Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Fresh First
Gluten-Free Restaurant
Today 8AM–3PM
2 followers|1,061,471 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1637 SE 17th St Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
1637 Southeast 17th StreetUSFloridaFort Lauderdale33316
(954) 763-3344freshfirst.com
Gluten-Free Restaurant, Bakery
Gluten-Free Restaurant
Bakery
Breakfast Restaurant
Health Food Restaurant
Juice Shop
Takeout Restaurant
Organic Restaurant
Restaurant
Vegan Restaurant
Vegetarian Restaurant
Today 8AM–3PM
Friday 8AM–3PMSaturday 8AM–3PMSunday ClosedMonday 8AM–3PMTuesday 8AM–3PMWednesday 8AM–3PMThursday 8AM–3PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
48 reviews
5 star
33 reviews
4 star
8 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
Relaxed eatery dishes up a range of organic, gluten-free breakfast & lunch fare, smoothies & juices.- Google
"Awesome menu, great service, wonderful atmosphere."
"Food portions were very small, bland, and overpriced."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Anna Lou Hathaway's profile photo
Anna Lou Hathaway
in the last week
My husband and I love this place!!! Food is delicious, the service is wonderful! All gluten free menu, and you can also have a lot of dairy free and vegan options. We have tried the chicken and waffle, the chicken burger, the Açaí bowl and we loved everything! We want to go back and try different options from the menu! Highly recommend it if you like to eat healthy and yummy!!!
Richard Clement's profile photo
Richard Clement
2 months ago
We are visiting from Texas and were looking for somewhere we could get real nutritious food. Fresh First was PERFECT!! The good was awesome and the staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. We decided to do a 3 day raw food cleanse and Eliana gave us all the information and worked with our busy schedule to get our meals at a convenient time for us. We highly recommend checking this place out of you care about the food you put in your body. AMAZING!!!
kev money's profile photo
kev money
2 months ago
Awesome menu, great service, wonderful atmosphere. The owner was extremely helpful and delightful! Must go; I HIGHLY recommend. To the people talking about how this restaurant is preachy and doesn't have usual menu items that you would find in a "normal" restaurant, just don't come here. If you're not interested in having organic, non-GMO food, go eat at a chain restaurant. Don't rate this amazing place with one or two stars because you didn't know what it was. Do some research before you go out. This place is unique and that is what makes it five stars. The people in there making the food actually care about you. Not just trying to take your money. So if the price is a little higher, so be it. You can't put a price on the love that goes into the food here. Being newly vegan, I would like to thank the owners and apologize for the "sheep" who don't appreciate the love and effort you've put into this place. Don't change anything!
• • •
Niko kalo's profile photo
Niko kalo
3 weeks ago
We are visiting from Denver and let me tell you food here was amazing true to their name healthy and organic food tastes amazing best chicken and waffles I've ever had great service Clean restaurant I'll definitely visit again
Robyn Reilly Chancey's profile photo
Robyn Reilly Chancey
3 weeks ago
My husband and I LOVED our meal here. The service was excellent, the people were some of the friendliest I have met in Fort Lauderdale. The food was excellent, the ingredients were fresh and healthy and were combined in a unique way. The juices were delicious. We look forward to come back again and again. I wish you were open on Sundays!
Laura Mino's profile photo
Laura Mino
a month ago
Pros: Easy to find vegetarian and vegan options that are different from the standard "alternative" meals you find at most restaurants. Good diversity on the menu, good atmosphere, open kitchen. Conscious-friendly food (or so they say, at least) with the customary price mark-up such products demand. Cons: Too pretentious for their own good. They don't serve commercial sodas, for example, and advertise that a juice cleanse can cure everything from athlete's foot to brain cancer. Neutral: They're not equipped for large groups (I went with a group of 10) so steer away from there if you're with lots of friends. Everyone that we interacted with on the staff was completely out of their element with our big boisterous party. It was impossible to hear one another, even had a hard time conversing with the guy sitting next to me, because the restaurant is all tile floors and glass walls - very echo-y. Not an issue if you're in a small group or by yourself. I had the quinoa burger which was pretty meh. There were too many conflicting flavors, like they thought, "Let's shove as many vegetables into this patty as we can" with no regard for how the flavors of those veggies would interact. Bit disappointing for $10. Others in my party were satisfied with their meals, though. The savory bun and waffle bread are unique and worthwhile. In summary: I probably wouldn't choose to go here again, but I'm not mad that I went today.