Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
MakeSpace
Self-Storage Facility
Today 9AM–6PM
161 followers|767,431 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
* tosses space university hoodie in the donate pile *
It's time to make space in your home, and in your life, for the things that *really* matter.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Can’t wait until Marie Kondo's new book comes out on January 5th? You don’t have to. Read part of it here:
Just when you thought Marie Kondo changed your life, The Beyoncé of Organizing is about to do it all over again with her new book 'Spark Joy.'
1
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
What would you rather turn this storage-unit skyscraper into, a Vertical Farm or a Micro-Apartment Building?
Look up in the sky! It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s a … 21-story skyscraper full of more than 1,000 self-storage units?
1
Glenn Young's profile photo
 
An AFFORDABLE micro apartment building!
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Best way to learn about storage hacks? From the people who mastered tiny apartment living:
Wish you had more space in your apartment? Learn genius decorating, space-saving, and storage ideas from micro-apartments in NYC, Chicago, and DC.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Your digs in a box.
JUUST Design's Travelbox is the portable room-in-a-box that your tiny apartment wishes you’d buy. Here's when it goes on sale.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Move over, plastic hangers. There's a new star in town.
Your chairs take up precious space in your apartment, and your closet wants prettier hangers. Solve both problems at the same time with a Hanger Chair.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Because the dopest NYE decorations are the ones you can make at home.
All that glitters isn't gold. Except for these dope DIY decorations that you can easily make at home. Like right now. Because NYE is tonight.
1
Glenn Young's profile photo
 
NYE was 2 days ago, dopes!
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Bad view from your apartment window? Just build your own periscope.
Wish you could see the Statue of Liberty, Willis Tower, or the Washington Monument from your bedroom window? Just build your own giant periscope.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
We may not have real hoverboards, but we have levitating beds (via +YO! Company):
YO! Home has everything you could possibly want in an apartment. Including a floating bed, vanishing dining table, secret storage units, and more.
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
+Ecocapsule is a portable solar- and wind-powered pod that lets you live anywhere in the world — rent- and utility-bill free. Would you live in one?
Wish you could live anywhere in the world, without paying rent or utilities? You can if you buy an Ecocapsule — a futuristic, solar- and wind-powered pod.
1
1
Add a comment...

