Profile

Cover photo
John Douillard
Works at LifeSpa
Attended World Center of Ayurveda
Lives in Boulder, Colorado
924 followers|258,325 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/dr-johns-60th-birthday-healthy-aging-habits
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/


Well folks, it happens to the best of us… Hard to believe, but I turned 60 on August 24 and, I must say, it is a little hard to relate to that number. I am sure many of us are feeling younger and healthier as we age, and the image of being old at 60 just doesn’t compute anymore.

I also realize that many have been struggling with their health along the way and so, since it is my birthday, I want to share some of my favorite personal health strategies that I feel have made me healthy, kept me healthy and promise to keep me healthy as I enter the second half of my life.

While I am incredibly grateful to feel so healthy at 60, I wouldn’t say I have the strongest genetics for health. For example, I was diagnosed with high blood pressure at age 27, and this summer, my 2-week average blood pressure was 104/60, which I am so thrilled about – all on no (conventional?) meds of course. I battled heartburn in college, and after doing many overly aggressive cleanses in my early twenties, I screwed up my digestion. Today, I am so happy to report that I have never digested better. I started getting prostate-related low back pain in my early thirties, and today, both my low back and prostate are better than ever – and as you will read below, my blood sugar has been a challenge. It is my hope that some of my favorite health strategies may help you, as they have helped me ward off my weak links. All of this so we can all be healthier at 60!

...read more: http://lifespa.com/dr-johns-60th-bday-healthy-aging-habits

RELATED ARTICLES:

Turn On Your Anti-Aging Switch -- http://lifespa.com/turn-anti-aging-switch/
Dr. Douillard’s Digest Vol. 1: Aging and Longevity -- http://lifespa.com/dr-douillards-digest-vol-1-aging-and-longevity/
How Sweets Accelerate Aging -- http://lifespa.com/sweets-accelerate-aging/
Combat the Aging Enzyme -- http://lifespa.com/combat-the-aging-enzyme/
Your Sleep Affects Aging and Thinking! -- http://lifespa.com/your-sleep-affects-aging-and-thinking/
Apple Skins Block Aging and Burn Fat -- http://lifespa.com/apple-skins-block-aging-and-burn-fat/
Vitamin D Deficiency Linked to Aging -- http://lifespa.com/vitamin-d-deficiency-linked-to-aging/
The Link Between Blood Sugar and Memory -- http://lifespa.com/the-link-between-blood-sugar-and-memory/
The Vedic Way of Being vs. Manifesting and Seeking -- http://lifespa.com/vedic-way-being-vs-manifesting-seeking/
Top 5 Lymphatic Solutions for PMS -- http://lifespa.com/top-5-lymphatic-solutions-pms/
The Best Herbs to Cleanse the Lymphatic System -- http://lifespa.com/best-herbs-cleanse-lymphatic-system/
Live 46% Longer with Strength Training -- http://lifespa.com/live-46-percent-longer-with-strength-training/
Episode 33: Kick Acid Naturally: Ayurvedic Strategies for Heartburn -- http://lifespa.com/episode-33-kick-acid-naturally-ayurvedic-strategies-for-heartburn/
2 Minute SIBO Therapy Rediscovered -- http://lifespa.com/2-minute-sibo-therapy-rediscovered/
Boost Mood with 10 Very Doable Stress Management Strategies -- http://lifespa.com/boost-mood-with-10-very-doable-stress-management-strategies/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Ayurveda for Prostate Health | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/ayurveda-prostate-health
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

Studies are emerging making it clear as day that a healthy lifestyle and a healthy prostate go hand in hand. In one study, intensive changes in diet and exercise emphasizing a diet of fruits and veggies and regular physical activity significantly reduced the progression of early low grade prostate cancer. (2) In another study, a Western diet of processed and refined foods increased the risk of prostate cancer by two and a half times, compared to a whole foods, non-processed diet. (3)

...read more:
Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/ayurveda-prostate-health

