Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Mac Properties - Kansas City
Property Management Company
Today 9AM–6PM
205 followers|383,030 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
"I believe in paying it forward. Every day you should try and make someone's life better with a random act of kindness." ‪#‎HumansOfMac‬ Eric, who lives at Del Monte, discusses his love for karaoke and outlook on life in Kansas City.
http://livingatmac.com/2016/05/humans-of-mac-kc-eric-c/
In this segment of Humans of Mac, our resident, Eric, discusses with us his hobbies and favorite aspects of living in Kansas City.
1
Add a comment...
 
No need to like this post, just know that if you move into a Mac Properties unit, and you are not happy with it: you can move to any other unit in our portfolio within 14 days of your initial move-in date. It is our new satisfaction guarantee.
http://livingatmac.com/…/your-satisfaction-guaranteed-with…/
1
Add a comment...
 
The Newbern! Grand (re)Opening April 14th
1
Add a comment...
 
Resident - Emily D. and rescue dog - Molly - “I work in a lab in an industrial plant, so at work I’m wearing a hard hat and steel-toed shoes. Outside of work, no one would ever guess that.” - Mac 
‪#‎humansofmac‬ ‪#‎humansofmackc‬ ‪#‎macproperties‬ ‪#‎kansascity‬
See more of her story here! http://livingatmac.com/?p=3424
1
Add a comment...
 
We've been trying to transition into a paperless office. E-signature leases, digital guest cards and online service requests helps us to be more efficient and helps save a piece of earth. This season we saved overs 300,000 sheets of paper or over 36 trees.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
205 people
Trevor Grizzell's profile photo
Drew Livigston's profile photo
Stacia Brown's profile photo
Erinn Smith's profile photo
jessica porter's profile photo
Allison Bucklew's profile photo
abrahim zidan's profile photo
Gary Dietrich's profile photo
Yasmin Musaddiq's profile photo
 
‪#‎HumansofMac‬ “Science and mostly education will benefit society in making the right choices for our economy, environment and to others.” In honor of International Women's day, we are featuring Hamilton resident, Ann, who works in synthetic chemistry. ‪#‎IWD2016‬
http://livingatmac.com/2016/03/humans-of-mac-kc-ann-n/
1
Add a comment...
 
Thanks to all the Ambassador Residents who came out to the Rooftop Lounge Signing Day. 
2
Add a comment...
2
Add a comment...
 
Help us vote for our community's apartment design contest. http://woobox.com/r6qrd4 
1
Add a comment...
 
‪#‎HumansofMacKc‬ - Resident: Chris Y.- "I came here to visit a girl I had been talking with long distance from Oregon. On the 7th day I got a job interview. On the 10th day I got a job offer. Two weeks later I moved here and have loved every minute. This city has been very good to me".
Chris has also started a lifestyle/fashion blog with his girlfriend Whitney! It is great stuff - See more at: 
http://livingatmac.com/2015/07/humans-of-mac-kc/
‪#‎humanofmac‬ ‪#‎MacProperties‬
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
350 E Armour Blvd Kansas City, MO 64111
350 East Armour BoulevardUSMissouriKansas City64111
(816) 931-2108macapartments.com
Property Management Company, Apartment BuildingToday 9AM–6PM
Monday 9AM–6PMTuesday 9AM–6PMWednesday 9AM–6PMThursday 9AM–6PMFriday 9AM–6PMSaturday 10AM–5PMSunday 11AM–4PM
Mac Properties - Kansas City has redefined an area of Kansas City. Taking the rundown, but beautiful historic hotels of Armour Boulevard in Hyde Park and converting them to modern apartments while still keeping their history. 

We take pride in providing a fun, energetic, safe, urban place for our residents to live. With over 24 buildings and growing, MAC Property Management can find a property to fit your needs. 

