Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
90 followers|9,115,596 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
We're keeping it fresh at Revolve.

Summer Berry Salad: spinach, blackberries, blueberries, strawberries, goat cheese, poppy seed vinaigrette
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Tenderloin: hand picked crab meat, lemon dijon cream, marbled potatoes, asparagus
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Cosigned.
Folks always get the quote wrong. They get the city wrong too.
1
2
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
#‎TBT‬ to the unveiling soirée of the completely remodeled Hotel Derek in March 2013. It doesn't get more Texan than this, y'all! Giddy up!
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Fish tacos are a favorite and while staying at a Hotel Derek for a few days, I’ve ordered them for more than one meal in Revolve Kitchen + Bar. They are simple and packed with flavor and prot…
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
"The sultan of swat!

The king of crash!

The colossus of clout!

The colossus of clout!

BABE RUTH!"

We’re knocking one out of the park for this month’s Float & Flick!

http://www.hotelderek.com/blog-post/float-and-flick-the-sandlot
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
rowdy_grl, we miss you already! Look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Derek, Houston’s swanky boutique again very soon!

"My wife and I love staying at boutique hotels. Hotel Derek is at the top of our list. The rooms are very big, clean and comfortable. We loved having Starbucks in our room and in the lobby. I had not been to Houston in many years and this hotel is perfectly located.

I hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.” - rowdy_grl of Dallas, Texas
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Hotel Derek has paired up with SEPHORA to bring you the latest beauty must-haves... so save a little room in your toiletry bag, because we think you'll have some new favorites to bring back home with you.

The package also includes a $25 gift card to Sephora so you can go grab a little something extra while you're strolling The Galleria.

http://www.hotelderek.com/amenities-brochure/#17/z
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Who needs a weekend escape on us?

We want to hear about your first-ever hotel experience, because from this side of the fence, we know there has to be some good tales to tell!

We'll select the best story in the comments under our Facebook post (totally giving extra credit for the most likes) and treat you to a one-night weekend stay in our newly designed concept suites, plus breakfast for two and valet parking!

https://www.facebook.com/TheHotelDerek/photos/a.166938774654.117577.58794409654/10154330958324655/
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
"Hey, Smalls, you wanna s'more?"
"Some more of what?"
"No, do you wanna s'more?"
"I haven't had anything yet, so how can I have some more of nothing?"
"You're killing me Smalls!"

Just two weeks away from our ‪#‎FloatAndFlick‬ showing The Sandlot, but this Oreo S'more from Revolve will get you in the spirit...

https://www.facebook.com/events/149455068795879/
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Pokemon trainers can live the "suite" life at Hotel Derek too. Moo-Shine, our own official Pokestop, in our lobby will keep your backpacks packed with all you need to venture out to the nearby Memorial Park, Hermann Park and The Galleria to "Catch 'Em All!"

Save 25% on your stay with our 2016 Summer Sale: https://gc.synxis.com/rez.aspx?Hotel=57076&Chain=5156

‪#‎PokemonGo‬
1
Add a comment...

Hotel Derek

Shared publicly  - 
 
Houston is HOT!!! But we got what ya need to cool things down at SPLASH. You bring your swimsuit and our Splash Pool Essentials package supplies the rest...

