Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Game Over Videogames
Video Game Store
Today 10AM–9PM
17 followers|744,283 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

Game Over Videogames

Shared publicly  - 
 
Park North Shopping Center, 602 NW Loop 410 #111, San Antonio, TX 78216
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
Park North Shopping Center 602 NW Loop 410 #111 San Antonio, TX 78216
602 Northwest Loop 410 #111USTexasSan Antonio78216
Video Game StoreToday 10AM–9PM
Wednesday 10AM–9PMThursday 10AM–9PMFriday 10AM–9PMSaturday 10AM–9PMSunday 12–7PMMonday 10AM–9PMTuesday 10AM–9PM
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
3.7
56 reviews
5 star
23 reviews
4 star
15 reviews
3 star
5 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
10 reviews
"Great staff and selection, Love the retro atmosphere."
"Give me a PLASTIC BAG to place all my overpriced vintage games in."
"No my main problem with this store was the service."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Nathan Huth's profile photo
Nathan Huth
a month ago
Decent selection of modern and retro games. Some of their prices can be a bit high. You can find lower prices elsewhere if you shop around. Trade-in values LOW. Friendly staff, they have no problem going out of their way to make sure you leave satisfied. They have buffed every used game I purchased through them for no extra charge.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks for the review. Customer service is a top priority so we're happy to see you've had good experiences. We hope you come back soon. Happy gaming.
Jashua Saunders's profile photo
Jashua Saunders
a month ago
They've got more than the other location. But the other location has stuff they don't have. They're both great.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for the review. We hope to see you back at both stores soon. Happy gaming.
Fred Johnson's profile photo
Fred Johnson
4 months ago
Bought two products from this store. After everything the transaction was complete, only then was I told about their warranty return policy. Turns out they were both defective and now I'm left with two non-working products where I only have the choice for store credit or exchanging them for the same similar terrible products. They acknowledged that they were broken and defective. Why would I go back to a place that does shady practices and want to get the same products that are known to be defective? Why would I give this store my business after being deceived? Awesome business practices, should be reported to the BBB.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
We appreciate your feedback and we understand your frustration. Our 14-day defective return policy states that we will exchange defective items with the same item or issue store credit if a like item is not in stock within 14 days of purchase. If you're unsatisfied with your experience please bring in the defective items and we can issue store credit. Our store credits are valid at any location and never expire or incur any fees/charges, so you’re welcome to use them at any time and any location. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Chris's profile photo
Chris
7 months ago
When it was around December 2015, I was yearning for a Playstation 2. I loved the classic games that were on there. When I found out that my Gamestop never even had PS2 in the store, I was recommended to look at Game Over. When I went, I realized that they did have a PS2, but it was quite pricey, so I had to let it go to someone else. I managed to get the PS2 online, and decided to go sell some games I don't play anymore to go into getting a controller and some PS2 games. GameOver has a pretty great trade system, and I felt that I was given the right amount of money for the games I traded in. Gamestop would have gave me about $10 for the games I traded in at Gameover, who gave me $40. If anyone likes vintage consoles, classics, or just looking to buy new games cheaper, this is the place to be. Although some things can be pricey, you have to realize that most of the things they sell are rare, vintage. In about 20 years, a Playstation 4 would probably be considered vintage, and be considered 'expensive'. Anyways, this store is awesome.
• • •
Warren Taylor's profile photo
Warren Taylor
4 months ago
Just like the other issues essentially when it comes to warranties. Bought two Gamecube controllers from Mike, and he described the 14 day warranty return policy. We used the controllers and while playing the controllers where defective (the L button would get stuck on both). We brought them back into the store today for our warranty refund and Rick (the manager supposedly) says, "sorry, we don't do any refunds for anything but you can switch them out for others or get store credit" and then continues to get into a verbal argument with me saying, "hey brother, you signed, not our fault". What was described to us by Mike was completely different than what was on the receipt, but I guess this is a business where if you sign for it, no matter what lie was told, it's the customer's responsibility and fault. Well played, I hope that $30 you made off of this was worth any future sales from myself, friends, and basically anyone I can tell. Congratulations on your great success.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
