Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Hostel
175 followers|2,206,242 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
So you've booked or hired a camparvan? Here's what you need to know before your travels...
1
Add a comment...
 
And that's how we roll...
1
Add a comment...
 
#29 In 2006 an Australian man tried to sell New Zealand on Ebay
1
Add a comment...
 
Good morning Auckland!
Image:@Shaun Jeffers Photography
2
Add a comment...
 
A 'must do' NZ experience.
The Maori welcome ceremony. What to do when greeting a Maori tribe or iwi.
1
Add a comment...
 
+All Blacks showing us how the #runningman  should be done. Nice one boys!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
175 people
Garden Hostel's profile photo
Adelaide Travellers Inn Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Tobias Graml's profile photo
Larissa de Oliveira's profile photo
Rhys Davies's profile photo
The Great New Zealand Bus Tour Ltd's profile photo
Phoebe Fooks's profile photo
Han Lim's profile photo
reinhard nussel's profile photo
 
Think you've got what it takes to master the Haka?
New Zealand's Maori culture activities. See the Haka, eat hangi, take a Maori tour, listen to Maori legends and watch weapon displays.
1
Add a comment...
 
Auckland + Sunset = 👌
Image:@k_tography_
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
Drool!
Some secrets are best kept on the hush… like that your 2016 ‘weekly Zumba class’ goal will actually be a trip to Giapo, or it was you who demolished your flattie’s choccie stash in one sitting.
1
Add a comment...
 
Visiting Auckland? Don't worry. We've you got you covered.
1
Add a comment...
 
❤ A U C K L A N D ❤
Photo: ParkBubble
1
dulcinea gotbeter's profile photoNomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
2 comments
 
Hi Dulcinea, Can you please email me lauraf@nomadsauckland.com as I would love to have a a chat with you about your experience with us here and find out some more information. Many Thanks Laura
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
16-20 Fort St Auckland, 1010 New Zealand
16-20 Fort StreetNZAuckland1010
+64 9-300 9999nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Travel Agency

