Profile

Cover photo
Eric Abent
Works at SlashGear
68 followers|21,442 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideosReviews

Stream

Eric Abent

Shared publicly  - 
 
38 Studios finally makes its overdue payment to the state of Rhode Island, so now the focus shifts to the new release window governor Lincoln Chafee has given Project Copernicus.
1
Add a comment...

Eric Abent

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Ghost Recon: Future Soldier beta was a success, with Ubisoft sharing some ridiculous stats from the event just ahead of the full game's release.
1
Add a comment...
In his circles
27 people
Have him in circles
68 people
John Armstrong's profile photo
Gee Are Pabst's profile photo
Jeff Chabot's profile photo
Kim Poh Liaw's profile photo
Cunningham Beverly's profile photo
Cory Gunther's profile photo
Franz Grzeschniok's profile photo
Rudi Parker's profile photo
Dave Wheeler's profile photo

Eric Abent

Shared publicly  - 
 
The voice actors for Admiral Hackett and EDI have confirmed that they were called back into the studio to record new lines for Mass Effect 3's upcoming extended cut DLC.
1
Add a comment...

Eric Abent

Shared publicly  - 
 
Retailers would like to see publishers release more major games outside of the holiday season, something that most gamers will definitely agree with.
1
Add a comment...

Eric Abent

Shared publicly  - 
 
Tons of indie developers have come together to give players the Because We May sale, which celebrates developers' ability to change the price of their games at will.
1
Add a comment...
People
In his circles
27 people
Have him in circles
68 people
John Armstrong's profile photo
Gee Are Pabst's profile photo
Jeff Chabot's profile photo
Kim Poh Liaw's profile photo
Cunningham Beverly's profile photo
Cory Gunther's profile photo
Franz Grzeschniok's profile photo
Rudi Parker's profile photo
Dave Wheeler's profile photo
Work
Occupation
I write for SlashGear and Android Community covering everything from smartphones to video games
Employment
  • SlashGear
    Staff Writer, 2012 - present
  • TFTS
    Gaming Editor, 2010 - 2012
Links
Story
Tagline
Capitalism, ho!
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Relationship
In a relationship
Apps with Google+ Sign-in
  • Project Default Service Account
Rooms are fine, TV selection is lacking in a big way (it seems like in an effort to get you to rent overpriced movies), and the continental breakfast is serviceable. Overall a clean, inoffensive hotel, though there's nothing to make it stand out from the rest.
Public - a month ago
reviewed a month ago
We stayed over Valentine's weekend in February 2016. We picked this hotel primarily because of its proximity to Joe Louis Arena. The hotel itself was very nice and the rooms were satisfactory. We did have a problem with the room we were placed in, though: we were in a room that was located next to the elevators and one of them made this loud grinding noise. It was very noticeable and distracting, and I went down to the front desk to ask if there was anything they could do. We were told that it was policy not to let guests move rooms unless it was an emergency and that there was nothing they could do. They did say, however, that the elevator causing the trouble would be shut down during the evening hours. Disappointed, my girlfriend and I went out to dinner, and by the time we got back, the elevator had indeed been shut off. Later that night, I received an auto-mail from the general manager of the hotel. It offered the basic "we hope you're enjoying your stay, thank you for choosing us" spiel, and invited me to reply if there was anything that wasn't meeting our expectations. I replied to the email letting the general manager know of the situation and was perhaps unfair when talking about the hotel staff (after all, they don't set the hotel's policy and are bound to follow it; it's not their fault they couldn't help me). The next morning I had a reply from the GM of the building, letting me know that he would be reviewing our charges and figuring out a way to fix the problem. A few hours later we received a call from the front desk, and without rambling on for too long, had the problem fixed to our satisfaction. I'm rating this five stars because I don't hold the problems we had against the hotel - you'll experience rough patches at every hotel across the country. What matters is the hotel's response to the problem, and we were thoroughly pleased with that. The rooms we were placed in had an excellent view of the Detroit River, Windsor, and the Ren Cen, and were in general clean and comfortable. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel, and it was pretty tasty but a little on the pricey side. Even though the hotel isn't as close to the action as a place like Greektown, the financial district's people mover stop is one building over, which is very convenient. If you're visiting Detroit to see the Red Wings, consider staying at the Crowne Plaza, as it's walking distance from the Joe, meaning that you won't be stuck waiting to get out of the Joe's parking ramp or in the long people mover lines after the game. Even if it's freezing cold in the city like it was when we visited, you can always cut through the Cobo Center to warm up as you walk back to the Crowne Plaza. Overall, this is a very nice hotel to stay at, and it'll definitely be near the top of our list when we return for future Wings games.
• • •
Public - 4 months ago
reviewed 4 months ago
2 reviews
Map
Map
Map