Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Resort
11 followers|819,272 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
86 Lily Pad Ln Flat Rock, NC 28731
86 Lily Pad LaneUSNorth CarolinaFlat Rock28731
(828) 693-6812hlinn.com
Resort, Banquet Hall
Resort
Banquet Hall
Wedding Venue
Conference Center

What nature doesn't offer, we do.

There’s something magical about this place. You can hear it in the wind. Feel it in the breeze. Behold it in the rich panorama of color that greets one at every turn. The Native Americans recognized the soul-inspiring beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains centuries ago—calling them “the great blue hills of God.”

A Peak Experience that’s within your reach.

At Highland Lake Inn & Resort, we offer guests a wealth of amenities and options, at a one-of-a-kind value. There’s no other place in Western North Carolina quite like us—encompassing such a wide range of enticing benefits and accommodations. Poised atop 26 scenic acres in Western North Carolina, our goal is to deliver an authentic mountain experience that’s as vast and varied as these storied hills. Here is a destination that appeals to everyone: families, couples, groups, newlyweds, business leaders, and everyone in between. We are at once a retreat, and a launching point for exploration. A place to rest, and explore. A haven for relaxation, and adventure. We offer the seclusion of a tucked-away mountain setting—and the convenience and sophistication of a world-class resort. We are more than an inn. More than a place to dine. More than a typical mountain resort. We are home for whatever you seek.

Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
11 people
Michael Oppenheim Photography's profile photo
Carol Duncan's profile photo
Hendograph Media's profile photo
Todd Johnson's profile photo
Esther Marrero's profile photo
Asheville Wedding Photographer | Gruen Photo Design's profile photo
Kim Smith's profile photo
Revival Photography's profile photo
Denise Harrelson's profile photo
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
$159
Book at Booking.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $178 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.8
12 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
No reviews
1 star
4 reviews
Rural property with an elegant inn & rustic cottage, plus a restaurant & organic garden.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Amie Highum's profile photo
Amie Highum
5 months ago
The Highland Lake Inn was the perfect spot for our New Year's Eve wedding! The staff was wonderful to work with, the accommodations were clean and very comfortable. Everyone had a fantastic time. Being able to have our out of town wedding guests stay in the lodge, Woodward House and cabins was great! The food was amazing and we can't say enough about the staff. Thank you SO much for such an amazing event and for helping us make our special day perfect!
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for choosing Highland Lake Inn & Resort and Season's at Highland Lake for your special day. We are so pleased to have been the place that allowed you the fantastic time and your guests to be well taken care of. Our hope for you to have a wonderful and blessed life as one! Thank you again for allowing us to be your special place. We hope to see you for your anniversary in 2016.
Victor Bubuioc's profile photo
Victor Bubuioc
12 months ago
Had our Wedding here, Spring 2014. Very beautiful place, but don't get fooled. Do you remember Hansel and Gretel story about a young brother and sister threatened by a cannibalistic witch living deep in the forest in a house constructed of cake and confectionery? Well this place is like the house, easy to be lured in and hard to escape. The management and staff will make you want to get married again in order to forget the poor experience. I would give anything to take it back and do it over. YOU ARE WARNED. We had over 100 people lodge with them for the wedding weekend and at the end, the management said that we are responsible for all of our guest's actions. This is not only unreasonable but complete unethical. Part of the price provides a coordinator, in the span of 5 months we went through 3 of them. Apparently the place can't retain its staff for who knows what reason... each coordinator provided us with conflicting information. When we toured the place, we were sold on things that apparently were not true and just used as a hook to get people in. When the wedding day came apparently the rules of the place have changed. But, of course it's too late... Again, this is a beautiful place, but so is most of Western NC. There are many venues that will provide similar environment minus the hustle of management that will make your wedding day a day you will want to forget. Again, you are warned!!!
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. It is always unfortunate when a guest feels we have not adequately taken care of them. We work very hard to ensure all wedding events that we have held here over the past 15 years are wonderful and without any unpleasant incidents, and only a couple over the years have not lived up to that goal. We don’t normally respond to reviews in a defensive way, but we feel we have been so seriously and unfairly maligned that we felt it important to clarify what happened for future guests to consider. Your wedding was beautiful as we have seen from the photos. The wedding party looked as if they were having a wonderful time and the bride was absolutely gorgeous. We work very hard to create an environment that ensures a spectacular and memorable wedding at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. While doing so, we also work hard to ensure this spectacular event does not conflict with the safety and comfort of our other guests who may also be on our property at the time. Despite our best efforts, this wedding unfortunately did interrupt the comfort and safety of our guests and we took responsible steps to manage this as hospitality professionals. You said in your review that you had over 100 people lodge with us. There were only 45 guests contracted to stay with us. This of course caused a number of serious safety and security problems that we had to deal with the night of the wedding reception. You said that you contracted for an event coordinator which changed over the course of your wedding planning. We do not contract for event planning coordinators, they are complimentary. We do contract for Wedding Event managers who are onsite during all wedding events, including this event, as they occur. We acknowledge that our key Wedding Sales Manager, who had been with us for many, many years, unexpectedly went out on emergency medical leave during the planning of your wedding and ultimately never returned to work because of the medical problems. We apologize for this unexpected event, but believe we professionally and quickly replaced this person with a competent new event planning coordinator. We are not aware of anything you were sold upon, that was not delivered. We are aware of the following that was included in your signed contract that you violated during the course of your stay: You contracted for a camp fire event by the lake. Our contract, that you signed, states that we have an 11pm quiet hour to ensure that all guests get to enjoy the serenity of our property. There is also a county noise ordinance that requires quiet at this hour. Your wedding party at the lake got quite noisy and disorderly over the course of the evening with loud music being played. After 11pm, our security personnel kindly asked that you quiet down per our rules. After repeated requests, the wedding party guests refused. Indeed, they also removed our locked boats and took them out on the lake. Ultimately, we were forced to call the police authorities due to these violations of our private property when the guest would not follow the rules and our contract with them. The guests finally left the lake area at 2:30am. In 15 years, we have only had to call the authorities 3 or 4 times to help us manage uncooperative guests. It is embarrassing to us, and to the guest, and we go to great extremes to prevent this. Ultimately though, we must guard the safety, comfort and security of ALL of our guests and our property. So I ask all prospective guests to read our reviews here and make your own judgments. Call us if you have any further questions regarding our view of this unfortunate event and the accuracy of the guest’s review here.
