Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm assuming by the fact that you needed to use the buzzer that you arrived after 11pm and before 7am. We only have 1 member of staff on at this time, so if they need to attend to an issue in the hostel, then they will unfortunately take a while to answer the door, as we pride ourselves on security. Many other hostels in Auckland do not have 24hr reception. Also as you travel New Zealand you will find that free WiFi is not widely available in most large hostels. Our hostel actually does offer free unlimited WIFI in our MAD Travel lounge between the hours of 9am and 7pm, it is only paid for in your room etc. I'm very sorry to hear that you had issues with your door card, they are unfortunately temperamental if you put them near your phone or other bank cards. I have addressed this with the staff member in question, and also his attitude. We appreciate all feedback on staff members performances and act on it accordingly. As far as hangars go, apologies for not being able to supply one, as we don't have wardrobes, we do not usually need them. We have hooks on all the doors of our rooms, and since this review we will now stock some free of charge at reception. If you wish to send any further feedback or if you are planning on returning to Auckland, please email me on email@example.com.