Profile

Cover photo
John Douillard
Works at LifeSpa
Attended World Center of Ayurveda
Lives in Boulder, Colorado
957 followers|115,892 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Turmeric Health Benefits Outperform Curcumin (Turmeric Extract) | John Douillard's LIfeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/turmeric-health-benefits-outperform-curcumin-turmeric-extract
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

Whenever western scientists discover a new natural herbal medicine they quickly try to discover the active ingredient that makes this herb so beneficial. Then, they try to patent a process of extracting it, and make it into a drug that only they can sell. This almost always backfires, as it has done with turmeric.

As we will see in this article, and a handful of upcoming articles regarding other herbs, when you take the so-called active ingredient out of a plant, you almost always lose the most important benefits of that plant.

It is safe to say that most people know about the benefits of turmeric, and that most are taking an extract of turmeric, called curcumin, rather than the raw turmeric – as the extract is thought to be a more potent form.

While curcumin is the constituent of turmeric that gives it its yellow color, it only makes up about 5% of the turmeric root. The other 95% is made up of more than 300 other constituents in turmeric that are rarely talked about. New science is suggesting that they are possibly even more potent than the curcumin.

To study this, researchers took the curcumin out of the turmeric root and studied the effects of curcumin-free turmeric, and the results were surprising. The turmeric without the curcumin significantly outperformed the curcumin extract. The other constituents such as the turmerin, turmerone, elemene, furanodiene, curdione, bisacurone, cyclocurcumin, calebin A and germacrone proved to be more potent support for blood sugar, a natural inflammation response, and healthy cellular division. (1,2)

...read more: http://lifespa.com/turmeric-health-benefits-outperform-curcumin-turmeric-extract


RELATED ARTICLES:
Turmeric: The Happy Spice -- http://lifespa.com/turmeric-happy-spice/
Turmeric: A Most Amazing Spice! -- http://lifespa.com/turmeric-a-most-amazing-spice/
Staff Picks: Turmeric and Honey for Immune Support! -- http://lifespa.com/staff-picks-turmeric-and-honey-for-immune-health/
Turmeric (Curcuma longa L.) -- http://lifespa.com/ayurvedic-supplement-facts/turmeric/
6 Ways to Boost Immunity this Winter -- http://lifespa.com/6-ways-boost-immunity-winter/
1000 Reasons to Avoid Herbal Extracts -- http://lifespa.com/1000-reasons-to-avoid-herbal-extracts/
Extracts: Avoid Dangerous Herbs -- http://lifespa.com/extracts-avoid-dangerous-herbs/
How Boswellia Fights the 5-LOX Aging Enzyme -- http://lifespa.com/longevity-the-ayurvedic-secret/
The Benefits & Differences Between Brahmi (Gotu Kola) and Bacopa -- http://lifespa.com/benefits-differences-brahmi-gotu-kola-bacopa/
Global Food Diversity Has Shrunk 68% in the Last 50 Years -- http://lifespa.com/global-food-diversity-has-shrunk-68-percent-in-the-last-50-years/
Dr. John’s 60th Birthday Healthy Aging Habits -- http://lifespa.com/dr-johns-60th-birthday-healthy-aging-habits/
Ayurveda for Prostate Health -- http://lifespa.com/ayurveda-prostate-health/
The Best Herbs to Cleanse the Lymphatic System -- http://lifespa.com/best-herbs-cleanse-lymphatic-system/.
Surprising New Research on Seafood -- http://lifespa.com/surprising-new-research-on-seafood/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Best Ways to Detox the Brain | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/best-ways-detox-brain
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

I have written numerous articles on the new discovery of lymphatic vessels that drain 3 pounds of toxins annually from the brain while you sleep at night, but this understanding is just the tip of a massive health-promoting iceberg—and I am super excited to share these latest developments regarding the best ways to detox your brain.

For me, the most exciting part is how the ancient practices of Yoga and Ayurveda, which directly addressed brain cleansing, are now being supported by new studies linking cerebral spinal fluid (CSF) flow to brain lymph drainage.

Boosting CSF has been linked to an improvement in cognitive function and a reduction of cognitive concerns in the elderly in one study. (8) In another study, aging was associated with a 50% reduction in CSF production in otherwise healthy adults. (1)

Let me start with a short overview of how the brain washes itself from these toxins...