Thanks for looking and we look forward to seeing you soon. 
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.7
68 reviews
5 star
22 reviews
4 star
27 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
8 reviews
"So far, I really enjoy living in my Mac Properties apartment."
"Very responsive maintenance staff and beautiful buildings."
"Google Fiber is great and there is also a pool."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
205 people
Trevor Grizzell's profile photo
Drew Livigston's profile photo
Stacia Brown's profile photo
Erinn Smith's profile photo
jessica porter's profile photo
Allison Bucklew's profile photo
abrahim zidan's profile photo
Gary Dietrich's profile photo
Yasmin Musaddiq's profile photo
All reviews
Tobi Bosede's profile photo
Tobi Bosede
a week ago
I wish I could give 0 stars. Worst experience ever, just terrible customer service. I had been working with Colin D for a little over a week to relocate to KC from Baltimore for a Sprint internship (a supposedly "preferred company"). I was a diligent prospective tenant asking lots of questions, and making sure I fully understood what I was getting into. I applied and was approved, despite a lack of attention being paid to my particular situation, which caused an initial rejection. This was strike 1, swept it under the rug as just due to Colin being human. We all make mistakes. However, I would still recommend that MAC agents be more attentive to their client needs, why is this person moving?, what is their financial situation likely to be like?, does the applications support assumptions?, etc. Strike 2, needing to send multiple emails asking the same question in order to get an answer. Inefficient is an understatement. Strike 3, not being told that the MAC guarantee touted as a safety net, only allows you to move within 14 days to ANOTHER MAC property. Therefore if you don't like the apartment you were unable to view because you moved halfway across the country, and there are no MAC properties in your budget, you're screwed! MAC will clobber you with fees. Strike 4, pictures online do not match actual unit being advertised. This folks, is false advertising. When I asked for a better picture of the bathroom, I got a picture from a completely different unit and floor plan. Worse yet, when I told Colin the pictures were not in agreement, he struggled to understand and I had to call him to explain. What is so hard about comparing pictures?? Now the real reasons I am writing this review is what I'm about to share. Strikes 1-4 didn't raise any red flag. I still was satisfied with the service I received. Today, I had a friend in KC view the apartment on my behalf and we do a video chat. Tell me how despite explicitly stating the 2 apartments I was interested in and applying, when my friend arrives, there is only 1 apartment available and now (in just a few days) the price has gone up?!?! This is strike 4 and 5. Not to talk of the fact that I had asked about what utilities I'd be responsible for, was told everything is electric, but when I view the place I see a gas stove and gas heaters. Strike 6. I then voiced my disappointment to Colin, saying I felt he was not upfront. What do I get? Excuses and bad attitude as opposed to remorse. "There are so many buildings and tenants I have to keep track of", "I understand that you are trying to tell me how to do my job", "you should have put down the admin fee", he says. Strike 7. If your job is too overwhelming for you, the company is either, A) mismanaged or B) you are unqualified. Either way, the company is dysfunctional and everyone loses. Now at this point I am wondering, what kind of circus is MAC is running?? Just bad business at every angle. I've rented in Philadelphia, New York, New Jersey, Baltimore, AND Missouri. No where have I encountered such lack of communication and deception. How do you email someone daily, apply for an apartment, and even schedule a tour, yet the agent cannot inform you when another person's interested and let you know that you have to put down money to avoid losing the unit? Once again, you have to realize that I am not local, apartment searching is *already* difficult. Now an agent wastes my time. He jacks up the price and tries to corner me into renting due to a supposed increase in supply? NO, NO, NO. I refuse to be a victim. I'm not even a tenant and I am being treated like refuse. I had options on the east coast and I sure as hell will have options in the midwest. I warn you all, spend your thousands elsewhere!! Never hand over your hard-earned money to someone who disrespects you. You'll be happy you did in the end.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry you did not have a good experience with our newest agent. There are some good training points we will address with him, and will let management know. We did review the call and the Guarantee was properly explained regarding the transfer to another property. Most properties do not offer any kind of guarantee. The pricing is dynamic and not controlled by the KC office - it is purely based on supply and demand. In the busy season, the prices do fluctuate. Sorry again for the experience, and we are happy to have a manager follow up with you.
Aaron Sebacher's profile photo
Aaron Sebacher
3 months ago
