Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. It is always unfortunate when a guest feels we have not adequately taken care of them. We work very hard to ensure all wedding events that we have held here over the past 15 years are wonderful and without any unpleasant incidents, and only a couple over the years have not lived up to that goal. We don’t normally respond to reviews in a defensive way, but we feel we have been so seriously and unfairly maligned that we felt it important to clarify what happened for future guests to consider.
Your wedding was beautiful as we have seen from the photos. The wedding party looked as if they were having a wonderful time and the bride was absolutely gorgeous.
We work very hard to create an environment that ensures a spectacular and memorable wedding at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. While doing so, we also work hard to ensure this spectacular event does not conflict with the safety and comfort of our other guests who may also be on our property at the time.
Despite our best efforts, this wedding unfortunately did interrupt the comfort and safety of our guests and we took responsible steps to manage this as hospitality professionals.
You said in your review that you had over 100 people lodge with us. There were only 45 guests contracted to stay with us. This of course caused a number of serious safety and security problems that we had to deal with the night of the wedding reception.
You said that you contracted for an event coordinator which changed over the course of your wedding planning. We do not contract for event planning coordinators, they are complimentary. We do contract for Wedding Event managers who are onsite during all wedding events, including this event, as they occur. We acknowledge that our key Wedding Sales Manager, who had been with us for many, many years, unexpectedly went out on emergency medical leave during the planning of your wedding and ultimately never returned to work because of the medical problems. We apologize for this unexpected event, but believe we professionally and quickly replaced this person with a competent new event planning coordinator.
We are not aware of anything you were sold upon, that was not delivered. We are aware of the following that was included in your signed contract that you violated during the course of your stay:
You contracted for a camp fire event by the lake. Our contract, that you signed, states that we have an 11pm quiet hour to ensure that all guests get to enjoy the serenity of our property. There is also a county noise ordinance that requires quiet at this hour. Your wedding party at the lake got quite noisy and disorderly over the course of the evening with loud music being played. After 11pm, our security personnel kindly asked that you quiet down per our rules. After repeated requests, the wedding party guests refused. Indeed, they also removed our locked boats and took them out on the lake. Ultimately, we were forced to call the police authorities due to these violations of our private property when the guest would not follow the rules and our contract with them. The guests finally left the lake area at 2:30am. In 15 years, we have only had to call the authorities 3 or 4 times to help us manage uncooperative guests. It is embarrassing to us, and to the guest, and we go to great extremes to prevent this. Ultimately though, we must guard the safety, comfort and security of ALL of our guests and our property.
So I ask all prospective guests to read our reviews here and make your own judgments. Call us if you have any further questions regarding our view of this unfortunate event and the accuracy of the guest’s review here.