Nomads Auckland is centrally located in downtown Auckland city in a beautiful historic building featuring all the latest mod-cons (free sauna and spa), rooftop kitchen and dining
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
Have them in circles
175 people
Garden Hostel's profile photo
Adelaide Travellers Inn Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Tobias Graml's profile photo
Larissa de Oliveira's profile photo
Rhys Davies's profile photo
The Great New Zealand Bus Tour Ltd's profile photo
Phoebe Fooks's profile photo
Han Lim's profile photo
reinhard nussel's profile photo
Make a Reservation
2-star hotel
$57
Book at HostelWorld
More
Booking links sponsored. $57 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.4
179 reviews
5 star
126 reviews
4 star
266 reviews
3 star
152 reviews
2 star
40 reviews
1 star
22 reviews
Private rooms & dorms in a lively harbour-view hostel offering a rooftop hot tub, sauna & kitchen.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Darin Bontrager's profile photo
Darin Bontrager
2 months ago
So I've never lived in a fraternity house, but this is pretty close. Lots of drunk people stumbling in and out of the dorm room until 3 or 4 in the morning, not to mention all the yelling in the streets that I could hear with the window open. Most everything in the kitchen was broken, and the fridges were either over packed, broken, or covered in liquid on the bottom shelves. However, the staff was nice and the bed was clean. Never again will I stay here. TA hikers look elsewhere to rest.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Darin, I am really disappointed that other backpackers staying in the hostel tainted your overall opinion of our hostel, unfortunately people coming in and out is the downside of communal living, the guys on reception would have been happy to help you out and move you to another room, i hope you came to speak to someone regarding your concerns at the time? I am sorry that the fridges were over packed when you were there, we do clear them out and deep clean them every Monday and Thursday, but I appreciate your comments on this matter so will look into maybe adding a 3rd day to our routine. Thank you for all of your feedback. it is duly noted and I wish you well with your continued travels. Kind Regards Laura Trainee General Manager
Darice Ho's profile photo
Darice Ho
a month ago
This is a hostel that I will never ever visit again. We chose to stay at Nomads at Auckland as our stay at Nomads Queenstown had been very pleasant and we were extremely pleased with it. To our disappointment, the one at Auckland was the exact opposite of what we had experienced. The hostel was run-down and the room had a stench when we first entered it. Tried to open the windows, but the windows were creaky and there was nothing to hold it up. Toilets were filthy - there was a puddle of blood on one of the toilet seats and cover, hair all over the shower cubicles and the curtains were extremely smelly. Also, although this was a dry hostel, meaning no alcohol was allowed, there were alcohol bottles lying around, and it was obvious that some hostel users were drinking as they left their room doors open and the entire level reeked of alcohol. The only upside about this hostel is its convenience and friendly service. This would be a perfect hostel for party-goers as there are clubs just beside it and you will not expect to be able to sleep until 4am in the morning when all the parties end.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness was a downer during your stay. Our communal areas including the bathrooms get serviced numerous times a day to avoid anything like this from happening. We will make sure to follow this up with our staff. We are a dry hostel indeed and clearly room checks have to be done more often to prevent this as well! We appreciate your time and hope you will enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Cori Jones's profile photo
Cori Jones
a month ago
Definitely the best hostel we found in Auckland. Different social events available for each day of the week, or a peaceful and quiet getaway in your dorm room. PERFECT location, relatively private rooms and bathrooms, and clean facilities. We'll be staying at Nomads next time we find ourselves in Auckland!
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thanks very much we are stoked to hear you enjoyed your time and hope to see you again some time soon! Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Evane Strugala's profile photo
Evane Strugala
2 months ago
Nomads was THE WORST hostel I ever went in my whole life (and I'm a traveler so it isn't my first one) Receptionist were really bad and not helpful at all. They were just here like if they didn't give a sh*t about you when you need help Hostel was dirty, showers full of germs and rubish. Also, I had a surf accident when I was there, it was in a surf lesson that I booked with Nomad. This kind of things happen, it's life, but I was on my own and only one guy who was working at the reception of nomads travel was kind and helpfull to me when it happened there. But this is nothing compare to the fact that I bought a Tour to Nomads to do a tour of an Island and obvioulsy, because of my accident, I couldn't do it anymore. I had to go to the travel nomads agency which is near nomads hostel and explain what happened to me and they could see my injurie which was physical, but they just said to me to go ask to the agency with who they booked my tour. I went to the other agency and they told me the same '' you have to go see Nomads for your money back'' so I came back again to nomads (still with my injurie and very tired because of medicine and they KNEW it) they guy said that they really couldn't do anything without the agreement of the other company. They just didn't do any effort each other. They didn't even want to change the date of the Tour I PAID 100 DOLLARS AND DIDN'T EVEN DO THE TOUR NOMADS and the company (I will find out the name but can't remember now) with who they work are just THIEF, and Nomads is such a HOUSE MONEY which just live and breath FOR MONEY and isn't helpfull at all. They just profite of the fact that we're backpackers and young. We're not that naive. Just don't go there if you can. REALLY.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Evane, I am really shocked and saddened to hear this. I understand that my Travel Supervisor Paul actually drove you personally to the hospital after this accident and it was also Paul the same person who tried as best as he could to help you get a refund but unfortunately the tour company you booked with refused to agree to the refund and whilst I can appreciate that you are angry that this has happened, if the tour operator will not agree then we can not process this refund as it is at their discretion. I can imagine that this incident has soured your opinion of us and I can only apologise that you didn't get the outcome that you would have hoped for. I am genuinely sorry that you suffered and had a bad time and if you would like to email me at lauraf@nomadsauckland.com we can have a proper chat as I would love to talk to you about all of the feedback you have given. Kind Regards Laura Flaunty Trainee General Manager
Chevvy Mastny-Jensen's profile photo
Chevvy Mastny-Jensen
in the last week
Perfect place to stay after a concert. Had some problems with u18 booking but got it sorted so it was cool legumes. Would recommend some more info on the site about booking requirements or make it more obvious. Cheers
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that everything worked out with your stay. We will make sure that the 18+ term is more visible for future bookings/guests. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Nomads Auckland Management
Joe Howard's profile photo
Joe Howard
a month ago
Stayed three nights, will not be back. Very dirty. No free Wi-Fi (despite what it says on here). Bedrooms: bunk beds are very noisy, not comfortable, pillows are cheap, thin rubbish. Some upper bunks have sides, some have been snapped off and not replaced. Carpets are downtrodden and very dirty. Kitchen is so small it's a joke: only two hobs actually work, ovens are both broken. Hand wash and soaps are all watered down (saw the cleaners doing it). Even the toilet paper is the next level of cheap, falling apart in your hand. Communal room is cold, remotes had no batteries. TV didn't have aerial signal. My last night had a school turn up: children running around all night, nobody to tell them to be quiet. In need of total refurbishment.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hi there, thank you for your time leaving a review. We are sorry if the free WiFi wasn't explained to you properly. We offer 1 hour daily free WiFi in our travel shop for all our guests. Our maintenance staff will check up on the bunk beds you mentioned and you will be pleased to hear that our stoves have been replaced with new hobs! We have a heater in the TV lounge to keep it nice and snug and the TV has been working fine when we checked it today - sorry if that wasn't the case during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will try our hardest to full fill all necessary changes and hope to see you again some time soon. Thanks Nomads Auckand Management
Stella Mella's profile photo
Stella Mella
4 months ago
Stayed a night at Nomads Auckland. The room was clean, the shared bathroom is slightly dirty. The thing that I was disappointed is the service provided. I left Nomads Auckland in the morning and I found out I left something after 2 hours I left. So I called them up and see if they could get those items for me, so I could pick them up at a later timing. However, the staff said that I have to email in, in order for them to look for it. So I email in, and yet I did not get any reply from them. Thus, I called them that night, what the staff did was merely checking the lost and found box and told me that he could not find it. So I requested if he can take a look in the room, he said he will look for it later and get back to me. Till now I still have not get any responses. So disappointing in the service quality provided. Definitely will not stay in the hostel again if such services is provided.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Dear Stella Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry about your lost item. As such we do not take responsibility on the items of the travelers due to the shared facilities, however lack of response from our side is not good. I will investigate this for you. Please email me your inquiry so that I can see why it was not responded to timely. I will also have a talk to the the department concerned for not getting back to you. Thanks again for bringing this to my attention. Kind Regards Virender Sehgal
Chrystel Marincich's profile photo
Chrystel Marincich
2 months ago
The room was clean and the staff friendly, and it offers the basics such as laundry room for 4 NZD each wash and Internet for 4 NZD per 24 hrs. Unfortunately, the room is right next to a bar, so the noise can get quite annoying. Also, the walls are thin enough that you can hear pretty much what other people are doing in the rooms next to you. There is only one elevator which tends to get very busy, for those who are in the 5th and 6th floors that might mean a long wait. I think if you are in a budget it is a decent place to stay, but nothing special.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Chrystel, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry for the noise, unfortunately it is the downside of being in the heart of the CBD but we do offer free earplugs at reception so i do hope that you made the most of them. I will be sure to pass on to the staff that they are friendly, they will be happy to hear some positive feedback and it is much appreciated. I hope you enjoy the rest of New Zealand. Kind Regards Laura Flaunty Trainee General Manager