Profile

Cover photo
Ephraim Dickstein
Lives in Montreal, QC
122 followers|375,016 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideosReviews

Stream

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

Cooking/In the Kitchen  - 
 
I'm tired of the health and fitness cons...

http://vitals.lifehacker.com/butter-in-your-coffee-and-other-cons-stories-from-a-fi-1724843201

and

The 3 things everyone actually agrees on... minimized added sugar, avoid artificial trans-fats and eat more vegetables. 

http://vitals.lifehacker.com/the-only-three-things-everybody-agrees-on-when-it-comes-1709039566
Three years after co-founding Fitocracy, we launched a new online coaching service to start bringing in money. We needed a way to hook people in, but no one seemed interested.
1
Ephraim Dickstein's profile photoNapoleon's Retreat B&B's profile photo
3 comments
 
The problem with any diet is that most people see it as having a "beginning" and an "end". When they return to their same bad eating habits, the weight goes back on. Surprise! 
You know we've banned trans fat here in the states, right? :-) 
http://www.fda.gov/ForConsumers/ConsumerUpdates/ucm372915.htm 
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
How often as an innkeeper do you wish that there was a system to rate guests?
27 votes  -  votes visible to Public
Always
44%
Sometimes
44%
Never
11%
2
Judy Hotchkiss's profile photoStacy Kistler's profile photoMark Stephens's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photo
15 comments
 
+Mark Stephens If they ring twice, they better be holding a damn letter for me.
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
So, won an "award" for our "excellent" rating. Here is my questions....

Would you display an award that says it's for your "Excellent" rating and below that says it's 4.6 out of 5?
13 votes  -  votes visible to Public
Yes!
69%
No Way!
31%
1
Stacy Kistler's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photo
17 comments
 
I've given it a day. I've given it a month. I reply as diplomatically as possible eventually. Doesn't mean that there isn't something to read between the lines or that I wouldn't strangle them on sight.

There are people who just have the wrong expectations... wanted everything to be new in a 130 year old house or wanting this to be a destination B&B that served baked goods and tea at 4PM. (B&Bs in Quebec are classified below hotels and we charge below hotels.... I'm not putting out tea and crumpets, it's not in my pricing!)
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein

Shared publicly  - 
 
Wanna win a bed and breakfast in Virginia?
 
All shares of this post appreciated 
Win this beautiful Virginia bed and breakfast for $150 and a creative essay! Details here: http://winclaibornehouse.blogspot.com/
4 comments on original post
2
Shellie L's profile photo
 
Thank you Ephraim.
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
I just ordered a product from China and I was wondering if other people might be interested. Now, don't jump to conclusions... so read all the way through...

This is intended for the desktop or the floor. It has 2 USB chargers and 3 Universal Plugs. It plugs into a standard North American socket at 110/120V @ 60Hz. I realize a lot of people have never seen a universal socket, but a standard North American plug fits in, but so do European and English plugs, heck, even the weird Aussie plugs fit in. So even if they forgot their adapter at home, they can still plug in.

The reason I ordered this is that I can place it on the desk to nightstand and the guests don't have to move furniture, don't have to get on the floor looking for plugs, it's right there for them.

I recently read an article from some people who travel often that said that what they most wanted after wi-fi in their room was to be able to find the plugs without having to move the furniture. 

So I ordered a few of these for ourselves. I realize that I get about a third of my guests from outside of North America. I get a lot of people that need USB adapters and I have a few in each room and yet they can't seem to find them. I can't yet report on reactions to this product, but I'm wondering how many might be interested and if there is enough interest for me to talk to the manufacturer. Would you prefer it have 2 North American outlets and 1 universal? 2 levels, so you can have more plugs? What say ye.....?
1
Mark Stephens's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photo
15 comments
 
Yeah, that's not my International crowd... top of my list are France, then Germany and the UK. After that, my list includes Spanish, Italians, Swiss, Belgians, Finnish, Chinese, Australia, New Zealand... people who can't travel here from home in a CAR.