...read more: http://lifespa.com/best-ways-detox-brain
_______________________________________________________________

RELATED ARTICLES:

How to Increase Brain Power with Bacopa -- http://lifespa.com/how-to-increase-brain-power-with-bacopa/
Air Pollution Particles Found in Brain -- http://lifespa.com/air-pollution-particles-found-in-brain/
Build a Better Brain with Herbs, Diet (Brain Food) and Lifestyle -- http://lifespa.com/build-a-better-brain-with-herbs-diet-brain-food-and-lifestyle/
4 Brain Herbs to Bounce Back from Junk Food -- http://lifespa.com/4-brain-herbs-bounce-back-junk-food/
Cinnamon: The New Dopamine Booster For Your Brain -- http://lifespa.com/cinnamon-the-new-dopamine-booster-for-your-brain/
Is Mercury Lurking In Your Brain? - http://lifespa.com/is-mercury-lurking-in-your-brain/
3 Herbs To Boost BDNF (Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor) -- http://lifespa.com/3-herbs-to-boost-bdnf/
The Brain-Lymph Connection for Better Mood and Memory -- http://lifespa.com/brain-lymph-connection-better-mood-memory/
How Nasya Cleanses Sinuses, Brain Lymph and Emotional Baggage (SAN) -- http://lifespa.com/how-to-clear-your-sinuses-and-emotional-baggage/
A Super High-Fat Mediterranean Diet Boosts the Heart and Brain -- http://lifespa.com/a-super-high-fat-mediterranean-diet-boosts-the-heart-and-brain/
Cleanse Neurotoxins from your Brain’s Lymph -- http://lifespa.com/cleanse-neurotoxins-from-your-brains-lymph/
Science Confirms Ayurvedic Knowledge of Brain-Lymph Connection -- http://lifespa.com/science-confirms-ayurvedic-knowledge-of-brain-lymph-connection/
3 Ways to Boost Brain Function -- http://lifespa.com/3-ways-to-boost-brain-function/ Re-Grow Your Brain Cells -- http://lifespa.com/re-grow-brain-cells/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Eat Wheat Book by Dr. John Douillard DC, CAP

Buy now: http://eatwheatbook.com

AMAZON: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1683500091/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=1683500091&linkCode=as2&tag=lifespa1-20&linkId=d9aabd150f3a946b05a639c6099f4915

BARNES AND NOBLE:
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/eat-wheat-john-douillard/1123727809?ean=9781683500094

BOOKS A MILLION:
http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Eat-Wheat/John-Douillard/9781683500094?id=6702449770860

INDIEBOUND:
http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781683500094&aff=lifespa1

CHAPTERS / INDIGO:
https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/eat-wheat-a-scientific-and/9781683500094-item.html?ikwid=eat+wheat&ikwsec=Home&ikwidx=0

POWELLS:
http://www.powells.com/book/eat-wheat-a-scientific-and-clinically-proven-approach-to-safely-bringing-wheat-and-dairy-back-into-your-diet-9781683500094?partnerid=44330&p_ti


MORE AT LIFESPA.COM:
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

RELATED ARTICLES:
Episode 41: The Eat Wheat and Grain Brain Debate -- http://lifespa.com/episode-41-eat-wheat-grain-brain-debate/
Ancient vs. Modern Wheat: Is Frankenwheat a Myth? -- http://lifespa.com/ancient-vs-modern-wheat-frankenwheat-myth/
Dr. John’s Wheat Belly Rebuttal -- http://lifespa.com/dr-johns-wheat-belly-rebuttal/
Navigating Toxic Wheat Myths -- http://lifespa.com/navigating-toxic-wheat-myths/
Whole Wheat, Refined Wheat or No Wheat? -- http://lifespa.com/whole-wheat-refined-wheat-no-wheat/
Episode 35: Eat Wheat -- http://lifespa.com/episode-35-eat-wheat/
Are Wheat Opioids Really Bad For You? -- http://lifespa.com/wheat-opioids-really-bad/
1
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Benefits of Naturally-Occurring Food Toxins | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/benefits-naturally-occurring-food-toxins
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

In the last 10,000 years, our diets have changed dramatically. Just about every food has been domesticated, naturally selected or hybridized to be tastier, sweeter, easier to eat or less poisonous.

