Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel
Hostel
164 followers|595,507 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
Feeling fit? Got to be one of the most scenic races in the world. 
 
#CoralCoast5150 takes in the paradise of Port Douglas, on Sunday 7 June.
This race is the perfect hit out ahead of #IMCairns & #IM703Cairns.
Register online www.ironman.com/coralcoast5150
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Love this quote :)
1
Add a comment...
 
Some more fabulous photos from our part of the world #thisisqueensland   #australia  
 
These are some of our favourite #thisisqueensland fan photos that have been shared with us over the last week.
6 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
we vote #1 #Fitzroyisland! Great place to visit for everyone
 
Please show your support and vote for #FitzroyIsland in the Holidays with Kids Best Family Resorts: http://bit.ly/1vxvYCD

We appreciate your support :)
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Take from it what you will.. but let it be positive :)
Funny travel photo - Give Me A Sign God! Well, here is the answer that you've been looking for and it's in a shop front window in Sydney, Australia!
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
No excuses!
 
Ways you can stay on budget with you #travel: http://ow.ly/J9z0b #traveltips #ttot
The world is becoming more accessible, with airlines, accommodation and everything in between available at budget-friendly prices. If you can sort through the droves of information, you can go a lot further for a lot less. You can collect and redeem ...
View original post
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
164 people
Cherie Wakefield's profile photo
Sokolska Youth Hostel's profile photo
Helper Planet's profile photo
Pegasus Hostel Berlin's profile photo
Aussie Airconditioning PTY LTD's profile photo
Gray E. Mewburn's profile photo
Coral Sea Coaches's profile photo
THE WORD Australia's profile photo
Leanne Peard's profile photo
 
3-2-1 Bungy!!!!
1
1
Cairns's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
If you're heading to Sydney make sure that you check this out! +Nomads Westend Backpackers  #sydney   #travel   #australia  
 
The incredible “Lanterns of the Terracotta Warriors” are currently glowing in brilliant bursts of colour at Dawes Point in Sydney until Sunday 22nd of February. These larger than life lanterns are appearing here in Australia for the first time and are part of the +City of Sydney  Chinese New Year Festival. 
24 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Love this!!! #koala   #australia  
 
You just wouldn't care if this is who stole your car would you?
A STUDENT got the surprise of his life when he spotted an unlikely thief trying to take of with the family’s 4WD — with little success.
View original post
1
Add a comment...
 
Have a listen.. this always helps me de-stress  :)
1
Add a comment...
 
as they say.. 'the bigger the better' :)

we <3 #australia  
2
Add a comment...
 
Sounds like a pretty good deal if you're looking for your second year visa! #australia   #surf   #whv  
 
Get a 2nd Year Aussie Visa and surf with +Mojosurf Australia  at the same time. Could this be the best fruitpicking job? I think so!

#fruitpicking   #whv   #australia  
View original post
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
341 Lake Street Cairns North QLD 4870
341 Lake StreetAUQueenslandCairns North4870
+61 7 4040 7777nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Bar
Hostel
Bar
Travel Agency
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Resort is the ultimate tropical backpackers hostel located just minutes from major transportation and attraction's such as the Esplanade Lagoon.

Our Cairns hostel has a variety of rooms to suit all needs including:

- King private rooms with en-suite and T.V. and coffee and tea making facilities
- Doubles and twins with en-suite or without
- 8,6 and 4 bed dormitories with shared facilities
- Female and male only rooms

All rooms are air-conditioned, with lockers and all linen is provided.

Nomads Cairns backpackers offers you outstanding value for your hard earned dollars with competitive nightly rates just the beginning.

Our backpakcer and private accommodation has been designed to provide you with a great nights sleep and includes everything you need to enjoy the great Tropical North Queensland lifestyle, with no hidden extras. Standard features include:-

