Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Google Fiber Space
Telecommunications
Today Closed
67 followers|1,060,201 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Google Fiber Space

Shared publicly  - 
 
1814 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
67 people
Samantha Minyard's profile photo
Jiei Kusuhara (LavP)'s profile photo
Cassie Sutherland's profile photo
ramesh Modeya's profile photo
Frank Mittin's profile photo
Brien Hall's profile photo
Greg Sims's profile photo
Cody “Talley” Doolittle's profile photo
Olkeri Matasia's profile photo
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1814 Westport Rd Kansas City, MO 64111
1814 Westport RoadUSMissouriKansas City64111
(866) 777-7550fiber.google.com
TelecommunicationsToday Closed
Monday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmTuesday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmWednesday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmThursday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmFriday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmSaturday 10:00 am – 7:00 pmSunday Closed
Google Fiber Service Center
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.4
41 reviews
5 star
20 reviews
4 star
4 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
11 reviews
"Two fantastic Google Fiber employees were extremely friendly and knowledgeable."
7 reviewers
"What's important is your ping time, and Google fiber was very sporadic on this."
4 reviewers
"This message has been a good time for the Google fiber if you like to see."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
67 people
Samantha Minyard's profile photo
Jiei Kusuhara (LavP)'s profile photo
Cassie Sutherland's profile photo
ramesh Modeya's profile photo
Frank Mittin's profile photo
Brien Hall's profile photo
Greg Sims's profile photo
Cody “Talley” Doolittle's profile photo
Olkeri Matasia's profile photo
All reviews
Marilyn Hilton
3 weeks ago
I live in Brighton Woods South townhomes and I signed up for google in June and am in the Charleston Harbor fiberhood. Brighton Woods North Townhomes are in the Maple Woods fiberhood. We are both part of the same Home Owners Association but the North has google and the South does not. I have called once a month since I received a $10 refund from my original sign up. We were told that the HOA would not give permission to allow google into South but they did not give permission for the North installation. Also we were told we had landlords but I own my own home. Then we were told we need a Right of Entry (ROE) or permission because our street was private I live at 8117 N Lawn Avenue and we are a public street and part of Kansas City Mo. Both north and south have a zip code of 64119. I requested that someone come out to look at the construction of both neighborhoods. But I was told they would or could not do this. We see Google trucks in the North all the time. They were built by the same builder. It appears to be a form of discrimination that North neighborhood gets Google and the South part does. not. Curry Management contacted you( now First Service Residential) contacted you and told you they had nothing to do with cable installation. I originally received a letter telling me that we had enough neighbors to have a fiberhood. It is very frustrating that we have had so much trouble. I do not like Time Warner (it is the most hated company in the U.S. and was very excited about Google coming, now me and my neighbors are very upset about the way we have been treated. Please respond to this e-mail. The notes from my calls are numberous and to no avail. Do I need to talk to a corporate executive concerning these matters. Please advise.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hi Marilyn, Thank you for reaching out, sorry to hear about your frustration with this sign up delay. Please note that even when a property is located on a public street if reaching it requires from our construction teams to enter or cross a private street, a ROE is still required. Rest assured we are doing everything we can to bring Fiber to your address. We are aware of the issue and I have identified the records of your previous contacts to our support teams about it. We will be reaching out to you with an email update as soon as your address evaluation is completed. I appreciate your patience in the meantime. Kind regards Nodas, The Google Fiber team
Gordan Rak's profile photo
Gordan Rak
a month ago
Absolutely and utterly disappointed in every single way. I was told August 2013 that October 2013 I'd get Google fiber. I called in October and was told November, called in November told January, called twice in January and told end of January and then March, and finally middle of April I got Google fiber to only find out you're forced to use their crappy router and the stupid little box wouldn't even let me use my corporate VPNs for when I need to work from home or in cases of emergency. That's not okay in my role at work. I put off getting other services because I was continually assured "next week" or "in two weeks" which I'm sure others have had to deal with. Finally after I got the stupid router working properly (my technician set it up incorrectly for VPN use) I'm getting ready to move to another location that already has Google fiber installed, only to be told that they have no available technicians to install my router (what? Plug a new box in? My grandmother can do that) so I have to wait an UNKNOWN amount of time to get service. This is technically