Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Gold Medal Service
General Contractor
Today Open 24 hours
24 followers|663,227 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
11 Cotters Ln East Brunswick, NJ 08816
11 Cotters LaneUSNew JerseyEast Brunswick08816
(800) 553-6060goldmedalservice.com
General Contractor, Air Conditioning Contractor
General Contractor
Air Conditioning Contractor
Air Duct Cleaning Service
Contractor
Electrician
Furnace Repair Service
Heating Contractor
Plumber
Today Open 24 hours
Thursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hoursSaturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hoursMonday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hours
Google+ URL
People
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
192 reviews
5 star
132 reviews
4 star
10 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
44 reviews
"The hot water heater needed to be cleaned as well as the sensor."
"I called Gold Medal because I had two very slow drains."
"They came out this afternoon to diagnose my running toilet."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
John Clancy's profile photo
John Clancy
2 weeks ago
Your service stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Would not let you work on a dog house!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Scheduled for noon to three pm. No call until 430 pm. No updates !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Then it took until 515 pm for plumber to show!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Told initial service person/secretary that job would require a certain size unit!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Then had to wait for the parts to show up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Overall terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi John, we are terribly sorry for our timing, this is not the service we strive for. Thank you for leaving feedback, we appreciate the chance to use this as a learning experience.
Majid Dutt's profile photo
Majid Dutt
in the last week
Electrician came and gave me a quote for $800. I declined and paid the minimum $29 to diagnost the issue. Got an electrician to come out from Brooklyn. Paid for his gas, toll, lunch, service and parts all in all for $200. Got a call from Gold Metal a few days later asking how it went. Told them I declined the service because your prices are outrageous and they immediately hung up. I guess they don't like to hear from us or they are so used to hearing about their high rip off prices. These guys are rip offs. I don't know how they are still in business and i can't understand how people continue to use them.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Majid, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate your honest feedback. We are sorry for your experience on the phone, we are not sure why that would have happened but we are looking into this issue and will correct it. Thank you for the review.
Manuel Elias's profile photo
Manuel Elias
a month ago
I recently had a hvac system put in with a heat pump. What started off as a positive experience went south as soon as the contract was signed. The sales person quoted me a price that didn't include duct work based on a question I asked early in the process "what if I connected the duct work myself" they wanted $5200 to include new duct work. I did it myself all for about $500 They scheduled the first appointment on a Saturday and then never showed up. To fix this they wanted to give me a "$600" filter that I can only buy online for a $100 or from them for about $40 The techs then came the following Monday and the first thing they said "we are not connecting the duct work." Even though I knew the contract said I run duct work and they connect it to system. I said fine just put my system in and I will handle it. The techs ended up connecting it but as you can below they did a seriously horrible job. I had to do 11 connections all over. I had to disconnect and undo their shabby work and re-connect each one. They put their foot thru the ceiling in my garage. Put a crack in the ceiling in the dining room right where they were working upstairs. Stepped on the attic light switch at the top of the stairs and when you try to bend it back it pops the breaker. They had no clue how to work the thermostat and if it wasn't for me figuring out how to switch it out of heat - it wouldn't have been switched. They also hooked up the thermostat wrong and said they need to come back because they were giving the wrong coils. They removed and disconnected the vent to one of our bathrooms leaving a whole in my ceiling. I have since spoke with the service manager who came 4 days after the install to connect the coils and found they hooked up the thermostat wrong. This was on Friday June 24th. He said he is going to discuss and show the pics to his director on Monday the 27th and that someone would be contacting me by like Tuesday - Wednesday the 28th or 29th. I never heard from anyone and by Friday the 1st I figure I would just wait till after the 4th of July holiday. So as of today July 7th I have made 4 calls since Tuesday asking them if anyone plans on calling me and fixing my damages. No one has. I write this know they are all over the Internet and will more than likely get some BS response to this but trust me - they have a great marketing and sales team but their workmanship and customer service is terrible. Pictures don't lie Today is now July 19th and yesterday I finally got a call from gold medal. This was only after multiple calls to them throughout the day. The call consisted of basically their director calling me a liar. And ended with their manager asking I send him the pics of the damage and that he would call me tomorrow. It's now 5:52pm and I never got a call so I called and he has left for the day and his voicemail was full. I have no idea how these guys are in business and am very sure the owners have no clue how these guys treat their customers.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Manuel, our techs can only perform work that aligns with the contract, which is why they were not able to help you connect your ductwork. Unfortunately, once the contract is signed, our techs are bound to it. Thank you for you feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. If you would like to discuss the matter further, please call our customer service line (800) 553-6060.