Mac Properties is THE rental company in Midtown Kansas City. They are making all necessary changes to improve the entire rental experience and we are happy we stayed for another year. We like our neighbors and our neighborhood. The current employees in the MAC office are quick to address any issues. We are hoping for a three bedroom to come available because we would like to continue renting from MAC until we move out of Kansas City.
Jana Koehn's profile photo
Jana Koehn
7 months ago
I appreciate how quiet and safe my building and apartment is in Bellerive. Residents are nice and welcoming. My only compliant regards to parking... It is difficult to find a parking space around the buildings, and I've been waiting on a list to receive a parking space for three months now, and still haven't heard from them regarding my status of getting one anytime soon. Also, I wish they would clean the elevators more frequently. I'm grateful that the elevators often work though! - 4 stars
• • •
Mandy W's profile photo
Mandy W
7 months ago
I moved into the Hamilton about a month ago. There were some issues that needed to be addressed on my move-in date, but I was impressed with the response of staff. I value communication, so it's been wonderful to receive responses to my inquiries in such a timely manner. The premises are clean and I feel safe. Other tenants are also very respectful-I have never had to complain about noise levels. I like the fact that my apartment is so conveniently located, right between Troost and Main on Armour. It's close to work and also city life.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks for the review! Glad the move-in issues were resolved.
lhillhou's profile photo
lhillhou
a month ago
Apartments look great, good space available. The neighborhood is nice and the staff are very courteous, understanding, and work with you during what ever situation. If there's a maintenance issue it is quickly resolved. If a package is delivered to the office they contact you and you can pick it up quick and easy. Love the staff, they are just the nicest and most patient set of people. However, you can tell they rushed a bit when it came to laying down the tile in the kitchen because a few of them move and not the best when it comes to noise complaints. Still complaining about the same neighbors but the staff does let you know they're trying when they respond to emails (which are answered in a timely manner).The wifi can be wonky sometimes but only once in a blue moon. Good place to live with or without bad neighbors. Overall a solid 9 out of 10.
• • •
Alexandria Etris's profile photo
Alexandria Etris
2 months ago
I absolutely love living with MAC at Westport Central. Ted, the manager, is with-it, efficient, and proactive. I've never had an issue that Ted wasn't able to efficiently resolve. The maintenance is on top of it. Any request, regardless of the cause (user error or building fault) has been taken care of in a timely manner. The maintenance men are always professional, and I've not had a bad experience with any of them. The area is up-and-coming! MAC owns most of the larger buildings on Armour Blvd, and this has led to an increase in property values in the neighborhood. The restorations to these older, historic buildings are beautiful! Penn Valley Dog Park is a half a mile away to the north, and Westport is a little over the same distance south. For it being a relatively busy area, I didn't realize living in the city would provide a close-knit community of residents who care about the quality of our building and life. It's not infrequent to see free items in the lobby including books, things people are giving away, or extra baked goods from MAC or other residents. Don't get me wrong: there are definitely people that don't feel that way, but they don't stay long. The reason for the 4.5 star review rather than a 5 star review is not the fault of MAC, Ted, or the maintenance crew, but just that this is an old building. There are quirks in it that aren't 100% likable. MAC is incredible for restoring old buildings, but it is not a complete renovation. The doors are old and sometimes don't close perfectly. The pipes get hot in the winter-- the valves: BE CAREFUL! They will burn your skin to the touch. There are very few outlets in the apartments. The building has flaws! But for people like me and my husband, the charm of the building, location, and incredible customer service and support is worth making everything else work! All of the important things are taken care of: the utilities are pretty cheap, it's infrequent that I am cold in the winter or warm in the summer, Google Fiber!, updated kitchens with granite countertops, stainless appliances, and tile floors, and the walls are THICK. They're the original plaster-- I don't hear my neighbors at all! And for the smaller issues listed earlier? There's always an extension cord/power strip (the actual power behind the outlets is there!). Rearranging furniture away from the pipes & radiators in the winter is a must. And the doors? Well, not a lot can be done, but dang they are awesome original structures that charm the heck out of the place! I love living here and would definitely recommend for anyone to live here as well under MAC Management.
• • •
Tyra Coleman's profile photo
Tyra Coleman
3 months ago