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dear Laura, Thank you for dining at our restaurant and for your comments. We always like to learn different points of view and learn what we can improve on. We feel that "commercial" sodas are easy to find in every corner and because they are full of sugar, corn syrup and other ingredients that we can't pronounce, we decided to have only organic sodas that are made with 4 natural ingredients, fresh juices, smoothies, etc. In addition, we got a little confused when you mentioned that we "advertise that a juice cleanse can cure everything from athlete's foot to brain cancer"... If that was true, wouldn't be so great? Our tabletop tent simply says: "Give the give of health" and lists the food we provide with it. We are not sure where you got that idea since I am the only one who talks in details about the raw vegan cleanse, I can't recall meeting you to discuss it. If we met to talk about that, we will never say that we can cure anything. We are, however, big believers that we are in a society full of diseases partly because the way we eat. Nowadays it is easy to get more information about food, nutrition and items that our body doesn't process well everywhere, even on google. We agree with you about our size... We are a small restaurant cafe with only 14 2-top tables plus the counter seats so we encourage people to make reservations for 6 or more people so we may have the tables ready and accommodate big parties. The day you and your guests came, we were 100% full with a line at the door so we appreciate you waiting a few minutes so we could put tables together. Having said that, we know that having a small restaurant that is full becomes very noisy with everybody talking. Regarding our Quinoa Burger (quinoa patty served with sautéed mushrooms, onions and mozzarella on a homemade bun) you could have asked your server to either remove some of the items to make a plain burger or if you didn't like it, they are trained to offer you another dish with no hard feelings and no charge because at the end of the day we want to make sure people are happy with their selection. Thank you again for your note and we wish you well. Best regards, Eliana & Tarso
Darrel Newman's profile photo
Darrel Newman
2 months ago
Friendly staff, Food and juices were perfect. Place looks clean and organized. We will be back.
Jennifer Helfer's profile photo
Jennifer Helfer
5 months ago
Although a gluten free place they also offer a handful of vegan options including (but not limited to) a yummy tofu scramble, waffles, and warm chocolate chip cookies. They also have a variety of juices made fresh when ordered. Owner is super nice and makes an effort to know her customers. Decent amount of seating, but does fill up.

Stream

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
Breakfast is supposedly the most important meal of the day. Dinner -- and the accompanying wine -- is for relieving...
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
At the age of 32, Mary Siragusa got sick. Her doctors recommended she see a specialist immediately. Already a believer in the power of whole foods — as a teenager, she served sprouted grain san...
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
As an adult, life seems to be consumed by an endless stream of responsibility and minor annoyances. You have bills...
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
The New Times Broward-Palm Beach 2014 award for Best Gluten-Free Eats in Fort Lauderdale and Palm Beach goes to Fresh First.
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
In this episode of Dish In Dish Out, brought to you by the Foodable WebTV Network, Barbara visits Fresh First — the first 100% gluten-free and organic restaurant in Fort Lauderdale, Florida — for breakfast. As the age-old adage goes, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but  it is often difficult to find healthy options while dining out. Watch the full episode as Barbara navigates Fresh First’s breakfast menu and teaches v...
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
A gluten-free diet may be the latest food fad to some; for others it's required eating to stay out of a doctor's office or hospital. For both groups it's often equated with deprivation of tasty foods. Not so at Fresh First, a small café off the 17th Street Causeway, which touts itself as “South ...
1
Add a comment...

Fresh First

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...