Shared publicly  - 
 
Interesting, in a Creepy Sort of Way

A few months ago, I was invited to Pinterest. I joined at that time and found it quite interesting, until I discovered the terms and conditions that Pinterest was applying at that time. I specifically didn't like the bit where they claimed the right to 'sell' my content. I 'deleted' my account and was quite vociferous in warning other photographers about the risks.

Not long after, Pinterest did the smart thing and changed its terms and conditions for the better.

I tried to sign up but got no invite, I tried again but got no invite. I tried again. No invite.

Finally, I started to wonder, am I on some kind of blacklist for being so critical of the site? So, I requested an invite using a different email address. Less than 24 hours later, I had an invite.

You might think that this confirms my suspicions. I did at first. Until I went through the sign-up process. My username of choice, was already in use. My email address of choice was already in use.

Didn't I completely delete my original account? According to Pinterest and me at the time, yes I did. According to Pinterest today, apparently I didn't.

I wonder what I have to do to reclaim my account…


#ex
1
Visnja Zeljeznjak's profile photoFons Tuinstra's profile photoFraser Smith's profile photoJeffrey W Spencer's profile photo
6 comments
 
Regardless of their condition, I do not find the service one bit interesting. So, won't follow you back :-)
 
+Fons Tuinstra not a problem. Did they spam you through Facebook? Apologies if they did, I wasn't aware of that.
 
No problem, and I just got an email (and you have not been the only one over the past few months). Just part of the noise, I'm going to ignore. Or is this already enough to get banned altogether?
 
Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.

In your case, maybe their app has a bug, one preventing you from signing up with the same email address after you've deleted your account. Knowing how email is treated in databases (as a unique piece of data), this might be the case.
 
An old developer technique to discourage people from deleting accounts. The same thing happens on Flickr and Facebook.
Add a comment...