Facebook brings sharing, privacy settings closer to those of Google Plus

Well, that was expected - though it's not turned on, yet. The key things seem to be that Everyone is now labeled Public and easier to access your groups for publishing. But it's incremental. The friending and grouping model is the same. It's also possible to add a location to your posts. Did anyone expect Facebook not to do these things?

The page that describes changes to public viewing seems somewhat misleading. It says: "We changed Everyone to Public to make it even more clear who you're sharing with when you select this audience. The setting still means the anyone on the internet can view this content, and any of your past Everyone posts are still visible to the same audience."

Well, if by "on the internet" they mean everyone on the Web, that doesn't seem to jive quite right. Posts in Facebook are not visible on the Web to just anyone; you have to be logged in to Facebook first. By comparison, you don't have to be logged in to Google+ to see your Public posts and Profile. Moreover, as far as I can tell, there won't be changes that would allow you to link to a specific post in Facebook from outside of Facebook. In other words, unless there's something that I am missing or that has not been announced, it's still a walled-garden concept of "Public."

So, all in all, although I appreciate +Robert Scoble's "heads up" note on this last night, it's still the "schminternet" fake-friend version of social media with some doo-dads that make it somewhat easier to do some things kind of like how you do them on Google+. That's not to say that these aren't good changes - they are - but I don't see that they are really game-changers. Of course there's more to come, both from Facebook and Google. In the end, hopefully the winners are the Web and us.
Shared publiclyView activity