a loss of service! They should have been more explicit in saying they don't know how long I'll be without Internet so I can make other arrangements! I am extremely disappointed with the entire process. Transfer of service is a standard provided by every other telecom company I have ever known! I should know, I used to work for one. I do have to say that the people I dealt with were generally friendly and easy to communicate with, but the service manager I spoke with seemed to have an attitude of "Oh well, we can't do anything." The Internet itself is really a gimmick. Yes the speeds were very high, but who gives a crap about speed when you're always limited by servers on the other end anyway. Just so everyone is aware, for 1080p streaming netflix recommends you have a 5 mbps connection. For gaming you need far less because you only transfer pointer locations and small packets relating speed, position, and acceleration. Rendering is done locally. What's important is your ping time, and Google fiber was very sporadic on this. Some days I'd have low ping times of 45k. Other times I'd have ping times of 200ms and up! Anything above 120ms will have some lag, 160 and up is unacceptable. Do not trust a gimmick. Give it a try, and maybe you'll have a better experience, but don't fall for the hype because they are too large of a company to care about you.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for your response Gordan. It is disappointing that you experienced so much miscommunication before your original installation. We strive to communicate realistic time frames as much as possible but it seems some inaccurate assumptions were given to you. Thank you for that feedback. We understand that is also frustrating to wait for installation at your new residence. Do know that we are working hard to get our installation schedule back to normal after heavy demand during the holidays. You are welcome to visit us at the Google Fiber Space to speak with or leave your information for a supervisor about this; we will help get you installed as soon as possible. We are glad to hear your VPN issues were resolved at your old address with some network setting changes. Do be aware during your new installation, the same ports or setting adjustments will have to be completed again. Please have any of your company's connection requirements ready for the technician to help you out with that during your appointment, as every company's requirements are different. Additionally, feel free to contact us about the ping/lag issues you are experiencing. As you can imagine there are a lot of our customers and our employees that utilize our service for gaming and have a great experience. You may be experiencing an intermittent issue that we would be happy to look into and may be able to resolve. Visit us at the Google Fiber Space at 1814 Westport Rd. Kansas City, MO 64111 or you may call our customer support line 866-777-7550. Again, thank you very much for your feedback.
Ali Ebright's profile photo
Ali Ebright
a month ago
Our experience with Google Fiber in the River Market has been pretty disappointed. There have been consistent outages (usually lasting for an average of 24 hours), and during those outages we hear absolutely nothing from Google Fiber. And for the company that practically runs the internet (and ironically owns Gmail), that has been pretty disappointing not to even receive an email with an estimated time that the outage will be repaired. Occasionally we will receive an apology email 2 weeks later. But for people like me who are self-employed and whose business cannot run without the internet, their customer service has been pretty disappointing.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
We appreciate the response Ali, sorry to hear you have had such up and down service in your area. While it is difficult to be without internet for anyone, its even harder for those that work from home. We have seen a number of power outages and utility strikes in the area during the recent months, we cannot say they have been the only contributing factor. We are happy to look into your particular account and equipment to see if there is anything that may be misbehaving and causing some of these service outages. Please contact us by visiting the Google Fiber Space or by phone 866-777-7550. We want you to have a great experience with our product and keep the up time of your connection as high as we can. Thanks again.
Kassandra Meyer's profile photo
Kassandra Meyer
3 months ago
I was so excited to get GF, however was very upset. The internet speeds were nowhere near close to what they claimed, even with a wired connection. I would try to play a game on my laptop online or even on my PS3, lagged horribly...didn't have that problem with TWC. They stated I would probably need to have my fiber jack replaced literally after I had it installed a month ago. I personally don't feel the need nor have the time to schedule a monthly replacement. Just a huge let down.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for your feedback, Kassandra. It is disappointing to hear that you are not reaching the speeds that you expected. This is far from the common experience and we would love the chance to work through these troubles with you. It sounds like you may have already already contacted us at 866-777-7550 but of course you are welcome to do so again. Additionally, if you prefer to work with us in person, you may come by the Google Fiber Space and we will be happy to look into your issue.