Pontus Rydin's profile photo
Pontus Rydin
2 months ago
I can't say we exactly got off to a good start with Gold Medal. Our 2.5 ton Carrier system died and we had the system recharged with a dye stick. Unfortunately, it had a leak, so the recharge didn't last long. Three service visits later, a guy came to give me an estimate. First, he insisted on replacing the entire system, rather than the evaporator coil, or worst case, the air handler. The system is 12 years old, but the condenser is in good condition. The quotes for a full system replacement were in the $10,000-15,000 range, which is WAY above the national and local average. I then asked for a quote for a coil replacement, which he refused to give me. He told me to talk to the tech, which I had already done and who referred me to the sales guy. OK, so I asked about a air handler replacement. After a bit of negotiation, I got that down to about $4000, about twice the national average cost. When the sales guy noticed there was another firm driving up on my property to give me quotes, he actually went out to them and started talking to them. Apparently, he had told them "I was cheap and there was no point in talking to me". Obviously an attempt to get them to refrain from talking to me. Highly unprofessional. It was very obvious he REALLY didn't want me to get other quotes. And I soon got the reason why: I could get a comparable air handler (Carrier) installed for half the price he had quoted me. He also was very slow to leave my house when we were done talking in an obvious attempt to stall and hopefully prevent me from getting additional quotes. Seriously guys, the days of "put the foot in the door" salesmanship ended decades ago! Advice to the company: Don't try to overcharge customers. It's so easy to look up prices in today's world. By trying to squeeze some extra money out of me, you created a grumpy customer who probably won't renew his service contract. And don't give me "but our parts are much better" song and dance. I was quoted comparable equipment from reputable vendors and it all comes with a 10 year factory warranty. EDIT: Just for fun, let's do the math. A 2.5-3 ton air handler from a decent manufacturer (not the bargain brands) seem to range from $700-1000. Let's be generous and allow $1000. But you don't pay retail, so let's say $700 (you can probably get it even cheaper). The median pay for a HVAC tech is $20/hour. Add some perks to that and we have $30. The install takes about 4 hours, so that's $120 labor cost for you. You'll need about 6 lbs of Puron at about $50/lb (you can probably get it cheaper, since you buy bulk). Add a $100 allowance for screws, bits of piping, connectors and various hardware. That's 700+120+300+100=1220. That's your cost. But you want to make a little profit and cover running cost of vehicles etc.. I'm going to be generous and allow you a 100% markup. That's $2440, which happens to be in line with other quotes I got. You're adding a 300% markup. A little excessive, huh?
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Pontus, thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We are sorry that you feel that way about our pricing but we assure you that customer safety and satisfaction is our number priority. Please call our customer service if we can do anything we can do for you in the future 1 (800) 553-6060.
Yevgeniy Sidykh's profile photo
Yevgeniy Sidykh
3 months ago
The nice lady on the phone assured me that the company was capable of doing plumbing work on an upstairs bathroom and about a square foot of ceiling repair to patch a leak. When the technician arrived he not only said that he'd only do the plumbing, but that the company never did any general contracting work. Took this guy 4 hours to do something to my toilet, and then he the audacity to charge me $1600 for the job. I don't know who this company paid to give them so many positive reviews, but trust me--They are a band of thieves. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Mr. Sidykh, we understand your frustration and are investigating the situation. We take our satisfaction guarantee and upfront pricing very seriously and are looking forward to finding a resolution for you. A member of our team will be contacting you shortly. You can also call the office at (800) 553-6060 or contact us online at http://goldmedalservice.com/contact/. Thank you again!