We appreciate your feedback and we understand your frustration. Unfortunately, Game Over Videogames does not give cash refunds for returns. Our 14-day defective return policy states that we will exchange defective items with the same item or issue store credit if a like item is not in stock within 14 days of purchase. Our associate explained that the two defective controllers would be exchanged and even offered to test the replacement controllers for further peace of mind. This seemed satisfactory with the person in the store exchanging the items, but the person on the phone was not satisfied so our associate issued store credit for the full purchase price. Our store credits are valid at any location and never expire or incur any fees/charges, so you’re welcome to use them at any time and any location. We're very sorry for the misunderstanding, and we hope this clears up our policy. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!
Matthew Gunn's profile photo
Matthew Gunn
5 months ago
Wide variety of games and systems. However its way too pricey. The price for just the disc for Breath of Fire III was the priced at the value of the game complete... Many of the games are on higher shelves and it's impossible to see what titles are up there. If you do decide to fork over big cash because of a hard to find game, there are no Refunds. If the game doesnt work, You can only get instore credit. Buy at your own risk, but honestly you're better off with eBay where the prices are fair, and most of the time you can get a return if it doesn't work. Pros: Wide selection Neat museum Friendly staff Cons: Overpriced No cash Refunds Inaccessible Products
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Thank you for the feedback. We do have a dedicated pricing team constantly monitoring game prices, and prices do fluctuate based on market and store inventory needs. We also personally test every game, console, and accessory, but some items may slip through the cracks. If that is the case, and an item is defective, we will gladly exchange it for the same item (if in stock) or store credit is applied. As for products being high on shelves or inaccessible, our friendly staff will be happy to assist you with retrieving things from shelves, in display cases, etc. Thanks again and happy gaming.
Tina Santos's profile photo
Tina Santos
5 months ago
I went to this location to return a defective game. The receipt states you have a 14 day defective warranty and you will get the same item if in stock or store credit. The manager did not return my item he made me play the game for over thirty minutes to recreate the error. I explained to him the error occurs in my career mode which obviously is not saved on their Xbox. I asked why this policy is not on the receipt and he said it's something they are trying to tell people. He also said for me to film the error on my cell phone and come back. When I asked for a corporate number he said they didn't have a corporate office low and behold I found the number online. My game was not returned. Do not shop at this location the service is poor and they don't honor their return policy. They have cameras in the store so if the owner reads this feel free to watch the footage.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
We're sorry for your inconvenience. Our associate attempted everything he could when you brought in the two games. One game he could not get working and he issued, and you agreed to, store credit. The second game he tested and it seemed to work properly when tested in our store. The associate only asked you to document the error since the game seemed to be working properly during his testing. Our receipts detail our return policy, and we always do our best to make sure that we only buy and sell good condition inventory, but with used games, sometimes things can occasionally slip by and/or have intermittent issues, and in those cases, we are more than happy to repair or replace items as needed within our normal store return policy. If you're still having issues with that particular game, please bring it back by and we'll gladly exchange it or offer store credit. Thank you for your feedback!
Bryan Wiegand's profile photo
Bryan Wiegand
11 months ago
Really!! Give me a PLASTIC BAG to place all my overpriced vintage games in. Bla Bla Bla...I won't go back for this reason. BS & Just plain stupid. San Antonio location with Austin laws..??? Wow you guys are saving earthf..NOT
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
Bryan, we're sorry for your inconvenience at one of our stores. Game Over Videogames has adjusted to a more environmentally-friendly business practice of not using plastic bags, and we've transitioned to cloth bags recently. Typically, the average customer only purchases just a few games or small items and bags are not necessary. We have boxes for larger purchases, and our employees will gladly help any customer take items to their vehicle. Thank you for your feedback.