MakeSpace

Shared publicly  - 
 
Get 50% OFF bike and A/C storage (because winter is coming and Cyber Monday is here): https://makespace.com
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
New York, NY 10038
USNew YorkNew York
(800) 920-9440makespace.com
Self-Storage Facility, B to B Companies
Self-Storage Facility
B to B Companies
Business Service
Craft
Home Services
Moving and Storage Service
Storage Facility
Today 9AM–6PM
Tuesday 9AM–6PMWednesday 9AM–6PMThursday 9AM–6PMFriday 9AM–6PMSaturday 9AM–6PMSunday 9AM–6PMMonday 9AM–6PM
Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
78 reviews
5 star
63 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
1 review
1 star
10 reviews
"Plus, their clever website lets me access my stuff at any time hassle free."
"2, when the goods were dropped off at our place the bed frame was damaged."
"Amazing service and less expensive than other options."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Jen nonofyour's profile photo
Jen nonofyour
a month ago
The process of them storing the items went great. They picked everything up and wrapped all furniture. Getting my items back however was a nightmare. I called and they said they can't deliver my items for 15 days. I told them I need my items now. Not only did I have to wait to get my items, they charged me for a full month and explained they don't do partial months. I told them I wanted my items out sooner and they are the ones who couldn't deliver them and don't allow you to pick them up yourself. So they held my items hostage pretty much and charged me to do so.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Jen, I am sorry for your frustration and for any miscommunication that lead to the confusion about how our service works. We strive to offer convenient appointment slots to our customers, and we recommend scheduling an appointment 1-2 weeks in advance if possible to account for increased demand. Regarding billing, we bill on a monthly basis to align with the structure of our monthly service. Our storage facilities are closed to the public and have 24/7 surveillance to ensure the safety of our customers’ stuff at all times. Because we’re a full-service storage company, unlike self-storage, we’re happy to pick up, store, and deliver our customers’ stuff back so they never have to visit a storage unit. Please reach out to us at 800-920-2372 or support@makespace.com. We’d like to reach out to you and resolve any pending matters, but we were not able to find you in our system based on the name in your profile.
unique won's profile photo
unique won
5 months ago
I have been using MakeSpace since a year after they opened. I have NOT had one problem with them at all. The staff are very professional and very nice. I will recommend them to anyone. They're totally awesome and affordable.
mikkel brogger's profile photo
mikkel brogger
a month ago
POOR POOR SERVICE, BE READY FOR FOR LONG PHONE CALLS, BILLING ISUEES, ESPEACIALLY NELSON AND SEAN Customer Success Agent @ MakeSpace
Response from the owner - in the last week
Mikkel, I sincerely apologize for your experience. We strive to deliver the best storage experience possible, and I will see to it that we do everything we can to live up to the positive reputation that our customers have come to know us for. I checked with my Customer Success team and it looks like we were were able to resolve your billing issues. Please feel free to reach out to us at 800-920-2372 or support@makespace.com if there’s anything we can do to assist you in the future.
Isabel Oskwarek's profile photo
Isabel Oskwarek
4 months ago
Every customer service person I've spoken to has been nice but by and large unhelpful. They always say they'll look into a problem (such as missing photos or duplicate photos on the app--a problem I've been trying to resolve in vain for months) and call back shortly, which in reality means I'll have to call them back and make sure they've started trying to fix the issue (which has never been the case). Emailing customer service is pretty useless, as they often don't respond for days or weeks at a time. The website and app are awful and lack options such as easy cancellations (I always need to call to cancel, and that message often isn't related to the warehouse) or adding more bins to a drop off. They've screwed up majorly on drop offs, and I've tried to get written confirmation (after someone has agreed on the phone) that I won't be charged due to their screw ups, but no one ever responded. And don't get me started on the incompetence of the warehouse staff. Yeah the storage is cheap, but cheap means terrible customer service and serious disorganization.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Isabel, thank you for your feedback. After reading your review we'll be adding a Cancellation feature to the website to make it easier for you to cancel appointments – this should be helpful. It will be live later today. Secondly, we have waived your delivery fee as requested as your delivery issue shouldn't have happened. We apologize and you will not be billed for this delivery. We're sorry for your issues and we will do what we can to make things right for you. Thanks again for your candid feedback. We will take it and use it to make internal improvements.
Lyndsay J's profile photo
Lyndsay J
3 months ago
They came to Brooklyn twice for my stuff. the employees were very nice. they offered me extra for being a veteran. Thank you so much
Cheryl Gong's profile photo
Cheryl Gong
a month ago
