Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Mercy Medical Center Cedar Rapids
Medical Center
Today Open 24 hours
6 followers|954,900 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
These symbols are assurance of the highest quality of cancer care, from diagnosis and surgery, through chemotherapy and radiation treatment. Here in Iowa, only the Hall-Perrine Cancer Center has earned them all.

Thank you to our staff for their hard work and commitment to quality, and congratulations on receiving these national honors!
1
Add a comment...
 
After 17 years as a chaplain at Mercy, Sister Peg is retiring at the end of this week. Previously, she taught elementary school and served as a school principal.

Sr. Peg says it's really hard for her to stop working, but she is having more and more trouble walking distances.

She says she will miss the people the most, as well as the positive atmosphere of the hospital. She has enjoyed blessing babies and building relationships, and is hoping to return as a volunteer. "I still have a lot to give," she said.

"It's a wonderful blessing to know you've made a difference. I can't ever be thankful enough for that gift. I've been blessed, and being a Sister of Mercy has doubled what I've been able to do."

Congratulations on your retirement, Sr. Peg! We will miss you!
1
Add a comment...
 
Thanks to the nurses from our Emergency Department who are staffing the First Aid tent on-site as RAGBRAI rolls into Hiawatha!
1
Add a comment...
 
Local leaders of Sisters of Mercy organizations and community members celebrate and show their appreciation for the Sisters of Mercy of the Americas on their 140th anniversary in Cedar Rapids!

-- with +Mount Mercy
1
Add a comment...
 
As part of their 140th anniversary celebration this month, the Sisters of Mercy dedicated a commemorative plaque at the Century Link building on Saturday. The plaque marks the location of the first Sisters of Mercy ministry in Cedar Rapids. Congratulations, Sisters!
1
Add a comment...
 
Thank you to everyone who participated in the Sisters of Mercy's outreach service project, one of many events celebrating the Sisters' 140 years in Cedar Rapids!
1
Add a comment...
 
You've been stuffed!

Don't be surprised if you see offices full of stuffed animals around Mercy. Employees are getting stuffed… for a good cause!

Home Care social worker Tiffiny came up with the idea as part of a fundraiser for the Alzheimer's Association​. For a small donation, employees can request that the fun be paid forward to a co-worker like Kelley in HR, whose office was stuffed by Amanda. The fundraiser benefits Amanda's Alzheimer's Association team; their goal is to raise $7,000.

Some staff members are even donating NOT to get stuffed,  calling this "stuff insurance." :) Either way, we love the fun way our caregivers are raising money for an important cause!
1
Add a comment...
 
“Ride for a Dream” with us on Saturday! This event will benefit the new Dream Factory of Iowa, a non-profit organization chartered by Mercy Pediatric Clinic staff to grant the dreams of critically and chronically ill children. Learn more: http://ow.ly/QaVEd
1
Add a comment...
 
Patients across the Corridor are celebrating our one-of-a-kind quality, compassion and service known as The Mercy Touch® by naming Mercy the +Corridor Business Journal's Best Hospital!

Congratulations and thank you to our dedicated employees, volunteers and excellent providers; you make Mercy a special place!
1
Add a comment...
 
Please join us in welcoming Bulent Cetindag, MD, to Mercy General Surgery Clinic!

Originally from Turkey, Dr. Cetindag enjoys biking and water sports. He has taken two humanitarian trips to Ghana, where he performed surgeries and taught medical personnel. Learn more about him at: http://ow.ly/PZbbd

Welcome to Mercy, Dr. Cetindag!
1
1
Kim Hegger's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
Mercy is #18 in the country when it comes to low readmission numbers, complications and deaths. Learn more from Dr. Mark Valliere in this report from KFXA Fox 28, and check out our award-winning care at: http://ow.ly/PSYmo

Congratulations to all of our staff, and thank you for your commitment to quality!
1
Add a comment...
 
