Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Marguerite Dabaie
107 followers -
Illustrator, Cartoonist, Editor
Illustrator, Cartoonist, Editor

107 followers
About
Marguerite's posts

Post has attachment
So pleased to launch the “A Voyage to Panjikant” Kickstarter campaign! The goal of this campaign is to publish “A Voyage to Panjikant” in a single, full-color, 190-page volume.

This work is a historical-fictional graphic novel set in the 7th century and follows the story of sixteen-year-old Upach, a headstrong and spunky teenage girl whose greatest desire is to follow in her father Shafnoshak's footsteps and travel the Silk Road in order to become a successful merchant. The problem, however, is that women were rarely afforded the freedom to leave their hometowns.

This is a comic with feminist underpinnings; it's about living life outside of social expectations.

Please help spread the word to make “A Voyage to Panjikant” a reality!

Post has attachment
My piece on why Samandal Comics--the international comics anthology with roots in Beirut--matters, and why we should help them speak.

Post has attachment
New comic + interview on the Institute of Palestine Studies blog.

Post has attachment
Here's a piece I made for the Electronic Intifada

Post has attachment
I wrote this...

Post has attachment
Summertime's approaching! That means Pete's Mini Zine Fest is coming up, the longest running zine fest in Brooklyn (that also happens to be held in a bar).

On Saturday July 26 come by and check out our superawesomefantastic zinesters, comic artists, and publishers this year. FREE AND OPEN TO THE PUBLIC:

Andria Alefhi (We'll Never Have Paris) -- wellneverhavepariszine.c…

Barnard Zine Library (Jenna Freedman)-- zines.barnard.edu

Ken Bausert (The Ken Chronicles)-- thekenbausertchronicles.…

Anna Jo Beck (Biff Biff Bam Sock)-- annajobeck.com

Booklyn Inc. (Richard Lee)-- booklyn.org

Rachel Burkot

Marguerite Dabaie (A Voyage to Panjikant)-- mdabaie.com

Displaced Snail Publications (Joseph Carlough)-- josephcarlough.com

Alisa Harris (Urban Nomad)-- alisaharris.com

Katie Haegele (The La-La Theory)-- thelalatheory.com

Mindy Indy (The Lucky Penny)-- mindyindy.com

Adam J. Kurtz (HOME-BREW)-- shop.adamjk.com

Sara Lindo (The Seeing-Eye Cat)-- thelindo.com

Tim Nicholas and Annie Soga (Studium/Punctum shop)-- etsy.com/shop/STUDIUMpun

Morgan Pielli (Indestructible Universe)-- morganpielli.com

Purgatory Pie Press (Esther Smith) -- purgatorypiepress.com

Rabid Rabbit (C. M. Butzer)-- rabidrabbit.org

Research and Destroy New York City-- researchdestroy.com

Bill Roundy (Bar Scrawl)-- barscrawl.net

Steve Seck (Monday Saddies)-- secktacular.com

Teylor Smirl (Flightless Birds)-- teylorsmirl.tumblr.com

So What? Press (Dave Kelly)-- sowhatpress.com

Mark Z-Man (It's Raining Cats and Dogs)-- markzman.com

And feat. amazing delicious snacks (I tried them, I know) by Pamela Bowman!

Like our poster this year? Mindy Indy (who is also tabling) designed it!
Our fan page is here--like it if you like what we do: facebook.com/petesmzf

Post has attachment
My cat as an interesting piece of textured art.
Photo

Oiiii, I am so bad at using this thing. Sorry!

Post has attachment

Post has attachment
Pillow in Aqua (Upach; front and back)
Pillows inspired by the characters of A Voyage to Panjikant
Wait while more posts are being loaded