Profile

Cover photo
Heather Truett
Attended AUM
Lives in Mississippi
232 followers|330,231 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Currently: The Time for Comfort
Current Books : I started Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett today, and I just finished a compilation of his nonfiction, A Slip of the Keyboard , on audio. Yesterday I plowed through The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han and over the weekend, while sick, I re...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Cover Reveal: MACHINATIONS
Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a
chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in
the battle for humanity’s survival. The machines have risen, but not out
of malice. They we...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Currently: January, Your Third Most Common Month for Madness
Current Books : I'm reading Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert with my morning coffee and Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan the rest of the time. In the car, I'm playing Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Current Pla...
Current Books: I'm reading Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert with my morning coffee and Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan the rest of the time. In the car, I'm playing Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Be...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
10 books in 2015
I have the most trouble narrowing down over 100 books into a list of the top ten, or even the top twenty. So I'm not going to. Instead, I am going to pick ten books I have something to say about. Ten books that made me think or made me dream or made me angr...
I have the most trouble narrowing down over 100 books into a list of the top ten, or even the top twenty. So I'm not going to. Instead, I am going to pick ten books I have something to say about. Ten books that made me think ...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
An Excerpt from Thief of Lies!
Title : Thief of Lies (Library Jumpers, #1) Release date : 1/5/16 Author : Brenda Drake About the book: Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, suddenly disappears. While e...
Title: Thief of Lies (Library Jumpers, #1) Release date: 1/5/16 Author: Brenda Drake About the book: Gia Kearns would rather fight with boys than kiss them. That is, until Arik, a leather clad hottie in the Boston Athenaeum, ...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Currently: the Name of that Moment
Current Books : I was sick over Thanksgiving, so I spent hours and hours curled up in a recliner at my in-laws' house, reading. I finished On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, and reread To Kill a Mockingbird (something I planned to do all year) and th...
Current Books: I was sick over Thanksgiving, so I spent hours and hours curled up in a recliner at my in-laws' house, reading. I finished On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, and reread To Kill a Mockingbird (something I...
1
Add a comment...
In her circles
212 people
Have her in circles
232 people
Carrie Van Hoose's profile photo
Gayle Truett's profile photo
Tasos Anastasakis's profile photo
Re/Max Island Realty: Fred Newton's profile photo
Sistersn Cloth's profile photo
Marisa Gary's profile photo
Re/Max Advanced Realty: Lisa Richart's profile photo
LaRue Owen's profile photo
Ben Brown's profile photo

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
My Father is Terry Pratchett
I don't mean that Terry Pratchett is my father. I'm 99.9% certain my mother never laid eyes on the man, let alone created a child with him. But my daddy IS Terry in so many ways. When I think of my father, I think of him holding a Discworld novel. Probably,...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
No Jeans. How Sad.
I had to go shopping yesterday. I am about to start substitute teaching, and my typical wardrobe doesn't fit the bill. Apparently, tees with book covers and sarcasm don't scream, "I am a grown-up and you will respect me." Who knew? Also, no jeans. I am bere...
I had to go shopping yesterday. I am about to start substitute teaching, and my typical wardrobe doesn't fit the bill. Apparently, tees with book covers and sarcasm don't scream, "I am a grown-up and you will respect me." Who...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
And I Read... 2015
In January... I turned 33. I played way too much Candy Crush. Haydn attended his first D-Now at church. David had his best friend over to spend the night. We packed meals for Stop Hunger Now. We went ice skating with FUMC Tupelo. Haydn went on Confirmation ...
In January... I turned 33. I played way too much Candy Crush. Haydn attended his first D-Now at church. David had his best friend over to spend the night. We packed meals for Stop Hunger Now. We went ice skating with FUMC Tup...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
2016: The Year of Daring
My word for 2015 was "Dream" You can read about that here , but the general explanation is that I thought the word was a noun, that 2015 would be a year about dreams. In a way, it was, but as I sit here at the end of December, I believe the word was always ...
My word for 2015 was "Dream" You can read about that here, but the general explanation is that I thought the word was a noun, that 2015 would be a year about dreams. In a way, it was, but as I sit here at the end of December,...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Big Things. Little Things. Heavy Things.
I don't blog here like I used to. I think I got too focused on every post being some publication-worthy essay that could change the world. But you know what I always loved about blogging? I loved coming here and spilling out all of the things on my heart an...
1
Add a comment...

Heather Truett

Shared publicly  - 
 
Stained Glass Prayers
I don't share fiction here often, but I am taking a class through Iowa Writers Workshop, and I am really enjoying the exercises.  Here is the piece I wrote for Lesson 6 (Immersion in Setting). God, I miss her. It's only been a few days. I haven't decided wh...
I don't share fiction here often, but I am taking a class through Iowa Writers Workshop, and I am really enjoying the exercises. Here is the piece I wrote for Lesson 6 (Immersion in Setting). God, I miss her. It's only bee...
1
Add a comment...
People
In her circles
212 people
Have her in circles
232 people
Carrie Van Hoose's profile photo
Gayle Truett's profile photo
Tasos Anastasakis's profile photo
Re/Max Island Realty: Fred Newton's profile photo
Sistersn Cloth's profile photo
Marisa Gary's profile photo
Re/Max Advanced Realty: Lisa Richart's profile photo
LaRue Owen's profile photo
Ben Brown's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Writer
Employment
  • Author, present
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Mississippi
Previously
South Carolina - KY, SC, AL, MS
Story
Tagline
Good at stories, bad at tag lines
Introduction
In second grade, I was supposed to rewrite a fairy tale. We were assigned three pages. I wrote seventeen. When I was eleven, I wrote a story about alien girls with bright colored skin and hair. My best friend and I dressed as these imaginary extraterrestrials for a Halloween party. At thirteen, I wrote a 247-page novel in which all of my friends told me what they wanted to happen to their characters. In hindsight, it is disturbing how many of them died. In eighth grade, I read Rebecca and wrote my own sequel. That's as close as I've ever come to fan-fiction. 

I've been writing and publishing in some form since I was 16, when I had a poem in a small lit journal in South Carolina and another in one of the Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul books. I write what scares and angers me, leading to a novel about tornadoes and homelessness and mental illness, among other projects. 

I drink Sweet Cream in my coffee. My DVR is set to record The Mindy Project, Grey’s Anatomy, and Parenthood. My best friend was a college athlete, but I lack all coordination and don't do sweat. I home schooled for 3 1/2 years. I have a serious chapstick addiction, a history of purple/blue/green hair styles, a tattoo on my left ankle, a whole solar system of freckles, and I may or may not spend and inordinate amount of time trying to convince my kids I am a Time Lady from Gallifrey.
Education
  • AUM
  • Midlands Tech
Basic Information
Gender
Female
Relationship
Married
Other names
VanHoose