In fact in the last week we have had Spanish, Chinese and New Zealand guests.
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

AirBnB  - 
A homeowner found out the hard way that not all vacation rental companies have the same policies when it comes to covering losses from damage or theft. Carmen Carrubba's very first guests vandalized her home, but HomeAway says it doesn't cover costs and that homeowners are responsible for screening guests.
1
Hilltop House Bed & Breakfast's profile photoStacy Kistler's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photoChloe Tuttle's profile photo
5 comments
 
with VRBO (Home Away) You are given the choice of taking the insurance. I guess with Air BnB it is built in. If those folks elected NOT to take the insurance then I think it is their fault. I have insurance and I pay dearly
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
122 people
Avalon Lodge BedandBreakfast's profile photo
Pierre Morier's profile photo
St. Bernard Lodge's profile photo
Daniel Vaudrin's profile photo
John Becker's profile photo
Jezeriah Cook's profile photo
Doina Andronache's profile photo
Diane Emineth's profile photo
BedAndBreakfasts's profile photo

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

Recipes  - 
 
I hope you don't rind that I share this recipe... I have to do this... HAVE TO!

http://food52.com/recipes/37659-olia-hercules-watermelon-rind-jam
Yes, this is about making clever use of waste, as we're trying to do more and more these days. But it's also about seeing a new side of a fruit that provides a pretty straightforward experience most of the time. And not only does it have more depth and personality than you ever thought watermelon could, it's also the backbone to a better and lighter marmalade than most. The limes will make this more fragrant, acidic, and bitter, but you can leave...
2
Mihaela Anca Buture's profile photo
 
This sounds interesting, thank you for sharing +Ephraim Dickstein 
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
Here's another new fun game... you may add just one to the list until someone has added another.... (one answer per message, you have to wait for someone else to post before you can post again)

A question or statement that you have heard multiple times from guests. (The questions that bring out the sarcasm in you are tops... in my mind!)

I'll start....

Oh, you speak English so well... where in the United States are you from?
2
Judy Hotchkiss's profile photoSandy Johnson's profile photoSharon Elswick's profile photoStacy Kistler's profile photo
22 comments
 
+Sue Westenhaver I have 3 round tables that seat 4. If I have 8 or 10 guests, 1 or 2 tables are set for 2 while the other(s) are set for 4. Any couples that come down 1st immediately sit at the 2-tops, even after asking, "Can we sit anywhere?"

A few weeks ago, I had 10 people for breakfast, so the settings were 4, 4, & 2. Two young, gay gentlemen sat at a 4-top, and the seats at the other 4 & 2-tops were filled shortly after. The last couple to come down asked, "Where should we sit?" There are only 2 seats left. Please, have a seat & the main entree will be out shortly. "We'll come down when it's less busy." I thought perhaps they didn't want to sit with the gay guests, which saddened me. The remaining 8 guests eat & leave the dining room. The last guests come back down. I gesture to the seats that were ready for them an hour ago. They said, "Omg, you mean those guys weren't waiting for their gf to join them?" Nope. I figured perhaps you weren't comfortable sitting with them. "Oh no! Is that what it looked like? We want to apologize to them! We're so embarrassed!" oops.
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
Here's a new fun game... you may add just one to the list until someone has added another.... (one answer per message, you have to wait for someone else to post before you can post again)

Name something that you would have likely never said had you never been an innkeeper. 

I'll start....

Emergency IKEA run
4
Munro House Bed and Breakfast's profile photoBrigette Walters's profile photoHeather Turner's profile photoWilliam Wallace's profile photo
33 comments
 
"Sure I'd be happy to cook some more bacon for you" (to the couple who the night before requested (and specified) they were vegetarian only. "It IS an excellent bacon isn't it."
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

AirBnB  - 
 
An online company is disrupting the bed and breakfast industry in Saskatoon and operators aren't impressed.
3
1
Ivy Terrace's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photoStacy Kistler's profile photoMaxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast's profile photo
6 comments
 
Airbnb is running a "sob story" campaign about how their hosts wouldn't be able to pay hospital bills and mortgages without their illegal rentals. PAII & other B&B organizations should counter Airbnb's campaign with stories about legit B&B owners put out of business by the unfair competition created by Airbnb.
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

General Discussion  - 
 
Okay, really off-topic question... how many of the members are also playing Ingress? And if you dare, are you resistance or enlightened?