So far, I really enjoy living in my Mac Properties apartment. I was living out of a motel for a while and April was the first person I talked to about my situation and she was extremely helpful. The only thing that I hate is the dryer on my floor doesn't dry your clothes and the apartment building is so depressing. I would love to move into a different apartment with Mac, but they do not have any openings so I will be moving out real soon.
Amanda Payton's profile photo
Amanda Payton
7 months ago
I went into this 12 month lease overjoyed that I had found my dream apartment. I was so ecstatic that I missed some warning signs that showed their lack of organization and management. When I went in to sign my lease there wasn't anyone to show me my apartment before signing the lease. I had no other option since all my belongings were outside, loaded in a uhaul. I signed the lease and was handed five keys and sent on my way. Mind you, I had NEVER seen my apartment, it was occupied and even after they moved out I wasn't allowed to be shown the apartment. I was shown the model 2 bedroom and loved it. The agent showed me the floor plan paper and I decided on it and got together all the necessary paperwork and money. I wasn't employed through a preferred employer ( Power and light ) so I wasn't going to get my move in fee's back ($400). I also had two dogs so I had to pay 450 deposit according to the papers she gave me, only eligible to get half back.So they hand me 5 keys and send me to my new apartment, they don't do they walk through with me and they failed to give me my laundry card. I only had to call maintenance a couple of times and they were always wonderful and timely. My neighbors were nice but kept to themselves. They came and went as their leases ended. Often they complained about management but I didn't have any issues with them since the lease signing. What prompted me to relocate at the end of my lease was the fact I had to park a block away every day (imagine groceries), i lived two streets from Troost, I was paying $799 a month for less than 600 sq ft (only 4th floor too) and I was a far walk from anything fun to do. Everywhere required me driving to it. So i found a new apartment, right off 39th st. It's 2 bedrooms and STILL costs me less than my Mac apartment plus I get to walk everywhere, my deposits are refundable, my neighbors are so social and inviting. I cherished my time in my high rise but was happy for my economical decision. Which leads me to the reason for the 1 star review. My dog had damaged the carpet in a corner by the front door. It wasn't too awful but I was expecting some kind of monetary compensation. The front office said there had been damage, they would bill me but she was unable to tell me how much. I questioned about the pet deposit and she told me I wouldn't be getting the deposit back since there had been damages to my apartment but it ALSO would NOT apply to the cost of the damages. This made zero sense to me since pet deposits exist for this very reason, plus I paid $25 a month in pet rent! That's $300 a year just for my dogs living there! She told me she would have a manager call me. I never did hear from the manager but did receive a statement in the mail going over the damages and informing me that I would be receiving a check for $88 within a week. A week came and went and I never got my check. I moved out July 24th. I called multiple times, spoke with multiple people who all informed me the check had been cut on the 12th of August and "should be there anytime". Apparently, they use a secondary company to handle deposits etc and it was out of their hands. Finally at the end of September I got a hold of a woman who canceled the check, requested a new one and said it should be there shortly. It's now October 22nd. I still haven't heard back from anyone about the messages I left in the previous weeks and just left my information with a receptionist to get a hold of their manager Tori. I warn anyone looking at this management company to consider your options because they are overpriced and at the end of the day you are just a number to them. Once you turn in those keys you are pushed to the back burner and they are zero help. My friends have leased from them and the same thing has happened to them but they also had problems with their apartments during the lease as well.
• • •
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Update-11-2: We have worked out the confusion with Pet fees and issued a check . Hey Amanda, Thanks for the review, and constructive feedback as it is important to hear where we can improve. Our preferred employer list has around 20 companies in the Kansas City area including, but not limited to; Cerner, Sprint, Crown Center, the local fire department, police department and many others. I think some of the confusion comes from the fact that we do non-refundable pet fees, and not deposits. $100 of that fee is refundable. (note that this deposit policy has changed since last year for new residents on the new lease). Even though it sounds like there was some damage, we are trying to return most of your refundable portion. It sounds like it just could be a forwarding address issue, because I do see 2 checks were cut as you mentioned. I will reach out to you via email. Thanks and we will escalate the issue of being more diligent about getting the forwarding address written down on the move-out forms.