The new option in Facebook's iOS and Android clients to allow your photos to be automatically synced is a simple one to explain, and has many practical benefits for a company who's unstated goal is to control the social graph of its users. On the surface it's a win for users as well, but under the surface I can see problems with this use of the tool.
2 plus ones
Shared publicly•View activity
- "And while the synced folder in Facebook will be ‘private’ I find it hard to trust Facebook’s constantly evolving privacy settings to keep these images truly private."
The article doesn't mention that Google+ has a similar feature, although it has options to only upload photos if on a Wifi network or while the phone is charging.Dec 3, 2012