Worst experience ever had. When we chose this service all we wanted was to store our belongings simply and get them back in one piece. We did not know this has caused us so much anger and inconvenience. Please do not use Makespace for your own sake. Here are the things that happened to us. 1, when they came to pick up our belongings it took them forever to pack. We didn't know they charged $100 an hour to pack after first hour so we were charged $600 in addition for not much stuff. The customer service was rude to us when we called to understand the charge. No one would like to be hit by any surprise charge!! 2, when the goods were dropped off at our place the bed frame was damaged. They said it was because the frame was not wrapped properly. Remember they took forever to pack and charged us ridiculous amount for it. As a result We got our stuff damaged!!!!???? 3, we called to ask for compensation for the damaged bed frame. The person was rude to us and said nothing much they can do except to fix the bed frame. But then told us they couldn't fix the frame so will give us the money back. 4, almost 7 weeks later we still did not get anything back!! All they said was they are back logged and don't have a status after I had to follow up with them so many times. 5, if we knew the bed frame was damaged we would get rid of the whole bed and pay less for storage. There were two pieces in the bed frame. One was damaged. They said it could charge them to get rid of the second. So we had them delivered the second piece back to us. And guess what?! They lost some part of that second piece!!! We could not even use the spring box that's attached to it. At this point, I don't even want to call them to argue. Since every time you hear the same answer which is nothing much they can do and we have to wait for the reimbursement for the bed. As customer we don't have a reason to be difficult. We would be happy to pay for the service used and have peace in mind. However this has been the worst experience overall. I would just use one of those storage unit vs this going forward. Makespace doesn't charge anything less than them. And consider this might happen to you. Do not use them period.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Cheryl, on behalf of the entire MakeSpace team, I wanted to apologize for the damage to your items. We strive to give every customer the ideal experience and are deeply dissatisfied when we fall short. Your reimbursement will be issued within the next 5 business days. If there is anything else we can do to assist you, please feel free to contact us at 800-920-2372 or support@makespace.com at any time. We will help you right away.
Stephanie Zhao's profile photo
Stephanie Zhao
5 months ago
I wanted to love them. I really really do. Good: I paid very reasonable amount to get my stuff picked up, stored and delivered. I appreciated that the guys came all the way up in a hot day. This star is for them. Bad: 1. All my clothes were taken out from the original packing-including intimates. They got put in a wardrobe box without my permission. When I received my clothes everything was wrinkled. Some needs cleaning, many needs to be dry-cleaned and ironed. I had to throw away from the intimates because I do not like people touching my clothes. It is completely unacceptable that they did this without letting me know. 2. They lost two of my storage bags and two storage farbic boxes. They don't worth a lot of money but they are my properties. 3. They were late for pick-up twice. Both time we rescheduled and they showed up on time. 4. I was told that I can file a claim. So I send them a list of things that needs to be dry cleaned and the expenses. No one got back to me. Oh and you know what, as creepy as it sounds, I use a plug-in that tells me if the email receiver has read your email. And yes, they have read it, but they never got back to me. It's ok to tell me that they did something wrong. I will survive. But you need to do a few things to make a happy customer stay happy. One, fix the problem. Two, pick up the phone. As much as I love the convenience of it. I will not use them again. There are many comparable services out there.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Stephanie, we can't find you in our system with the name you've given so we can't verify your issues and see if you've had everything resolved and that you received reimbursement for your claim. We sincerely hope this is the case, and if not, please reach out immediately. We'd like to make sure everything turned out alright. Trust that we are sorry for your experience and that we will do what we can to make the process smoother moving forward.
Alexaundra Mccormick's profile photo
Alexaundra Mccormick
4 months ago
OK so in a matter of 15 minutes I made my decision not to use this company. I made a reservation to have my stuff picked up as I am moving this month. This seemed like a good company and great relief off my shoulders. The online reservations is great but something said to look at the reviews...after everyone's reviews below mines I started to feel like I had made a mistake. So I just called now 9/12/16 time 6:43pm and the person was a complete fail. They told me it was weird of me to ask if I could come to the facility and see how my things would be stored, and that they were not allowed to tell me the facility address for security reasons....meaning I am not allowed to know the location of my belongings....yeah OK I see why people have so many complaints about they're stuff being damaged or just gone missing..I do not trust this company. I would stay clear and just pay a regular lock and key storage so you will have security of you belongings.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Alexaundra, thanks for your feedback. We take the security of our facilities very seriously and have 24-hour surveillance. Our policy with our warehouses is that we do not allow customers to visit them. We do this for safety, security, and liability reasons. Our business model is not a "rent -a-room" situation where customers lock their stuff up in a box and only they have the key. We have a complex network of shelving, machinery and warehousing technology that does not double as a storefront. I can assure you that our warehouses are very clean, organized and located centrally. And we're sorry that you took our policy to mean that we are not being transparent in any manner. Again, thank you for your feedback.