Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel
Hostel
193 followers|813,821 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
341 Lake St Cairns North QLD 4870 Australia
341 Lake StreetAUQueenslandCairns North4870
+61 7 4040 7777nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Bar
Hostel
Bar
Travel Agency
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Resort is the ultimate tropical backpackers hostel located just minutes from major transportation and attraction's such as the Esplanade Lagoon.

Our Cairns hostel has a variety of rooms to suit all needs including:

- King private rooms with en-suite and T.V. and coffee and tea making facilities
- Doubles and twins with en-suite or without
- 8,6 and 4 bed dormitories with shared facilities
- Female and male only rooms

All rooms are air-conditioned, with lockers and all linen is provided.

Nomads Cairns backpackers offers you outstanding value for your hard earned dollars with competitive nightly rates just the beginning.

Our backpakcer and private accommodation has been designed to provide you with a great nights sleep and includes everything you need to enjoy the great Tropical North Queensland lifestyle, with no hidden extras. Standard features include:-

* Fully air-conditioned
* Secure storage area
* Security card room access
* Cupboard space
* Free clean linen
* Comfortable beds
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
In their circles
90 people
Have them in circles
193 people
Australia Backpackers's profile photo
The Backslackers's profile photo
Cairns Backpackers's profile photo
Nomads St Kilda Beach's profile photo
Rosetta Plumb's profile photo
Fiona McFarlane's profile photo
FNQ Apartments's profile photo
Mad Travel Shop's profile photo
Smart IT Solutions Group's profile photo
Make a Reservation
2-star hotel
$16
Book at Travelocity.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $32 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.3
21 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
6 reviews
3 star
4 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Richard Lee
2 weeks ago
Great airport pickups (but not dropoffs) and free bus to centre of Cairns (and back) till the early hrs of the morning. Good cheap meals and free coffee/tea & toast for breakfast. 7 bunk rooms crowded as expected but bathrooms reasonably clean. Good kitchen Cheap WiFi and good tour desk. Huge so always somewhere to chill out by yourself. Music in public areas could have been turned down after midnight. :( Verdict : probably the best of the Cairns backpackers
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hi Richard, thank you so much for your feedback. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry to hear that the music wasn't turned down during your stay and we will make sure this will done going forward! We hope you had a great time traveling on and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Cairns Management
Joel Day's profile photo
Joel Day
5 months ago
Good kitchen, with a range of appliances and pots&pans, nice showers, and a good bar; the pool tastes funny; the cheap evening meal was nice the one time we had it. Reception staff are all friendly and chatty; only downside was that it is much further from town than the other hostels, however they do offer a free shuttle bus throughout the day
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hiya Joel - thanks heaps for the review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay - we are a bit out of the town centre but our end of town is also very cool with the Esplanade and Botanical Gardens :) PS don't drink the pool water haha!
Eileen Schreieder
5 months ago
Room booked with aircon: aircon was not working, no refunds if you get sick or flight get canceld etc..., old bathroom facilities, really bad air in bathrooms (no windows or anything), people at the reception don't know much about Queensland... Just about some tours that they offer..
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thanks for the review - we are sorry you did not have a good stay. We do offer refunds in compassionate circumstances but if your plans change then we are very happy to transfer your credit to a future booking. We have some new staff on reception but always make sure to have some experienced staff on with them to offer local and national advice - our MAD travel desk are experts on this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Megan Kohnhorst's profile photo
Megan Kohnhorst
a month ago
Reception was not helpful and seemed to not know how the hostel ran. It was dissapointing to buy wifi and only have it work in the corridor....
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Megan, thank you very much for your review. I am disappointed to hear that you didn't feel well look after during your stay with us. We have quite a few staff members in training at the moment which could have led to delayed check in time or getting information. We apologise for this! Unfortunately we don't have any free WiFi at this stage but all floors and rooms have WiFi access! We hope you will enjoy the rest of your travels and we will see you again in the future. Thanks Nomads Cairns Management
Mark Reuben Arat's profile photo
Mark Reuben Arat
a month ago
I had fun staying at Nomads Cairns. I stayed in a Double Deluxe Room but i was happy to mingle with everybody during the course of my stay. The staff and other backpackers were friendly and accommodating. If you are in Cairns and looking for a cheap but quality Backpackers Hostel, look no further than Nomads.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Mark, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear you had a fab time with us and hope to see you again in the near future! Thanks Nomads Cairns Management
Paul Magron
2 months ago
Basically heaven on earth. Great bar, pool and place in general. The staff is super nice and efficient. Dorms are... okay. But hey, who cares about sleeping ? ++ free breakfast, airport pick-up, city bus... Great experience, if i go back to cairns i'll definitively return there ;)
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Paul, thank you very much for your review! We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so thoroughly :) Exactly what we like to hear :) Please let us know if you have coming back any time soon! Thanks Nomads Cairns Management
Captain James Cook
5 months ago
Despite the jokey alias, this is a serious review. This hostel was really cheap for me and that is why I used it. And the price is about the only thing going for it. Pros - cheap. They do some cheap drinks and also $3 meals every night. Meals are actually Ok. - Free pickup from airport Cons - The shuttle is a bit of a death trap. It looks like something you would find in SE Asia. No seat belts etc. - Town is about 35 min walk. So, if you miss the shuttle, it becomes a bit difficult as the shuttle only runs on the hour once (almost every hour) except at like 8 pm & 11 am. - Air Con is the biggest issue. Even when its on, its pretty weak so, room is fairly hot. Toilets are actually like saunas. Someone rooms dont even have air con working. So, check with reception before you move into the room.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hiya - thanks for the review and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay Our shuttle bus is regularly serviced and meets all Australian safety standards - we check the engine, tyres and vehicle daily to make sure it is running well. She certainly doesn't look like a limo but she is definitely safe! Also we are currently replacing all our aircon system so all problems will be fixed - all rooms have air-conditioning - if we have any mechanical issues with the units we are happy to move people to another room with working aircon. Cairns has had an unusually hot summer this year so we are all definitely feeling the heat! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Jason Riley's profile photo
Jason Riley
5 months ago
Friendly & helpful reception staff but my room smelt like rotten socks. Therefore I felt like the room wasn't clean. I feel that the room was over priced for it's condition and smell.
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hiya Jason thanks for your comments - we are in the process of replacing all our old carpets but I can assure you that we clean the rooms every day. Our rates start from $20 a night so we are definitely on the cheaper end of the scale. We hope you can come back and visit us again soon to see our improvements!

