Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Highland Lake Inn & Resort
Resort
12 followers|1,509,326 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
86 Lily Pad Ln Flat Rock, NC 28731
86 Lily Pad LaneUSNorth CarolinaFlat Rock28731
(828) 693-6812hlinn.com
Resort, Banquet Hall
Resort
Banquet Hall
Wedding Venue
Conference Center

What nature doesn't offer, we do.

There’s something magical about this place. You can hear it in the wind. Feel it in the breeze. Behold it in the rich panorama of color that greets one at every turn. The Native Americans recognized the soul-inspiring beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains centuries ago—calling them “the great blue hills of God.”

A Peak Experience that’s within your reach.

At Highland Lake Inn & Resort, we offer guests a wealth of amenities and options, at a one-of-a-kind value. There’s no other place in Western North Carolina quite like us—encompassing such a wide range of enticing benefits and accommodations. Poised atop 26 scenic acres in Western North Carolina, our goal is to deliver an authentic mountain experience that’s as vast and varied as these storied hills. Here is a destination that appeals to everyone: families, couples, groups, newlyweds, business leaders, and everyone in between. We are at once a retreat, and a launching point for exploration. A place to rest, and explore. A haven for relaxation, and adventure. We offer the seclusion of a tucked-away mountain setting—and the convenience and sophistication of a world-class resort. We are more than an inn. More than a place to dine. More than a typical mountain resort. We are home for whatever you seek.

Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
12 people
Kim Smith's profile photo
Denise Harrelson's profile photo
Carol Duncan's profile photo
Nea Ferreira's profile photo
Revival Photography's profile photo
Esther Marrero's profile photo
Michael Oppenheim Photography's profile photo
Asheville Wedding Photographer | Gruen Photo Design's profile photo
Hendograph Media's profile photo
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
$154
Book at Expedia.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $173 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
21 reviews
5 star
71 reviews
4 star
16 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
Rural property with an elegant inn & rustic cottage, plus a restaurant & organic garden.- Google
"The Highland Lake Inn was the perfect spot for our New Year's Eve wedding!"
"Beautiful Place, Great food, Brides Beware I will start with the positives."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Meritt Brown's profile photo
Meritt Brown
3 months ago
Highland Lake Inn hosted my wedding five years ago and it was beautiful and all my guests said it was lovely and one of the best venues they have been too. There was something for every age group, and the staff was helpful and knowledge! We hope to stay there in the near future!
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you very much for the great review! We're pleased to hear that all your guests really enjoyed our venue for your wedding. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Sam Gonzalez's profile photo
Sam Gonzalez
2 months ago
Met someone there to pick up a couple dogs. The place was beautiful and seemed like a lovely place to stay.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for the review! We hope you decide to come stay with us soon!
David Digh's profile photo
David Digh
a month ago
Attended a wedding here. Beautiful location, and very good food at the reception.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for the great review! We hope you choose to stay with us in the near future!
Victor Bubuioc's profile photo
Victor Bubuioc
a year ago
Had our Wedding here, Spring 2014. Very beautiful place, but don't get fooled. Do you remember Hansel and Gretel story about a young brother and sister threatened by a cannibalistic witch living deep in the forest in a house constructed of cake and confectionery? Well this place is like the house, easy to be lured in and hard to escape. The management and staff will make you want to get married again in order to forget the poor experience. I would give anything to take it back and do it over. YOU ARE WARNED. We had over 100 people lodge with them for the wedding weekend and at the end, the management said that we are responsible for all of our guest's actions. This is not only unreasonable but complete unethical. Part of the price provides a coordinator, in the span of 5 months we went through 3 of them. Apparently the place can't retain its staff for who knows what reason... each coordinator provided us with conflicting information. When we toured the place, we were sold on things that apparently were not true and just used as a hook to get people in. When the wedding day came apparently the rules of the place have changed. But, of course it's too late... Again, this is a beautiful place, but so is most of Western NC. There are many venues that will provide similar environment minus the hustle of management that will make your wedding day a day you will want to forget. Again, you are warned!!!
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. It is always unfortunate when a guest feels we have not adequately taken care of them. We work very hard to ensure all wedding events that we have held here over the past 15 years are wonderful and without any unpleasant incidents, and only a couple over the years have not lived up to that goal. We don’t normally respond to reviews in a defensive way, but we feel we have been so seriously and unfairly maligned that we felt it important to clarify what happened for future guests to consider. Your wedding was beautiful as we have seen from the photos. The wedding party looked as if they were having a wonderful time and the bride was absolutely gorgeous. We work very hard to create an environment that ensures a spectacular and memorable wedding at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. While doing so, we also work hard to ensure this spectacular event does not conflict with the safety and comfort of our other guests who may also be on our property at the time. Despite our best efforts, this wedding unfortunately did interrupt the comfort and safety of our guests and we took responsible steps to manage this as hospitality professionals. You said in your review that you had over 100 people lodge with us. There were only 45 guests contracted to stay with us. This of course caused a number of serious safety and security problems that we had to deal with the night of the wedding reception. You said that you contracted for an event coordinator which changed over the course of your wedding planning. We do not contract for event planning coordinators, they are complimentary. We do contract for Wedding Event managers who are onsite during all wedding events, including this event, as they occur. We acknowledge that our key Wedding Sales Manager, who had been with us for many, many years, unexpectedly went out on emergency medical leave during the planning of your wedding and ultimately never returned to work because of the medical problems. We apologize for this unexpected event, but believe we professionally and quickly replaced this person with a competent new event planning coordinator. We are not aware of anything you were sold upon, that was not delivered. We are aware of the following that was included in your signed contract that you violated during the course of your stay: You contracted for a camp fire event by the lake. Our contract, that you signed, states that we have an 11pm quiet hour to ensure that all guests get to enjoy the serenity of our property. There is also a county noise ordinance that requires quiet at this hour. Your wedding party at the lake got quite noisy and disorderly over the course of the evening with loud music being played. After 11pm, our security personnel kindly asked that you quiet down per our rules. After repeated requests, the wedding party guests refused. Indeed, they also removed our locked boats and took them out on the lake. Ultimately, we were forced to call the police authorities due to these violations of our private property when the guest would not follow the rules and our contract with them. The guests finally left the lake area at 2:30am. In 15 years, we have only had to call the authorities 3 or 4 times to help us manage uncooperative guests. It is embarrassing to us, and to the guest, and we go to great extremes to prevent this. Ultimately though, we must guard the safety, comfort and security of ALL of our guests and our property. So I ask all prospective guests to read our reviews here and make your own judgments. Call us if you have any further questions regarding our view of this unfortunate event and the accuracy of the guest’s review here.
Chris Wagner's profile photo
Chris Wagner
4 months ago
Quiet with great service. The room and grounds are clean. Woodward house suite with various comforts, a hottub and fire place in the room. Convenient to Asheville and surrounding areas. Great coffee shop and bakery in Flat Rock.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you very much for the great review! We're pleased to hear you had a great stay and we look forward to having you back soon!
Joshua Dover's profile photo
Joshua Dover
3 months ago
Can only rate the restaurant: the view was lovely, the service exceptional, & the food was indescribably amazing.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hi Joshua, Thank you for the great rating! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed Season's and we hope to have you back soon!
Amie Highum's profile photo
Amie Highum
a year ago
The Highland Lake Inn was the perfect spot for our New Year's Eve wedding! The staff was wonderful to work with, the accommodations were clean and very comfortable. Everyone had a fantastic time. Being able to have our out of town wedding guests stay in the lodge, Woodward House and cabins was great! The food was amazing and we can't say enough about the staff. Thank you SO much for such an amazing event and for helping us make our special day perfect!
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thank you for choosing Highland Lake Inn & Resort and Season's at Highland Lake for your special day. We are so pleased to have been the place that allowed you the fantastic time and your guests to be well taken care of. Our hope for you to have a wonderful and blessed life as one! Thank you again for allowing us to be your special place. We hope to see you for your anniversary in 2016.
Anna Crollman's profile photo
Anna Crollman
a year ago
Beautiful Place, Great food, Brides Beware I will start with the positives. Highland Lake Inn is a gorgeous place. It is nestled in the woods and truly feels like a mountain resort. The food is fabulous (at Seasons), but as a wedding venue I would urge brides who want a reliable, organized, venue to stay away. We had a multiple of problems with this venue over the course of the year we were planning our wedding. These problems ranged from 2.5 month wait on email response, to major issues with the bartenders at our wedding. If it were not for the food, the fact that our wedding guests could stay on site and the atmosphere of the place itself, I would have cancelled our contract and found a new venue. Once I started working with Crissy Walter in the last few months (She was the 3rd or 4th person assigned to help us due to people leaving), things did improve and she was a pleasure to work with, but overall working with this venue was a major headache as a bride and I would not wish that on anyone.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent wedding at Highland Lake Inn and also, for sharing your concern with instances of lack of communication on the part of Highland Lake Inn. We were pleased that you found our facility, our grounds and our food delightful. We loved that you loved our Honeymoon Suite, The Primrose. Still, we want to share our deepest apologies for the lack of attention you experienced in the early spring before you got to our wonderful employee, Crissy. It is not our intent or our way to have anyone feel ignored by us, and we sincerely felt you were happy with your experience as we listened to your comments after the event. We take great pride in our more normal high level of service standards and are saddened you felt we did not do our best as we coordinated and communicated to you prior to your very special event. Our sales manager who was coordinating the details of your wedding suffered a serious medical emergency late last year only to find out in late February she would be unable to return to work. During the interim we filled in the coordination of your wedding with another employee who unexpectedly left us and relocated to another state. I am certain this unfortunate sequence of events was disturbing for you. This should not be your concern though. The event coordinator you were able to speak with beginning in March, quickly picked up to ensure all was well-planned and executed prior to each wedding during this spring and summer season. As you can see from our other reviews, our more normal services levels and communications are very high. We have hosted 1000’s of successful weddings here in the last 15 years where we have delighted our guests in everything we did. We intend to consistently do that going forward and will use your criticism as a gift to help us refocus our efforts.