Yesterday, employees celebrated the 140th anniversary of the Sisters of Mercy in Cedar Rapids with a picnic. Thank you to Food & Nutrition Services for catering the event! We wish the weather would have cooperated, but we didn't mind having our picnic indoors!
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
701 10th St SE Cedar Rapids, IA 52403
701 10th Street SoutheastUSIowaCedar Rapids52403
(319) 398-6011mercycare.org
Medical Center, Emergency Room
Medical Center
Emergency Room
Doctor
Nursing Home
Cancer Treatment Center
Birth Center
Surgical Center
Today Open 24 hours
Monday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hoursThursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hoursSaturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hours
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
16 reviews
5 star
12 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
"Although I received excellent care at this facility I will never return."
"We already attend a MercyCare location for our general practitioner."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Holly Bailey
5 months ago
When I became suddenly ill I couldn't have asked for better care. The staff was kind, caring and considerate. Dealing with a new diagnoses is scary and the staff were so great to me and my family. They were very accommodating. Thanks Mercy!
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience, Holly! We appreciate your feedback!
Robyn Aaron's profile photo
Robyn Aaron
9 months ago
We already attend a MercyCare location for our general practitioner. So, when we needed emergency care last weekend, it was an easy choice to head over to Mercy. We had an excellent experience with the ER staff on call that evening. The registrant was friendly when we walked in and greeted us immediately with her computer in tow. We had to wait about 5 minutes, but that was better than we had expected. The triage nurse was friendly and competent before showing us to our room. Our main nurse that evening, Elise, was incredibly friendly and comforting - very attentive. We needed some blood-work, and the gentleman taking blood was one of the best I've ever had take my blood - friendly, quick, competent. No one likes giving blood, and I especially don't! So, it was extra helpful to have him taking the blood, when I was already stressed about our situation in being there. The practitioner was also very nice, explained things well, and answered all of our questions with solid, helpful answers. All in all, the emergency room could have been a scarier situation, and it was a pleasant one. We're grateful for the care received! Thank you to the staff that evening.
• • •
Amythest Warrington
a year ago
Although I received excellent care at this facility I will never return. I will not give them more business. I called in twice with my bills in hand to pay and they told me not to pay because I had overpaid and received a refund check.They had looked up on the computer system and everything was good. Then all of a sudden debt collectors were after me. I am still dealing with this half a year later and have a black mark on my credit score. So not worth my two stitches. If the staff cannot manage the billing effectively I have no confidence in them over all.
• • •
Evey Siems
2 years ago
I really appreciate what you have done for my cousin. You have kept him safe and healthy. Thank-you, Evey Siems
James Fauver
4 months ago
During a recent crisis with a loved one, we couldn't have had a better experience. Social worker Courtney and ER RN were compassionate, caring and utterly professional. In the ICU, Nurses Claire, Rebecca, and another - who's name I can't recall - were attentive, vigilant and caring in every way. I would go there for anything from a sniffle to if I was dying. Can't say enough good things...
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thank you for the kind words, James! We will make sure those teams see your nice comments. Thanks for taking time to write a review for us!
Tom Porter
a year ago
I'm not going back to Mercy due to problems with their billing. I had a procedure performed in June 2013. In late Oct 2013 I received a bill for my share which was not covered by insurance, and I paid this amount in full within 11 days. And then in June 2014 (8 months later) I received another bill for still an additional amount for the same procedure that was performed almost a year earlier. Somebody there can't seem to get their billing straight, and they told me it's related to "system processing" (learned after many phone calls to AvadyneHealth and my insurance company). Fix the system, or am going to get still another bill to see if they can milk some more from me?
• • •
Catherine Nolte
2 years ago
Never going here again! Was never asked to describe my symptoms. Was simply told what was going around (what's going around is a shorter duration than I've been sick) and was prescribed antibiotics, then the doctor left. Needed a diagnosis for my boss, was given nothing. Horrible! Turned around and went to St. Luke's.
Jodi Fangmann's profile photo
Jodi Fangmann
10 months ago
Wonderful