RELATED ARTICLES:
Men's Health: http://lifespa.com/category/mens-health/
Cool Your Digestion: Solutions for Occasional Heartburn -- http://lifespa.com/cool-your-digestion/
Enhance Your Love Life with Aswagandha – Ayurveda’s Aphrodisiac -- http://lifespa.com/enhance-your-love-life-with-ashwagandha-ayurvedas-aphrodisiac/
3 Ayurvedic Pillars of Effortless Exercise -- http://lifespa.com/ayurvedic-exercise-training-tips/
Why Slow Yoga? -- http://lifespa.com/slow-yoga/
Sex on the Road Less Traveled -- http://lifespa.com/sex-road-less-traveled/
Love, Sex and Yoga -- http://lifespa.com/love-sex-yoga/
Longevity Exercise: Less is More -- http://lifespa.com/longevity-exercise-less/
Lifelong Prostate Health: Don’t Wait -- http://lifespa.com/lifelong-prostate-health-dont-wait/
Can a Married Man Resist a Beautiful Woman? -- http://lifespa.com/can-a-married-man-resist-a-beautiful-woman/
High Estrogen Causes Low Testosterone in Men -- http://lifespa.com/high-estrogen-causes-low-testosterone-in-men/
Prostate Health -- http://lifespa.com/prostate-health/
1
Nancy Caccioppo's profile photo
 
Happy Birthday +John Douillard 
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
3 Steps to a Healthy Mouth, Heart, and Immunity | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/3-steps-healthy-mouth-heart-immunity
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/

Your dentist will tell you that the primary reason for regular brushing and flossing is to prevent cavities and maintain healthy gums, but what they often don’t tell you about is the direct link between poor gum health and cardiovascular health concerns. (1)

With more than 75 percent of adults in America having poor gum health, the motivation to maintain a healthy mouth goes way beyond cavities. (1) In this article, I will present the three Ayurvedic steps to maintaining a healthy mouth, and thus a healthy heart. Not surprisingly, Ayurveda, now backed by some exciting science, was way ahead of its time when it came to oral hygiene.

Let’s Dig In!

Researchers have known for some time that the same bacteria that are found in your mouth are also found inside arteries and on the valves of the heart. (1-3) These unhealthy bacteria are thought to find their way into the bloodstream through the gums, especially when you have bleeding gums. Flossing, and even chewing, can irritate gum tissue, cause minor bleeding and open the door for bacterial exposure and access to the heart and arteries. (3)

There is plenty of evidence linking common undesirable mouth bacteria, like Streptococcus mutans, to a host of health concerns which include arterial, heart, lung and blood sugar health. (2) The prevalence of encountering S. mutans is very high compared to other oral bacteria. In one report, S. mutans was found in 69 percent of heart valve cases, and 74 percent of arterial specimens. (3)

Understanding the link between the potential pathogenic bacteria in the mouth and your overall health cannot be understated. While dentists are adamant regarding oral hygiene, few of their preventative strategies actually reduce the population of S. mutans in the mouth.

...read more: http://lifespa.com/3-steps-healthy-mouth-heart-immunity

RELATED ARTICLES:

Bleeding Gums: The Profound Dangers -- http://lifespa.com/bleeding-gums-the-profound-dangers/
Risks of Dental X-Rays and CT Scans -- http://lifespa.com/risks-of-dental-x-rays-and-ct-scans/
Tongue Diagnosis Made Easy -- http://lifespa.com/tongue-diagnosis-made-easy/
The Science of Tongue Scraping with Copper -- http://lifespa.com/the-science-of-tongue-scraping-with-copper/
Is Coconut Oil the New Toothpaste? -- http://lifespa.com/coconut-oil-new-toothpaste/
The Miracle of Mouth Microbes -- http://lifespa.com/miracle-mouth-microbes/
Smile! This Sugar Helps Your Teeth -- http://lifespa.com/smile-sugar-helps-teeth/
Oil Pulling for a Beautiful Smile and Healthy Mouth -- http://lifespa.com/oil-pulling-beautiful-smile-healthy-mouth/
The Magic of Sesame -- http://lifespa.com/the-magic-of-sesame/
The Truth About Oil Pullinghttp://lifespa.com/the-truth-about-oil-pulling/
Healthy Sugar for Your Teeth -- http://lifespa.com/healthy-sugar-for-your-teeth/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
10 Reasons To Eat Walnuts - Average Reading Time: 2 minutes While walnuts (Juglans regia L) are a fall harvested tree food with nutrient-rich deliverables that are ideal for winter, their overwhelming health benefits should nominate them for a year-round source of protein, healthy fats and phytonutrients. Rich In Omega 3’s As most nuts are primarily mono-saturated fats, walnuts are loaded […] The post 10 Reasons To Eat Walnuts appeared first on Dr. Douillard's LifeSpa.
1
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
924 people
Kyle Hunter's profile photo
Di Walton's profile photo
katarina kalviainen's profile photo
Mona Modi's profile photo
Sharon Dickerson's profile photo
Ali Shaded's profile photo
Rose Kress's profile photo
Lisa Seehof's profile photo
Kate Schwabacher (Lumsden)'s profile photo

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Truth About Karma | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/the-truth-about-karma
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/


When things are not going your way, don’t you love it when someone tells you that, “it’s your karma?”