Stream

 
BOOM!!!
1
Add a comment...
 
What type and why??
 
What type of Adventurer are you?

I'm an Independent Free Spirit. That's pretty right on.

#Adventure   #ventureout   #travel  
2 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
we are all on a health kick ATM :)
 
{NEW} Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Protein Bars -- they taste just like cookie dough snuck straight from the bowl! Just 88 calories & made with NO butter, eggs, refined flour or sugar!

See my recipe ›› http://amyshealthybaking.com/blog/2015/07/10/chocolate-chip-cookie-dough-protein-bars/

#healthy   #cleaneating   #glutenfree   #vegan   #cookies   #snack   #protein   #recipe  
View original post
1
Amy Atherton's profile photo
 
Thanks for sharing!
Add a comment...
 
FYI lol
 
Short on budget? Those are some countries you should probably avoid.

#travel #trip #summer
New ranking reveals the 10 countries you should avoid if you're travelling on a budget
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Well hello there July.. You're looking good ;)
 
Wakey wakey, it's finally #July! HOORAY!
What are you folks doing this month to make the most of #summer?
View original post
1
Add a comment...
In their circles
90 people
Have them in circles
193 people
Australia Backpackers's profile photo
The Backslackers's profile photo
Cairns Backpackers's profile photo
Nomads St Kilda Beach's profile photo
Rosetta Plumb's profile photo
Fiona McFarlane's profile photo
FNQ Apartments's profile photo
Mad Travel Shop's profile photo
Smart IT Solutions Group's profile photo
 
Love this view
 
The 12 Apostles is a collection of limestone stacks off the shore of the Port Campbell National Park in #Australia
View original post
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
same same :P
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
Get me here now!!
 
Sunset at The Legian, Bali!!

#indonesia   #bali   #sunset   #photography   #nature   #travel   #adventure   #beach   #beautiful   #trip   #vacation   #holiday  

============================================

http://www.stmaartenpenthouse.com/

Project House | Bathroom | Decoration & Design | Dining Room | Garage | Kitchen
11 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Can we expect you soon?!
1
1
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Add a comment...