In a few hours I'm GMing my first Firefly, and in fact, my first Cortex+ game.
I think I grok most of the rules (they're quite nice and intuitive), except for one detail: when someone takes part in a High Stakes exchange and they're Taken Out, why don't they get a Complication?
I get that they can have complications from jinxes, etc, and also that they can choose to spend a PP and get a Complication to stay in the fight. But assuming they don't...?
For example, if Baddie (an NPC) shoots Hiro (a PC) in a High Stakes fight and lands a bullet into him, Taking him Out, wouldn't make sense for Hiro to have a Complication related to the fact the he's just being shot down? It seems that it would give the character something to Recover from...
I'd get the feeling that the answer is "depends on the situation". But I've been carefully reading Taking Out samples in the book and no one mentions any Complication as the result of being Taken Out.
In traditional RPGs, you look at your character sheet and figure out what to do.
In Cortex Plus RPGs, you decide what you want to do, then look at your character sheet to figure it out how to do it.
In traditional RPGs you decide what to do, describe how it happens, then roll the dice to see if you do it.
In Cortex Plus RPGs you decide what to do, roll the dice, and figure out what actually happened. :-)