatty Crew
Sarah Rasmussen's profile photo
Sarah Rasmussen
7 months ago
We had a very poor experience at Nomads Fat Camel. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, as were the pillows (Basically a piece of paper). We also had many issues with cleanliness. The bathrooms appeared to not have been cleaned for at least two days. Also, there was no room to put anything in the room itself. We had checked in and got the final three beds in the room, and there was no floor space to have our bags, so we practically had to sleep with them. Bought the wifi for 24 hours and it wasn't even powerful enough to type an email or google something. Unsatisfied and will definitely not be returning.
• • •
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Hey Sarah, I'm really sorry to hear all of this, I hope the guys at reception helped you with your complaints at the time? We do in fact have cleaners that service all the common areas and facilities throughout the day and therefore your bathroom should have been clean so I aplolgise for that. I have spoken with our housekeeping team to make sure that these areas have special attention and nothing is missed in future. We greatly appreciate your feedback, without it would not know what guests need us to improve on. We hope you have a safe and fun trip. The Fatty Crew

Stream

 
Can you guess which NZ location takes top spot?
Get on down to Hobbitown and watch those likes pour in.
1
Add a comment...
 
In case you need some more convincing to travel NZ! 
1
Add a comment...
 
This looks amazing! 
 
For 11 years, National Geographic has searched the world to find the Adventurers of the Year. Get to know the 2016 honorees, and then vote for who you think should win the People's Choice award.
Video: Meet the 2016 Adventurers of the Year: National Geographic presents the people whose extraordinary achievements in exploration, adventure sports, conservation, or humanitarianism made our year in adventure. Honoring: Tommy Caldwell, Kevin Jorgeson, Chris Davenport, Christy Mahon, Ted Mahon, Steve Boyes, Pasang Lhamu Sherpa Akita, the Afghan Women's Cycling Team, Ben Stookesberry, Chris Korbulic, Benny Marr, Pedro Oliva, Arthur Middleton, J...
9 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Thinking about coming to New Zealand? This video might help you decide :)
1
Paul Burgess's profile photo
 
Can't speak highly enough of the staff, extremely accommodating and friendly. Place just had a repaint so was nice and fresh, only negative would have to be the thin mattress, but no big deal, everything else made up for that.
Add a comment...
 
Totally agree that this is an #NZMustDO 
 
#NZMustDO Emerald lakes, alpine meadows and hot springs surround the volcanoes in Tongariro National Park - the largest in the North Island. The park's most celebrated activity is the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, a one-day trek that traverses the otherworldly terrain along the slopes of all three mountains: Tongariro, Ngauruhoe and Ruapehu. http://bit.ly/tnztongariro
2 comments on original post
2
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
135 people
Amanda Burger's profile photo
Emmy Jegon's profile photo
Kiwi Experience's profile photo
Go Kiwi Shuttles's profile photo
Sant Jordi Hostel Gracia's profile photo
Mosaic HostelBelgrade's profile photo
Paul Dammers's profile photo
Coronet Peak Tandem Paragliding and Hang Gliding's profile photo
William Kinai's profile photo
 
We agree. 
 
Some musings on how to "travel" - whether or not you leave home...
The travel state of mind is a way and means of traveling and experiencing the world. And you can even experience this without leaving home! Here's how.
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Here's what to do in New Zealand's hippest city. 
1
Add a comment...
 
This is something you should add to your bucket list!
1
Add a comment...
 
Very wise words! Just get out there and travel!
 
What are you waiting for?
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Mary did a bungy jump and she's 91! What's your excuse? Come and do a bungy in Auckland with +AJ Hackett Bungy New Zealand  off the Harbour Bridge!
1
AJ Hackett Bungy New Zealand's profile photoNomads Fat Camel Backpackers Hostel and Bar's profile photo
2 comments
 
She totally is! :)
Add a comment...