For those of you who don't know what it is, it's a great game for Innkeepers. It's a sort of real world/virtual world which requires you to interact with the environment. The particular environment is called portals and they are usually public artwork, historic places, places of worship, post offices and the like. Not only do you get some actual physical activity into your life, but you get to know your neighbourhood better. 
15 votes  -  votes visible to Public
What the heck are you talking about?
80%
Resistance
20%
Enlightened
0%
Playing but refuse to disclose!
0%
2
Gina Marcell's profile photoMark Stephens's profile photoStacy Kistler's profile photoEphraim Dickstein's profile photo
10 comments
 
+Stacy Kistler Blue is the Resistance... so you can welcome him to the team. I'm sure soon enough he will get an invite to join the local G+ hangout. There are cross-faction meetings on the first Saturday if he wants to meet others and some other social events by each team locally. Gets people out of their shells. And now he will know all the art around you.

Looks like Lafayette Square could use some hacking, linking and exercise to do. And it appears that there is a portal very close to you at https://goo.gl/maps/MZ4vq that even has a mission that starts there!

(PS: I already took my walk for the day, took down some green portals and made some links. Now for the hard part of the day... rooms! I have one room with guests that took me about an hour yesterday just to try to find the bed.)
Add a comment...

Ephraim Dickstein
moderator

Twitter  - 
 
Interesting article.... don't tweet during the work day!

http://lifehacker.com/these-are-the-best-times-to-tweet-for-maximum-engagemen-1714020784
If you’re looking to expand your follower base and get more retweets, favorites, and clicks, it all comes down to timing. According to a massive four-year study, these time windows are the best times to get more engagement with your tweets.
1
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
122 people
Avalon Lodge BedandBreakfast's profile photo
Pierre Morier's profile photo
St. Bernard Lodge's profile photo
Daniel Vaudrin's profile photo
John Becker's profile photo
Jezeriah Cook's profile photo
Doina Andronache's profile photo
Diane Emineth's profile photo
BedAndBreakfasts's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Innkeeper
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Other names
אפרים דיקשטיין
Apps with Google+ Sign-in
  • Bloons Monkey City
  • USSR Simulator
  • AdVenture Capitalist
Story
Tagline
Innkeeper
Bragging rights
Fluent in English, French and Hebrew.
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Montreal, QC
Links
Other profiles
Contributor to
Awful experience. Every regret in the world.
Public - 12 months ago
reviewed 12 months ago
We have used the brothers repeatedly for renovations. They are insured, legal and know what they are doing. Okay, they only speak French and with a thick accent, but they get things done. You don't have to run after them. They do their work with no supervision.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
Usually easy parking. Generally clean. Very long lines on popular days meaning that you need to be 30 minutes ahead to your movie or you will miss it. The mobile / smart phone purchase system is not completely implemented at this location. So even if you have purchased a ticket via the Cineplex App or website you will be required to line up at the automatic teller to have your ticket printed. Basically a waste of time to buy a mobile ticket because you will have to stand up for 20 minutes like an idiot to print your ticket because they can't seem to afford the required scanner.
• • •
Atmosphere: GoodDecor: GoodService: Poor - Fair
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago
One employee working, selling tickets, selling concessions, running an entire complex of theaters. The poor girl. Manager apparently acting as projectionist, except they left the light on in the projection booth, so we had a florescent light on through the whole showing. Some people were walking in and not paying because there was no one at the front to ensure people paid.
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago
50 reviews
Map
Map
Map
Specifically says it will ship goods well after the possible dispute dates with Paypal. Collects the money but doesn't insure that goods are ever shipped. In other words.... you will get ripped off. We did. Now we are trying to get them to refund us. Except that they are still trying to avoid paying us. Next step... the courts.
Public - a year ago
reviewed a year ago
You don't come here for the decor and that's clear, but the neighbourhood loves Romado's. Very little in the way of places to sit, this is a place where you pick up and go. Two lines, for those who ordered ahead and a longer line for those who didn't. Careful when you ask for the Piri Piri, it can be strong. And of course they stock Guarana Antarctica for those who love this Brazilian drink.
Food: ExcellentService: GoodDecor: Poor - Fair
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago
Excellent location. Great front desk staff.
Public - 3 years ago
reviewed 3 years ago