* Fully air-conditioned
* Secure storage area
* Security card room access
* Cupboard space
* Free clean linen
* Comfortable beds
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
164 people
Cherie Wakefield's profile photo
Sokolska Youth Hostel's profile photo
Helper Planet's profile photo
Pegasus Hostel Berlin's profile photo
Aussie Airconditioning PTY LTD's profile photo
Gray E. Mewburn's profile photo
Coral Sea Coaches's profile photo
THE WORD Australia's profile photo
Leanne Peard's profile photo
Make a Reservation
1-star hotel
$43
Book at Booking.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $47 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.3
12 reviews
5 star
2 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Eileen Schreieder
a week ago
Room booked with aircon: aircon was not working, no refunds if you get sick or flight get canceld etc..., old bathroom facilities, really bad air in bathrooms (no windows or anything), people at the reception don't know much about Queensland... Just about some tours that they offer..
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thanks for the review - we are sorry you did not have a good stay. We do offer refunds in compassionate circumstances but if your plans change then we are very happy to transfer your credit to a future booking. We have some new staff on reception but always make sure to have some experienced staff on with them to offer local and national advice - our MAD travel desk are experts on this. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Captain James Cook
a month ago
Despite the jokey alias, this is a serious review. This hostel was really cheap for me and that is why I used it. And the price is about the only thing going for it. Pros - cheap. They do some cheap drinks and also $3 meals every night. Meals are actually Ok. - Free pickup from airport Cons - The shuttle is a bit of a death trap. It looks like something you would find in SE Asia. No seat belts etc. - Town is about 35 min walk. So, if you miss the shuttle, it becomes a bit difficult as the shuttle only runs on the hour once (almost every hour) except at like 8 pm & 11 am. - Air Con is the biggest issue. Even when its on, its pretty weak so, room is fairly hot. Toilets are actually like saunas. Someone rooms dont even have air con working. So, check with reception before you move into the room.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hiya - thanks for the review and I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay Our shuttle bus is regularly serviced and meets all Australian safety standards - we check the engine, tyres and vehicle daily to make sure it is running well. She certainly doesn't look like a limo but she is definitely safe! Also we are currently replacing all our aircon system so all problems will be fixed - all rooms have air-conditioning - if we have any mechanical issues with the units we are happy to move people to another room with working aircon. Cairns has had an unusually hot summer this year so we are all definitely feeling the heat! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.
Justine Rule
a year ago
Good value for the money. Fantastic location. Walk out the front door and you're looking at the ocean. Lagoon across the street for swimming. There's a lot of events to go to in the evenings or DVD's for a quiet night in. Sunday mornings feature a pancake breakfast which is delicious and a great pick me up after a Saturday night out. The reception is great, very friendly.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks for the review - this one is not for us though - we are not opposite the lagoon we are at the northern end of the Esplanade (but we do have a massive lagoon style pool!)
Charlotte O'byrne's profile photo
Charlotte O'byrne
a year ago
I had a great time staying at Nomads, The staff were really friendly and helpful. It's close to everything, Perfect location.
Joel Day's profile photo
Joel Day
a month ago
Good kitchen, with a range of appliances and pots&pans, nice showers, and a good bar; the pool tastes funny; the cheap evening meal was nice the one time we had it. Reception staff are all friendly and chatty; only downside was that it is much further from town than the other hostels, however they do offer a free shuttle bus throughout the day
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hiya Joel - thanks heaps for the review we are glad that you enjoyed your stay - we are a bit out of the town centre but our end of town is also very cool with the Esplanade and Botanical Gardens :) PS don't drink the pool water haha!
Jason Riley's profile photo
Jason Riley
a week ago
Friendly & helpful reception staff but my room smelt like rotten socks. Therefore I felt like the room wasn't clean. I feel that the room was over priced for it's condition and smell.
Response from the owner - a week ago
Hiya Jason thanks for your comments - we are in the process of replacing all our old carpets but I can assure you that we clean the rooms every day. Our rates start from $20 a night so we are definitely on the cheaper end of the scale. We hope you can come back and visit us again soon to see our improvements!
Warra Spraggon's profile photo
Warra Spraggon
a year ago
As far as backpackers go, this place is great. Loads of nightly events, free food, cheap drinks, great atmosphere. Private rooms with ensuites are great for low costs getaways.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks for the review - we are glad you had a great stay!
A Google User
3 years ago
This hostel has been under new management for some time and what an improvement. I only stayed one night but next time I am in Cairns I shall be making a beeline for this hostel. Really clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very reasonable (you can't get more reasonable than a free breakfast!) and tastier than I've had in some posh restaurants. The location was ideal for me, however I appreciate that some travellers aren't keen on a leisurely stroll to the town centre or waiting for the free shuttle bus!
• • •