Poisonous nightshades, for example, including potatoes and tomatoes were farmed to be bigger and sweeter, with less of the lethal chemical solanine and tomatine. Tomatoes were small like berries, the sweetest fruit was only as sweet as a carrot, and broccoli, kale, cabbage, cauliflower and Brussels sprouts are all versions of the same plant.

Many of the common foods we eat today carry small amounts of toxins and poisons that, in some cases, we have adapted to eat and even thrive on.

In this article, I want to bring our attention to the overwhelming number of food toxins and poisons that are simply impossible to avoid. Many of today’s superfoods are loaded with toxins that, interestingly, have beneficial properties as well.

...read more: http://lifespa.com/benefits-naturally-occurring-food-toxins

RELATED ARTICLES:

Cleanse Toxins & Emotions Right Out Of Your Fat -- http://lifespa.com/cleanse-toxins-and-emotions-right-out-of-your-fat/
Remove Toxins from Your Fat Cells -- http://lifespa.com/remove-toxins-from-your-fat-cells/
Cleanse Neurotoxins from your Brain’s Lymph -- http://lifespa.com/cleanse-neurotoxins-from-your-brains-lymph/
Detoxing Mercury: An Amazing Case Study -- http://lifespa.com/detoxing-mercury-an-amazing-case-study/
5 Reasons To Use Ashwagandha For Sleep -- http://lifespa.com/5-reasons-use-ashwagandha-sleep/
Superfoods For Your Body Type: Winter Edition -- http://lifespa.com/superfoods-body-type-winter-edition/
10 Simple Protocols to Calm & Soothe the Nervous System -- http://lifespa.com/10-simple-protocols-calm-soothe-nervous-system/
Navigating Toxic Wheat Myths -- http://lifespa.com/navigating-toxic-wheat-myths/
7 Deadly By-Products of Food Processing or Food Preparation -- http://lifespa.com/7-deadly-products-food-processing-food-preparation/
The Benefits & Differences Between Brahmi (Gotu Kola) and Bacopa -- http://lifespa.com/benefits-differences-brahmi-gotu-kola-bacopa/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
If Ayurveda is the sister science of yoga and means “the science of life,” why don’t we use it more in the yoga studio and in life? This course created and lead by Kripalu’s former dean of Ayurveda, Larissa Hall-Carlson, and Life Spa founder and best-selling author John Douillard, demystifies the most elemental and mind-body balancing ancient science known to yogis. The four-week program or year-long package allows you to learn about your body’s natural needs through each season and how to heal, eat, cook and cleanse for true balance. Plus, self-care demonstration techniques adapted to your individual dosha and signature yoga practices and poses you can use at home or as a teacher.
https://www.aimhealthyu.com/courses/ayurveda-101-reg?utm_source=affiliate&utm_campaign=ayurvedacollection_affiliate_JohnDoulliard&utm_medium=JohnDoulliard
-
-


#ayurveda #dosha #bodytype #onlinecourse #yoga #yogateacher #science

http://fpme.link/ieYLx1
1
Add a comment...
Work
Occupation
Ayurvedic Practitioner
Employment
  • LifeSpa
    Founder & President, present
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Boulder, Colorado
Links
Contributor to
Story
Tagline
Blending ancient wisdom and modern science.
Introduction

John Douillard DC has published over 150 health videos and articles that are available on his website. Receive these valuable health reports in your inbox - sign up for free at LifeSpa.com. He has written six books, numerous health DVDs and CDs and has formulated his own line of organic health care products. He is the former Director of Player Development for the New Jersey Nets NBA team as well as a former YPO University speaker. He directs the LifeSpa Ayurvedic Retreat Center in Boulder, CO where he lives with his wife and six children. 

Education
  • World Center of Ayurveda
    Graduate Studies in Ayurveda and Ayurvedic Exercise, 1988
  • Los Angeles College of Chiropractic
    BA, California Doctorate in Chiropractic with Honors, 1984
Basic Information
Gender
Male