[Two poolside cocktails, sunscreen, Vogue or GQ magazine and a designer towel that's yours to keep]
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
2525 West Loop S Houston, TX 77027
2525 West Loop South FreewayUSTexasHouston77027
(713) 961-3000hotelderek.com
Hotel, Boutique Hotel
Hotel
Boutique Hotel
Conference Hotel
Event Venue
Luxury Hotel
Wedding Venue
When you stay at Hotel Derek, you’re not only a guest of Houston’s hottest boutique hotel inside the loop, you have an “in” to much more. Experience the new multi-million dollar design renovation with an  enriched service culture that complements the vibrancy found in the place we call home, The Galleria.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$127
Book at LastMinuteTravel
More
Booking links sponsored. $148 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.0
213 reviews
5 star
1,261 reviews
4 star
784 reviews
3 star
314 reviews
2 star
147 reviews
1 star
118 reviews
Hotel featuring arty, contemporary rooms, a terrace pool & a bar with a clubby atmosphere.- Google
"Cool hotel, leaky faucet in the bathtub."
"Its a great location if you want to be in the galleria area."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Jimmy Marberry's profile photo
Jimmy Marberry
a month ago
Hotel and room were fine, hidden fees when checking out so check the fine print. Prices were ridiculous for drinks at the bar 20 dollars for sky vodka cape cod?!?! Not going back anytime soon 😐 which sucks cause this place is nicely decorated and has cool features as well as a great location . Paying for parking (23 dollars a night) is ridiculous
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Jimmy, you’re supposed to splurge on fancy drinks and valet parking when you are a guest of Hotel Derek! But if that’s not your style, we understand, and we still want to woo you back and sooner the better. If you’d rather save the $23 and ditch the wheels all together we have a chauffeured car service that will take you anywhere within three miles of the hotel, and guess what…its free! Thanks for the shout out about our chic cool design – please reconsider staying with us again as we would love to roll out the red carpet on your next trip to HTown! -Mark Noyes, General Manager of Hotel Derek
Mary Hubley's profile photo
Mary Hubley
a month ago
I stayed in one of the sky deluxe rooms on a weekend. The room was very nice and clean, no complaints,there. There were a few factors that made the experience less than great, tho. When we first got to our room on the 14th floor, our key cards didn't work and we couldn't get in the door, so we had to go all the way back down to the lobby with our bags and get the cards reprogrammed. Next, when trying to leave the parking garage to go to dinner, key card again wouldn't work so we couldn't get out of the parking garage. After calling to notify the front desk, we sat waiting at the gate to get out of the garage for15 minutes (seriously - not an exaggeration) before someone came to let us out. When i returned to my room, again, key card wouldn't work. Luckily a supervisor happened to be walking by and he let me in my room and was incredibly polite and helpful. After being reprogrammed again, the key cards worked for the rest of the stay. Aside from the key card issues, they also charge a lot for everything. If you have a car, it's $25/day to park it yourself, small breakfast buffet of food that's been sitting out in the open, not even covered, is $22, they charge more for coffee at their cafe that "proudly brews Starbucks" than the actual Starbucks one block away. I don't know, the rooms are pricey, I at least expected the coffee for the machines in the rooms to be complimentary since you can get that much from cheap motels, but nah. Just makes it a little unusually obvious that they care more about getting your money here than about you having a good experience during your stay.
• • •
Joseph Miles's profile photo
Joseph Miles
a month ago
Hotel Derek isn't bad, but it's not the best. Primarily because of the staff. This is a management problem; there are better hotels in the Galleria area, I would know. I'm in a hotel 4 out of 7 days a week. The beds are firm (not a bad thing) and the rooms are fun, nice and clean EXCEPT the horrible shower heads chosen; they don't work, are awkward and just annoying. There are minor things wrong in rooms (outlets don't work, lights) that is obviously a management lacking problem. They don't pride themselves. The front desk staff is "nice enough" but there's a cold feeling, like they don't enjoy their job. The bar staff had the same type of feeling, she served drinks but it seemed like a chore. Overall, the hotel isn't bad, but there are better options at the same price point. I would suggest removing the general manager, getting somebody who takes pride in a hotel and fixing the staff & small issues around the hotel.
• • •
Sheila Dumont's profile photo
Sheila Dumont
2 months ago
This is a "cute" hotel but not cute enough to stay here again. I have stayed at this location before it became The Hotel Derek and it was a modest hotel. I can see where the new owners simply added bright colors and cheap modern lamps, basic mirrors, cheap paintings, and boxes under the tv to store your apparel. It is clean but dirty around the edges. Oh, the worst thing is the mattress. OMG! talk about crappy. Hey, Hotel Derek, call Marriott and find out where they purchase their bedding.
• • •
SA BK's profile photo
SA BK
a week ago