Stream

 
Summer Kickoff Specials

Join us in kicking off the summer this Memorial Day Weekend with these special offers! In honor of Memorial Day we are offering 15% off your stay for two nights or 20% off for 3 or more nights on Memorial Day Weekend!

Can’t stay that weekend? No problem. Stay any other weekend in May and receive 15% off!

Mention our Summer Kickoff Specials before April 25th to receive your discount. A full breakfast is included each morning of your stay at Season’s Restaurant. Not valid for Historic Cottages or existing reservations and cannot be combined with any other specials. This offer is only available until April 25th, so don’t wait! Call us today at 800-762-1376 for reservations.
1
Add a comment...
 
"Today, Tomorrow and Always..."

Celebrate this Valentine's Day with that Special Someone and choose between two wonderful packages.

http://hlinn.com/lodging/special-packages/
1
Add a comment...
 
Inside the Primrose Suite. Nestled among the mountain laurels and rhododendrons, The Primrose Suite is the perfect romantic getaway. This unique suite offers a dining area, living room, and large bedroom with a whirlpool tub, dual-sided fireplace, and carved four-poster bed. The perfect space for honeymoons or just taking a weekend away for the two of you.  
1
Add a comment...
 
Valentine's day is coming! We have a fantastic Valentine's Day package to impress her with. Let her know that you still think she is the "one". Call today to make your reservation. 1-800-762-1376
1
Pranika Sharma's profile photo
 
Nice
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
12 people
Kim Smith's profile photo
Denise Harrelson's profile photo
Carol Duncan's profile photo
Nea Ferreira's profile photo
Revival Photography's profile photo
Esther Marrero's profile photo
Michael Oppenheim Photography's profile photo
Asheville Wedding Photographer | Gruen Photo Design's profile photo
Hendograph Media's profile photo
 
It's that time again - our newly surfaced pool is opening for the season on Memorial Day Weekend!  Our 2016 pool season will open on Friday, May 27th and close on Labor Day, September 5th. With school ending and those long summer afternoons ahead there is no better way to make smiles appear than to jump right in with a pool membership. Call us now at 828-693-6812 and secure your 2016 HLI Pool Membership! Mention this email on or before April 15th and receive 10% off on your membership. Don't wait, this is a limited offer so get yours today!
1
Add a comment...
 
Have you completed all of your Christmas shopping yet? If you're like us...the fact that Christmas is just three weeks away is shocking! But you're in luck because we have the most perfect, easy, stocking stuffer to add to your list...a gift certificate!

Give us a call and order one for your friend or loved one today! (or hey, even a Christmas gift for yourself...you deserve it!)

(828) 693-6812 or (866) 303-9615
1
Add a comment...
 
We have a beautiful weekend ahead and the only thing missing is you!  We have several lodging packages that included dinner at Season's and a full southern breakfast each morning.  So what are you waiting for?  Come for the weekend and go home relaxed and rejuvenated. 1-800-762-1376
1
Add a comment...