Alexandra Flores's profile photo
Alexandra Flores
a year ago
Let me describe my Wedding experience @ highland lake inn: 1. The first meeting I had with the (first) wedding coordinator was unprofessional... the coordinator was late and we drove 2.5 hours to such meeting just to wait till the coordinator was available. 2. Highland lake inn changed, in an 8 month period, our wedding coordinator 3 times. All of those times no one bothered to let us know in a timely manner about this change. Every time they changed we, my husband and I, had to go through the planning process again since apparently the past coordinators didn't have all the notes on the wedding. 3. The first coordinator sold us on the venue by telling us that we could have a huge bonfire near the lake after our wedding reception was over. THIS, was a HUGE deal for us since we love the intimacy of a bonfire with good friends. On our wedding night we and about 15 of our closest friends and siblings, where in the bonfire as we had been promised, only to have "security" try and kick us out because we needed to be approved for the bonfire. When ALL this time the first coordinator had told us otherwise. ANYWAYS, needless to say, it was a HORRIBLE experience to have to be dealing at 11.40 pm with a "security" personnel. After about 20 minutes of the groom dealing with the security guy, security was finally able to let us be after he contacted the manager. HOW unprofessional is that, ruining someones wedding night over a silly misunderstanding that THEY HAD INTERNALLY. How was it our fault that their wedding coordinator had given us bad information? 4. The lack of an Apology after having the issue with the bonfire on our wedding night. The lack of an apology when changing 3 wedding coordinators during our wedding planning!!! NOW changing the coordinators was horrible, I felt like every time I was back in square one. 5. After all the wedding was done, the HLINN tried to charge me $1,000 because after my wedding, people that actually was staying at the Highland lake were having drinks from their own mini fridges..... They tried and blame it on my groom and myself saying that somehow we "catered' them. 6. Also, don't expect to get your invoice on time. The day after my wedding the front desk told me I had my invoice in 4 days. That did not happen. 7. After all the deal with the coordinators, the bonfire situation, and now the "offsite catering" ... No apologies were made towards us. Not even a "sorry because we messed up, because we are not professional, etc." Needless to say I would not recommend this place to anyone.
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. It is always unfortunate when a guest feels we have not adequately taken care of them. We work very hard to ensure all wedding events that we have held here over the past 15 years are wonderful and without any unpleasant incidents, and only a couple over the years have not lived up to that goal. We don’t normally respond to reviews in a defensive way, but we feel we have been so seriously and unfairly maligned that we felt it important to clarify what happened for future guests to consider. Your wedding was beautiful as we have seen from the photos. The wedding party looked as if they were having a wonderful time and the bride was absolutely gorgeous. We work very hard to create an environment that ensures a spectacular and memorable wedding at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. While doing so, we also work hard to ensure this spectacular event does not conflict with the safety and comfort of our other guests who may also be on our property at the time. Despite our best efforts, this wedding unfortunately did interrupt the comfort and safety of our guests and we took responsible steps to manage this as hospitality professionals. You said in your review that you had over 100 people lodge with us. There were only 45 guests contracted to stay with us. This of course caused a number of serious safety and security problems that we had to deal with the night of the wedding reception. You said that you contracted for an event coordinator which changed over the course of your wedding planning. We do not contract for event planning coordinators, they are complimentary. We do contract for Wedding Event managers who are onsite during all wedding events, including this event, as they occur. We acknowledge that our key Wedding Sales Manager, who had been with us for many, many years, unexpectedly went out on emergency medical leave during the planning of your wedding and ultimately never returned to work because of the medical problems. We apologize for this unexpected event, but believe we professionally and quickly replaced this person with a competent new event planning coordinator. We are not aware of anything you were sold upon, that was not delivered. We are aware of the following that was included in your signed contract that you violated during the course of your stay: You contracted for a camp fire event by the lake. Our contract, that you signed, states that we have an 11pm quiet hour to ensure that all guests get to enjoy the serenity of our property. There is also a county noise ordinance that requires quiet at this hour. Your wedding party at the lake got quite noisy and disorderly over the course of the evening with loud music being played. After 11pm, our security personnel kindly asked that you quiet down per our rules. After repeated requests, the wedding party guests refused. Indeed, they also removed our locked boats and took them out on the lake. Ultimately, we were forced to call the police authorities due to these violations of our private property when the guest would not follow the rules and our contract with them. The guests finally left the lake area at 2:30am. In 15 years, we have only had to call the authorities 3 or 4 times to help us manage uncooperative guests. It is embarrassing to us, and to the guest, and we go to great extremes to prevent this. Ultimately though, we must guard the safety, comfort and security of ALL of our guests and our property. So I ask all prospective guests to read our reviews here and make your own judgments. Call us if you have any further questions regarding our view of this unfortunate event and the accuracy of the guest’s review here.
