Wordpress Plugins

When I set up Wordpress sites for clients or my own sites there are plugins that I install to help me optimise the on-site content and on-page elements - so I thought I'd list them here - hope it helps :)

SEO Ultimate : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/seo-ultimate/ - all in one on-page SEO

Greg's High Performance SEO : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gregs-high-performance-seo/ - an alternative to SEO Ultimate

Custom login screen : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/custom-login/ - removes the wordpress branding

PubSubHubBub : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/pubsubhubbub/ - claims the content you publish – helps prevent other people taking it as there own

Cool Author Box : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/cool-author-box/ - needed for Google+ publisher rank and author rank

Site performance and internal architecture
A good vid from +Matt Cutts at Google talking about latency, internal linking and social sharing
If you were an SEO of a large company, what would you include in your 2011 strategy?

Wordpress Plugins I use that address the 3 points Matt discusses in the video are:

SEO Smart Links : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/seo-automatic-links/ - for auto internal linking - NOTE read this post before using the plugin and if unsure DON'T install it and seek advice http://seobraintrust.com/seo-smart-links-penalty/ and don't just use the plugin as is ... Remember that moderation is key limit the number of links being created by the plugin - e.g. I limit it to 1 link per post [h/t +Craig Deakin for sharing the link]

*YARPP (related post plugin) : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/yet-another-related-posts-plugin/ (alternative to Zemanta below or if you prefer not to use SEO Smart Links)

WP Total Cache : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-total-cache/ - can increase site speed by 10 x

Digg Digg : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/digg-digg/ - fully customisable and adds a floating bar on the side of the blog posts

Other things
Gravatar.com account needed for each author – same email must be used as the one they use for logging into the VF blog

Zemanta : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/zemanta/ - for finding external content to link to – (here's my latest blog on it http://leesmallwood.com/2012/04/27/important-relevant-outbound-links/ and +Mark Traphagen post on +Zemanta http://www.virante.com/blog/2012/04/24/zemanta-enhanced-linking-plugin-for-wordpress/

Social Metrics Pro : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/social-metrics/ - provides a dashboard of all the social activity taking place on the site

Google XML site maps generator http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/google-sitemap-generator/
If you have any Qs on the above leave a comment below let me know - happy to help :)

Other Plugins Suggested by G+ Community

Suggested by +Holly Ares Snyder
Custom Contact Forms : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/custom-contact-forms/

Media Elements JS : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/ great HTML5 player -

Suggested by +Rod Dunne
Auto DB Backups : http://austinmatzko.com/wordpress-plugins/wp-db-backup/

Auto Broken Link Checker : http://w-shadow.com/blog/2007/08/05/broken-link-checker-for-wordpress/

Suggested by +Trey Collier
Yoast SEO : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wordpress-seo/ - (alternative to `Gregs High Performance SEO' and 'SEO Ultimate' )

Suggested by +Michael Kolaski
Login Lockdown : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/login-lockdown/

Wordpress Firewall :http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wordpress-firewall-2/

S2Member : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/s2member/

Suggested by +Johan Horak
Google Forms : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/wpgform/ - (alternative to Custom Contact Forms)

Suggested by +Rahul Roy
Auto post your Google+ updates to your blog : http://www.minimali.se/google+blog/ (2 versions developed by +Daniel Treadwell - free and paid)

And if you have any plugins that you tried that should be added to the above - leave a comment below and link to the plugin and I'll add it to the post above :)

#wordpress #WordpressPlugins
Photo
Shared publiclyView activity