You should know that when anyone says that to you, they really don’t get the whole “karma thing.” Let me help you out here – there is no such thing as good karma or bad karma!

When you are told it is “your karma,” they are likely referring to your past karma, which is sometimes interpreted to mean that you did something bad in a past life and now you are paying for it. That concept is more of a misappropriation of the God-fearing concept that basically says, if you do something wrong, and it is really bad, you will pay in some kind of eternal hell.

Thankfully, the concept of karma really has nothing to do with eternal payback or penance. Karma simply means action! The actions or opportunities that life presents each and every day for us to act on our truth – to be free of desire, addictions, need and wants. On the flip side, life also presents innumerable opportunities each day to act on our desires, needs and wants as well. I like to call this the “game of life,” and your karma simply relates to the kinds of actions you choose to take.

The actions we take during our lifetime has much to do with how much self-awareness we develop along the way. Self-awareness is a natural phenomenon that is enhanced first and foremost by living a lifestyle connected to the cycles and rhythms of nature that has supported our evolution for millions of years.

Yoga, breathing and meditation techniques are powerful tools that help deepen our connection to nature’s circadian rhythms, better health and higher and more refined states of self-awareness. With a heightened state of self-awareness, we then have the opportunity to choose actions that are life-supporting and transformational. By transformational, I mean the ability to transform old protective and emotional patterns of behavior into actions that free us from the need to be loved and approved of, allowing us the ability to simply be love.


...read more: http://lifespa.com/the-truth-about-karma

RELATED ARTICLES:

Are Your Emotions Making You Sick? -- http://lifespa.com/are-your-emotions-making-you-sick/
Free Yourself from Unconscious Desires with Yoga & Ayurveda -- http://lifespa.com/free-yourself-from-unconscious-desires-with-yoga-and-ayurveda/
The Psycho-Physiology of Stress -- http://lifespa.com/the-psycho-physiology-of-stress/
Modern Ayurveda: Discover Your Highest Potential -- http://lifespa.com/modern-ayurveda-discover-your-highest-potential/
6 Ayurvedic Truths The ‘Inside Out’ Movie Will Teach You -- http://lifespa.com/6-ayurvedic-truths-the-inside-out-movie-will-teach-you/
From Fear to Freedom -- http://lifespa.com/from-fear-to-freedom/The Nerdy, Non-Sexual Chemistry of Love -- http://lifespa.com/the-nerdy-non-sexual-chemistry-of-love/
The Science Behind Slow Eating -- http://lifespa.com/science-behind-slow-eating/
How To Choose A Panchakarma Center -- http://lifespa.com/how-to-choose-a-panchakarma-center/
How To Do Panchakarma At Home -- http://lifespa.com/panchakarma/panchakarma-home/
How to Punch Your Karma -- http://lifespa.com/how-to-punch-your-karma/
Longevity and Panchakarma -- http://lifespa.com/panchakarma/panchakarma-longevity/
Episode 32: Ayurvedic Psychology with Dr. David Frawley & Dr. John Douillard -- http://lifespa.com/episode-32-ayurvedic-psychology-dr-david-frawley-dr-john-douillard/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Dangers of Neglecting Your Lymphatic System | John Douillard's LifeSpa

Read the associated article: http://lifespa.com/domino-effect-of-neglecting-your-lymphatic-system
Sign up for our free weekly video newsletter: http://lifespa.com/newsletter-signup
Like us on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dr.douillard
Follow @JohnDouillard on Twitter
Learn more about Ayurveda: http://lifespa.com/about-lifespa/ayurveda/what-is-ayurveda/


The lymphatic system is considered one of the seven body tissues and the first to become compromised under stress. There is a stark contrast between how little attention is given to the lymph in the west and how highly it is revered in Ayurveda.

The Sanskrit word for lymph is rasa. This is also the word for taste, emotion, juice, nutrient fluid, melody, plasma, water, menses, semen, breast milk, satisfaction and love. In Sanskrit, the more meanings a word has, the broader its scope and the more important it is considered to be. The following are 7 different aspects of the body that are affected if the lymphatic system is neglected.