Connie Rice's profile photo
Connie Rice
2 years ago
Love this place, so quiet and peaceful. Took my office mates there for Christmas lunch and had great food and service. Enjoyed a walk around the grounds even in winter. My husband and I have been several times for just lunch and then we decided to stay in the Inn and really liked that as well. Rooms are spacious and comfy. I recommend it for any occasion.
Michelle Prince's profile photo
Michelle Prince
a month ago
The staff is friendly, helpful and have always answered all of my questions with efficiency. I have been coming to Highland Lake for 20 years.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to see you again soon at Highland Lake Inn & Resort.
Anna Sorin
a year ago
Beautiful Place, Great food, Brides Beware I will start with the positives. Highland Lake Inn is a gorgeous place. It is nestled in the woods and truly feels like a mountain resort. The food is fabulous (at Seasons), but as a wedding venue I would urge brides who want a reliable, organized, venue to stay away. We had a multiple of problems with this venue over the course of the year we were planning our wedding. These problems ranged from 2.5 month wait on email response, to major issues with the bartenders at our wedding. If it were not for the food, the fact that our wedding guests could stay on site and the atmosphere of the place itself, I would have cancelled our contract and found a new venue. Once I started working with Crissy Walter in the last few months (She was the 3rd or 4th person assigned to help us due to people leaving), things did improve and she was a pleasure to work with, but overall working with this venue was a major headache as a bride and I would not wish that on anyone.
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent wedding at Highland Lake Inn and also, for sharing your concern with instances of lack of communication on the part of Highland Lake Inn. We were pleased that you found our facility, our grounds and our food delightful. We loved that you loved our Honeymoon Suite, The Primrose. Still, we want to share our deepest apologies for the lack of attention you experienced in the early spring before you got to our wonderful employee, Crissy. It is not our intent or our way to have anyone feel ignored by us, and we sincerely felt you were happy with your experience as we listened to your comments after the event. We take great pride in our more normal high level of service standards and are saddened you felt we did not do our best as we coordinated and communicated to you prior to your very special event. Our sales manager who was coordinating the details of your wedding suffered a serious medical emergency late last year only to find out in late February she would be unable to return to work. During the interim we filled in the coordination of your wedding with another employee who unexpectedly left us and relocated to another state. I am certain this unfortunate sequence of events was disturbing for you. This should not be your concern though. The event coordinator you were able to speak with beginning in March, quickly picked up to ensure all was well-planned and executed prior to each wedding during this spring and summer season. As you can see from our other reviews, our more normal services levels and communications are very high. We have hosted 1000’s of successful weddings here in the last 15 years where we have delighted our guests in everything we did. We intend to consistently do that going forward and will use your criticism as a gift to help us refocus our efforts.
Richard Schwartz
a year ago
I had dinner at the restaurant on Christmas Eve. It was the worst dinner I've ever had at a high scale restaurant. It was a buffet and the menu was terrible. For example the biscuit I took was stale. . Many of the things were tasteless and in edible, many of the desserts appeared to be store-bought and out of date. On the good side the soup was good and the service was good. It had an excellent setting.
Mark Burson's profile photo
Mark Burson
2 years ago
We were housed in a cabin that was, many years ago, my wife's childhood camp. Not up to my standard for accommodations, but that was not the point of staying there. The Woodward House is more to my liking! Highland Lake is a trip down memory lane for the former campers and a delightful retreat for others. Season's offers an upscaled dining experience with the local eco/environ sustainable theme. A nature lovers delight!

Stream

 
Inside the Primrose Suite. Nestled among the mountain laurels and rhododendrons, The Primrose Suite is the perfect romantic getaway. This unique suite offers a dining area, living room, and large bedroom with a whirlpool tub, dual-sided fireplace, and carved four-poster bed. The perfect space for honeymoons or just taking a weekend away for the two of you.  
1
Add a comment...
 
Valentine's day is coming! We have a fantastic Valentine's Day package to impress her with. Let her know that you still think she is the "one". Call today to make your reservation. 1-800-762-1376
1
Pranika Sharma's profile photo
 
Nice
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
11 people
Michael Oppenheim Photography's profile photo
Carol Duncan's profile photo
Hendograph Media's profile photo
Todd Johnson's profile photo
Esther Marrero's profile photo
Asheville Wedding Photographer | Gruen Photo Design's profile photo
Kim Smith's profile photo
Revival Photography's profile photo
Denise Harrelson's profile photo
 
We have a beautiful weekend ahead and the only thing missing is you!  We have several lodging packages that included dinner at Season's and a full southern breakfast each morning.  So what are you waiting for?  Come for the weekend and go home relaxed and rejuvenated. 1-800-762-1376
1
Add a comment...