Joey Harris's profile photo
Joey Harris
a month ago
I tell you from day one my experience with Gold Medal was extremely horrible. I had a tech come out to do a basic service and he informed me that there was mold in our hvac system. He gave us a quote for the various repairs that needed to be completed and also had scheduled a comfort advisor to come to my house and give me a quote for replacing the entire system. The gentlemen Nathan Fuchs came out to our home and really had no clue why he was here. After we explained to him and showed him the paperwork from the service tech all he wanted to do was quote me to replace the condenser. I explained to him that we were told he was there to quote us on replacing the entire system. After we sat down and figured everything we wanted to do out,( we also had a tankless water heater installed) we were told the price and agreed to finance the operation. After getting all the documents for the service loan and everything signed and accepted, we got a phone call the next day from the accounting manager Nicole saying that the financing was not approved. Apparently the advisor messed up the paper work and everything had to be re run and re done to get everything scheduled. After getting that taken care off the installers showed up at my house on the scheduled day and began to perform the work. After speaking with Mike, the lead installer, my fiancè was informed that they were told to come install the systems and that they didn't have any of the extra stuff (uv light to prevent mold and a couple other things ) and weren't aware of it. They finished up and left for the day. My fiancé went to do laundry and noticed that our glass dryer door was scratched and cracked. The next day they returned to finish the job. We informed Mike the lead installer about the dryer door and refused to sign the invoice til we spoke to a manager. Well I can tell you that NOBODY in that place ever calls you back. We called, left messages, it even took us calling the accounting manager to get someone to call us back. We spoke with the installation manager Lou who came to our home to look at the job, we pointed out some things, he pointed out some things, and then we were told someone would call us the next day to speak to us about getting these things resolved. Again NOBODY calls you back. After two weeks of being stonewalled by these people I called and had to raise hell and mysteriously everyone's in a meeting about my account. This is when I spoke with Joe who is apparently the director of operations. I told him what I want and he said he would take a look at pictures and let me know. ( I was quoted $1500 for duct work that didn't happen). After receiving my call back ( yes he called back that day ) we got everything settled and I was told that a permit package will be sent to me to get the permit closed out. It has been two weeks since that conversation and I still have yet to receive a package. I have had zero correspondence with them. No package, no phone calls, no nothing. The job was performed June 17-18 2016 and here we are now looking at the beginning of August 2016 and This is still going on. I do not recommend using Gold Medal. I've told friends and family they lack communication, they drag their feet, and lack competent sales people. The slogan "award winning service" on their vehicles is a sham.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Joey, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you. We are checking on your permit package and have contacted management about the problem in getting it to you. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to solve this issue as soon as possible. Edit: We checked on your permit, and this is the information that we found. The permit application is usually filed on or about the day of the install; the town has 21 Business days to review – may ask for additional information or revisions- if it is acceptable, the town will request a check; Gold Medal will send in payment and wait for receipt of the actual permit. Once received, the permit “package” together with instructions to the customer will be mailed out. Overall, with a smooth permit process, you can expect to receive the permit package approximately 45 days after the job is completed. It would appear that you are still well within that time period.
Nancy Santa Lucia's profile photo
Nancy Santa Lucia
a month ago
Good afternoon. My husband and I realized we did not have hot water on Sunday, July 3,2016. Wonderful, a holiday weekend, but what can you do. I called Gold Medal on Tuesday morning and set up an appointment for that afternoon. The woman on the phone was very polite (although I hate scripted conversations; ie: Oh thank you so much for this and that and we are so sorry....every conversation. But she was pleasant.) Mike, the repair man was very prompt when he called to say he would be there shortly. Our problem was the pilot on our hot water heater would stay lit as long as you didn't push the knob to "flow", then it would go off. This water heater was purchased in 2009-1010. We were quoted $900.00 to fix it or $2,500.00 to replace it. The water heater cost approximatel $450.00. I'm sorry, I believe that people should make money in this country; but that was ridiculous. I contacted two other plumbers for additional estimates. One was $90.00 and the other $125.00. The hot water heater needed to be cleaned as well as the sensor. So, $89.00 instead of $900.00. I am speechless. On a positive note, their fee to come out to your home is $29.00, which is very reasonable.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Nancy, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all feedback is very important to us. We understand your frustration and are sorry that our prices were not what you expected. Again, thank you for leaving us feedback, and we hope you consider us for future projects.
Ray Nazzaro's profile photo
Ray Nazzaro
2 months ago