AVOID AVOID! PREJUDICE HOTEL! I sent an email enquiry for a group booking. 2 Days later I followed up the booking and was initially offered a contract booking but it was ADVISED and it was CONFIRMED by the hotel that I should go with a 'courtesy' hotel reservation instead The reason for wanting to book HOTEL DEREK was because we were looking to hold a conference August 2018 and we were building a package for those travelling so they could begin to budget especially those from other countries. We waited the 24 hours as stated by the hotel only to be told it wasn't ready (fair enough) however, this continued for a FURTHER 3 DAYS!!! With constant promises, it got to the weekend and I very much needed the code to pass onto our guests so I called the hotel for over 6 HOURS!! Trying to get something sorted Rahule the Ops Manager was kind enough to even call Stephanie who originally signed this off for which she decided not to respond to me. Later that evening I received an email from Aiesha who sold me the package say she would follow up on Monday. As I'm sure you can image I wasn't please to say the least as the 1-3 days from the original request had ALREADY PAST! .... But I waited till Monday. On Monday I spent ANOTHER 2 HOURS trying to speak to someone at the hotel to then finally receive a phone call from Stephanie who open with: " Hello and how are you today?" I replied, " I good but I could be better if we can get this code as I really do need it." I then received the following reply from Stephanie: " Errr I'm sorry to have to tell you but we can no longer help you with your enquiry or booking, we are not going to be able to help you any further!" I was shocked as you can imagine and I immediately said "Why?!" Stephanie's response was, " I have read your emails that you have sent to Aiesha and I don't think we can help your group.... and we are not taking bookings outside of 365 days. we can't help you any further...." I was horrified that I had spent a good amount of time with this hotel, made an agreement which STEPHANIE signed off on and suddenly without explanation they wanted NOTHING to do with as Stephanie described 'Our Group'. I expressed to Stephanie that I wasn't sure what had suddenly changed that if Aiesha had sold something she shouldn't have that was an internal issue but an agreement was made and I accepted it. She continued to reply " We can't help your group anymore!"... I was angry and said the only thing that I could conceive was that she had picked up that we were a 'Foreign group, Christians with people of colour'(due to my name) and was this the real issue and they did not want us in the hotel? I said if this were the cause this was PREJUDICE!! ... Stephanie then said, " Err well if you want to stay you would have to pay a 25% deposit, if not we cannot help you any further you will have to go somewherelse." ( SHOCK SHOCK SHOCK). I asked her to ask for Mark Noise the General Manager to call me. I waited OVER 12 HOURS!! With no callback NOBODY CALLED! I periodically called and I was advised I would have to go through a PROCESS TO GET TO MARK! I first had to speak to Rahule and he would pass a message onto Mark. For OVER 12 HOURS I kept getting messages that Rahule was in a meeting and he WAS aware and WOULD call me back.... NEVER RECEIVED A CALL BACK! I genuinely believed that we lived in 2016 and this type of PREJUDICE had long gone with abolishen of the Jim Crow Law, but evidently it still alive and well. THINK TWICE if you are a: GROUP NOT FROM THE LOCAL AREA A GROUP WHO HOLDS A FAITH TRAVEL WITH PEOPLE FROM DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE WORLD. The sad part was that I also wanted to update them that we would have had over 300 guests, plus wanted to secure a Friday, Saturday and Sunday Conference at the hotel to help give them extra revenue so could we update the agreement, but I think in this instance Stephanie did me a favour but letting me know that really our 'Kind' of Group was NOT WELCOME HERE!
• • •
Sam Medley's profile photo
Sam Medley
in the last week
The hotel is clean, but the aesthetic is interesting. It seems like it can't make up its mind if it wants to be Texas themed or 80s/90s theme. Also, the bathroom door was a sliding door on a rail (not a pocket door) that didn't lock and didn't quite close all the way. Very awkward. Overall, it's fine to stay, but it is definitely overpriced for what you get.
Melissa Gibson's profile photo
Melissa Gibson
3 weeks ago
Nice rooms, mini bar is fully stocked with the goods! Movies by the pool, great bar. Super chill atmosphere.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Super chill is exactly what you deserve and exactly what we design for our guests at Hotel Derek. So pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit and splurged at the Splash Pool, Flick & Float and the yummy minibar – isn’t hotel life the best!?! - Mark Noyes, General Manager
KK Design Services's profile photo
KK Design Services
2 months ago
Among the worst hotels I've ever stayed in, and that's saying a lot, as I run a travel guide. Outdoor music by the pool just outside the room blared all night long, even though there wasn't a single person at the pool. Marijuana smoke (this is clearly a party hotel) was literally so strong it woke me up at 7:00 in the morning, and was entering my room through circulation vents from other rooms. (The corridor literally reeked of pot smoke.) I went to the reception desk three times and there wasn't anyone there and I had to call out each time because the woman at the desk was hanging out in the back room. Each time she emerged she was clutching her smartphone. The whole place was ridiculous.
• • •