...read more: http://lifespa.com/domino-effect-of-neglecting-your-lymphatic-system

RELATED ARTICLES:
Two Superfruits for the Intestinal Skin, Lymph & Heart -- http://lifespa.com/two-amazing-fruits-for-cardiovascular-health/
Is Your Lymph Making You Gain Weight? -- http://lifespa.com/is-your-lymph-making-you-gain-weight/
Is Your Lymph Affecting Your Mental Health? -- http://lifespa.com/is-your-lymph-affecting-your-mental-health/
Cleanse Neurotoxins from your Brain’s Lymph -- http://lifespa.com/cleanse-neurotoxins-from-your-brains-lymph/
Science Confirms Ayurvedic Knowledge of Brain-Lymph Connection -- http://lifespa.com/science-confirms-ayurvedic-knowledge-of-brain-lymph-connection/
Starve Your SIBO & Candida -- http://lifespa.com/starve-your-sibo-and-candida/
2 Minute SIBO Therapy Rediscovered -- http://lifespa.com/2-minute-sibo-therapy-rediscovered/
Top 10 Ayurvedic Tinnitus Tips -- http://lifespa.com/top-10-ayurvedic-tinnitus-tips/
Beans: Spring’s Unexpected Superfood -- http://lifespa.com/beans-springs-unexpected-superfood/
The Science of Longevity: Top 3 Secrets -- http://lifespa.com/science-longevity-top-3-secrets/
The Confusing World of Eating, Dieting and Cleansing -- http://lifespa.com/confusing-world-of-eating-dieting-and-cleansing/
What Happened To Natural Detox? -- http://lifespa.com/what-happened-to-natural-detox/
Two Superfruits for the Intestinal Skin, Lymph & Heart -- http://lifespa.com/two-amazing-fruits-for-cardiovascular-health/
Episode 29: The Brain-Lymph Connection (For Better Mood & Memory) -- http://lifespa.com/episode-29-the-brain-lymph-connection-for-better-mood-memory/
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Acts of kindness, expressions of love, giving, caring, and being in the moment trigger the release of a health and longevity promoting hormone called oxytocin, which is linked to happiness and improved cancer survival rates. http://lifespa.com/what-ive-learned-from-cancer-survivors/ #survival #oxytocin #compassion #love #longevity #health #healthy #healthychoices #healthyliving #healthylifestyle #healthylife #ayurveda #ayurvedalife #ayurvedaeveryday #fact #facts #factoflife #science #lifehacks #lifehack

http://fpme.link/vQP5Rt
1
Add a comment...

John Douillard

Shared publicly  - 
 
Be Fit, Thin & Calm in 12 Minutes a Day - Average Reading Time: 8 minutes and 44 seconds I am often asked, “What is the best exercise? Why don’t I lose weight when I exercise? Can I exercise, balance blood sugar and stabilize my mood? How do I avoid over exercising?” To balance blood sugar, we must re-educate the body to burn fat. Fat burns […] The post Be Fit, Thin & Calm in 12 Minutes a Day appeared first on Dr. Douillard's LifeSpa.
Be Fit, Thin & Calm in 12 Minutes a Day - Average Reading Time: 8 minutes and 44 seconds I am often asked, “What is the best exercise? Why don’t I lose… - LifeSpa - Dr. John Douillard, DC, CAP - Google+
1
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
924 people
Kyle Hunter's profile photo
Di Walton's profile photo
katarina kalviainen's profile photo
Mona Modi's profile photo
Sharon Dickerson's profile photo
Ali Shaded's profile photo
Rose Kress's profile photo
Lisa Seehof's profile photo
Kate Schwabacher (Lumsden)'s profile photo
Education
  • World Center of Ayurveda
    Graduate Studies in Ayurveda and Ayurvedic Exercise, 1988
  • Los Angeles College of Chiropractic
    BA, California Doctorate in Chiropractic with Honors, 1984
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Story
Tagline
Blending ancient wisdom and modern science.
Introduction

John Douillard DC has published over 150 health videos and articles that are available on his website. Receive these valuable health reports in your inbox - sign up for free at LifeSpa.com. He has written six books, numerous health DVDs and CDs and has formulated his own line of organic health care products. He is the former Director of Player Development for the New Jersey Nets NBA team as well as a former YPO University speaker. He directs the LifeSpa Ayurvedic Retreat Center in Boulder, CO where he lives with his wife and six children. 

Work
Occupation
Ayurvedic Practitioner
Employment
  • LifeSpa
    Founder & President, present
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Boulder, Colorado
Links
Contributor to