Dishonest contractor. My outdoor hose bib was dripping water when the valve was turned on. Gold Medal said I needed as much as $3493.00 + tax worth of repairs to fix it but offered me a 15% discount if I bought an annual service plan. What a bunch of thieves! My neighbor later came over with a wrench, tightened the packing nut on the valve and it stopped dripping. It took him less than 30 seconds. Gold Medal is clearly committing acts of fraud against an unsuspecting public. People who have been cheated by Gold Medal should organize and see an attorney. ================== Addendum Gold Medal responded to my original complaint which you can read below. Here is my response to that Gold Medal reply: ================== What a foolish response that further proves your dishonesty. Let's make sure that Gold Medal rip-off victims understand the facts. To fix the problem, which was a simple leaky outdoor hose valve, your plumber wrote in his official Gold Medal estimate that the outdoor valve must be replaced for $768. But he could not do the job for $768 because it was also necessary to cut an 8" square hole in the interior wallboard. This extra "investment" is $393 so the absolute minimum to fix this leaky hose bib is $768+393 for a total of $1161 + tax. And just to be clear, $393 to cut a hole in my basement ceiling is just to cut the hole, not to patch it up or repaint it. So, at the very least, we have an $1163 bill and an 8 inch square hole in the ceiling for a job that only required a simple 30 second tightening of the valve nut. But that's only part 1 of the Gold Medal Fraud triple-play because $1161 is the minimum "If-I'm a Lucky Cheapskate" price. Your little fraudster plumber said he would have to shut off the main water valve which, in 30 year old homes, is frequently unreliable. He wrote in the official Gold Medal estimate that I should be prepared to "invest" another $1251 for a new main shut off valve. There is absolutely no reason to shut off the whole-house water valve since there is another shut off valve, 10 years old and 10 feet away in the unfinished part of the basement. There is also no reason to presume that either the old valve or the newer one would malfunction yet your little thief said I should be prepared to spend another $1251. And while he was at it the pressure reducing valve should also be replaced for another "investment" of $1082. So, for a leaky outdoor hose bib, that my neighbor fixed in 30 seconds, your official Gold Medal estimate demands a minimum of $1163 but only if I'm a cheapskate and it's my lucky day. The actual recommended "investment" is $768+393+1251+1082 + 7% tax totaling $3738.58. Wow! And given your stupid response you would have readers think that $1163.00, the minimum repair price, is "in the hundreds" and $3738.58 is, again in your words, "a couple thousand." I would also point out that your little crook-in-training never turned the water on anywhere in my home or connected a pressure gauge or did ANYTHING that could remotely be considered as plumbing. So thank you for your foolish response and now I guess I should repay you by taking it up a notch. I have contacted the NJ State Attorney General, the BBB, Consumer Affairs and I will contact Costco who I believe may still use your company for Air Conditioning installations. Happy? And if you continue to be the idiots that you appear to be I will create a website and devote it just to Gold Medal rip-off scams. How does that sound? And to think that a simple apology would have worked.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Mr. Nazzaro, we hate that this is the impression you were left with, so we looked into your service visit. It appears we did give you an option sheet with different options to fix your issue ranging from the hundreds to a couple thousand, your estimate above looks like you added them together. To be clear, the options are not reliant on one another, and you can always choose to have us perform some options without others. Our technician also gave estimates based on your request about your lack of good water pressure. That work included opening a wall as your finished basement was sheetrock as we had no access point. We are happy your neighbor could help you out with your leak, tightening the packing nut is not something we typically do because we can't guarantee that it will work or fix any additional issues causing the leak. If you have any more questions, you may call our customer service line at 1 (800) 553-6060.

Stream

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Wondering about CFL light bulbs? We found some helpful information for you to make an informed decision! #energy #energyefficiency http://blog.homedepot.com/make-the-switch-to-energy-efficient-cfl-light-bulbs-at-home-depot/
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Did you know that you could save 5-30% on your energy bill by making efficient changes found in a home energy audit? #energyaudit
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Is your home too humid or too dry? Learn how to attain ideal indoor ‪#‎humidity‬ levels by following these steps. ✅
Learn how to control indoor humidity levels at home to improve IAQ and prevent moisture damage. Ideal humidity is around 45%, or at least between 30 and 60%
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Your bathroom doesn't have to be boring or outdated, check out this Tuesday's #remodel inspiration! #beforeandafter #Transformationtuesday
Get inspired to make over your bathroom with these gorgeous before and after photos and simple, clever tips.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
The more our AC works, the more you need to clean it, here's how! #howto
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
It's the heart of summer, instead of cranking up the AC, try staying cool the old fashion way with these tips! #summertime #staycool
Read our guide to learn ventilation know-how that can go a long way towards keeping you cool and saving money on energy bills.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
If you are planning a barbecue or outdoor gathering this weekend, go over these safety tips and tricks first. ✅
Summer's full of outdoor barbecues, parties and activities. Learn outdoor electrical safety for children & adults to enjoy the outdoors while staying safe.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
“Creating a space within a space makes it seem larger because it gives you a separate experience,” says Joy Diaz, chief marketing officer at Land Care Inc. #diy
These backyard ideas from HouseLogic will help make the most of your small space. Use outdoor mirrors and other tricks to make a small space look bigger.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
August is National #WaterQuality Month! Learn how to keep water clean and safe for your family and community. 💧
NJ's trusted plumbing and home service company, Gold Medal Service, shares 5 tips for improving the water quality for your home, family, and community.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Find out why testing your water is so important. It's #NationalWaterQualityMonth  and we're reminding you to check your water quality and understand the toxins that may be in it.
The Harvard University study, published on Tuesday, warns the figures are likely woeful underestimates, since data does not account for a third of the US - around 100 million people.
1
Add a comment...

Gold Medal Service

Shared publicly  - 
 
Go over outdoor electrical safety tips with your family this summer. ✅
Summer's full of outdoor barbecues, parties and activities. Learn outdoor electrical safety for children & adults to enjoy the outdoors while staying safe.
1
Add a comment...