Brad Franklin's profile photo
Brad Franklin
3 weeks ago
Google fiber rocks! It is consistently delivering 600Mbs when hard-wired, and 100Mbs wirelessly. When I'm within 20' of the Google router and using the 5 MHz wireless network, wireless is over 200Mbs. These numbers are for both uploads and downloads... amazing!! I work from home and was doing OK with 50Mbs with Time-Warner, but I'm so glad I went ahead with this. I'm done with waiting for media-rich websites, youtube videos, or large email attachments to load. Thanks, Google!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
That's fantastic feedback, so happy you're enjoying your service! Just make sure you also use it for playing as well ;) -Nodas, The Google Fiber team
Stephanie Kalahurka's profile photo
Stephanie Kalahurka
a month ago
We built a house in a Google Fiber neighborhood. The house was completed prior to the end of the sign-up date, but when we called to get service, Google could not find our house (apparently because the address had not been entered into GSPS). We were assured that we could get service, and were directed to take "evidence that we had a house at that address" to the Google Fiber space. They would not take it via e-mail, we had to physically take it in. So we pulled together our surveys, construction records and photos of the house and took them all to the Fiber Space before the end of the sign-up period for our neighborhood. The people there were very nice, took our paperwork and promised us that someone would call us about install very soon. Months passed with no call. After multiple calls to Google (LOTS of them because Google never called back within the time they promised to do so), we were finally denied sign up today, over six months following our initial request because: "Google has no record that you tried to sign up during the sign-up period." ??!!??? I'm not sure what the Fiber Space people did with our paperwork. I'm also not sure why Google "doesn't have a record" of about ten different phone conversations. I'm also confused as to why one of the dozens of little Google trucks zooming around our neighborhood, or possibly even Google Earth, could not see our 3,700 square foot house . . . . It's extremely frustrating, especially given that all but one other internet provider has now abandoned our neighborhood because Google came in (and that provider has very slow, very expensive service). Bottom line -- we are disappointed Google. Your people seem very nice, but they make a lot of promises and can't seem to follow-through.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Stephanie, Thank you for flagging this to us. I am sorry to hear about your experience. I'd like to check what happened there and see if I can do something to help. Please give me some info here: http://goo.gl/IPudVe ,the more you can share the easier it will be to track down your case. Kindly Nodas The Google Fiber team
Kim Beasley's profile photo
Kim Beasley
3 weeks ago
I admit, I'm addicted to this place. Great location for meeting and close to restuarants. They have two buildings: one for meeting and one that has a coffee shop feel to it. You can hangout in the coffee shop building and test Google Fiber while enjoying a relaxing atmosphere. It is definitely worth the visit.
John-E Boi's profile photo
John-E Boi
3 months ago
I recently moved to Kansas City and I was thrilled at the opportunity to purchase Google Fiber. Since I was starting house hunting I went to this store to find out what areas that have GF installed. When I walked in I found two young ladies typing away furiously on their Chromebooks. They were pleasant and greeted me asking how they could help. I explained that I had just moved into the area and would like to understand where all GF had been established so i could house hunt in those areas. One of the young women responded "Well, we have the website that you can type in the address and it will tell you if Google Fiber is there." I assured her that I was aware of the site, but since that's quite an ineffective way of accomplishing my goal, I again explained that since I was starting to look for a new home/area and I dont always have an address and my main goal is to only look where GF already is so I'm not wasting time looking where it isn't. I asked if they could provide a map of the areas that GF was established. Again came the response "Well, we have the website that you can type in the address and it will tell you if Google Fiber is there." So I responded saying "Right, I've tried that, but I'm looking for an all inclusive coverage map." Again came the response "Well, we have the website that you can type in the address and it will tell you if Google Fiber is there." So I tried simply asking if they could verbally tell me where it was, to which she responded "Kansas City." After a long pause, I said "Well, I guess I'll type the address into the website." and with a genuine smile and satisfaction in her voice this young lady said "and it will tell you if Google Fiber is there." I left.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for the comment John and welcome to Kansas City! I apologize that we were unable to help you to meet the goal of your visit. I understand how frustrating this was as your interaction with us was quite unhelpful. Moving is stressful enough, having an experience like this just makes it more difficult. It is surprising feedback but I appreciate you bringing it to our attention so we can address it. Feel free to let us know if there is any additional detail from your visit that may help us improve. While we do not have a particular tool that is designed for a search like this, I am happy to give some tips on what to look out for and where. One of the easiest ways to narrow your search is to look through our fiberhood map: https://fiber.google.com/cities/kansascity/ You will see that many areas in Kansas City are under construction and will be getting fiber in the future, but if you click on different areas you can then see additional detail on different fiberhoods. KC Central, MO and Kansas City, KS were our first areas and many homes are connected. As you can see there are many areas that will be getting fiber as well, if you are looking for future use. If you find an apartment, condo, or house that you are interested in, you can THEN put in that address in our search field to see its current status for fiber. For any additional questions you are welcome to call our phone support line (866-777-7550). Of course local input may be beneficial in a search like this, so If you would like to give us another opportunity to improve upon your experience at the Fiber Space, you are welcome back anytime. If I am available, I would be happy to walk you through the sign up process and areas to look for. Otherwise, I feel we have a great team here that is ready and willing to spend as much time as you need to answer the questions you have and I expect we can prove that we are hear for you if you would like to visit us again. Thank you again, Beau Customer Service Supervisor - Kansas City