Google+ and your privacy (some preliminary thoughts):

- "Show geo location information from photos in newly uploaded albums" seems to be turned off by default. Good.

- By default, Google+ makes the identity of all your circles (including family and friends) visible to "Anyone on the web." Same with "Show people who have added you to circles," also selected by default. Not many people seem to have locked this down. Not sure whether this is a good or bad idea, but these defaults are Twitter-esque and will lead to a different culture than if they been reversed.

- Google+ has, by my count, 13 privacy settings, each with an average of a sentence or two of text to explain them. There's another page if you want to edit individual items. Facebook has far more complicated privacy options (in part because of Facebook apps) that are more difficult to navigate.

- FB says: "On Facebook, your name, profile picture, gender and networks are visible to everyone." Google+ lets users make gender and circles private, but it looks like your name and, if you have one, profile photo must (like FB) be visible to everyone on the Web.

- I'm not sure, but it seems like if you give someone permission to see a Google+ post, they can do the equivalent of forward it ("Anyone a post is shared with can see all comments to that post, who else it's shared with, and share the post with others.") What I'm not sure is if one of their recipients can forward it again, etc.

- Any member of any of your circle seems to be, by default, approved for this (though it's easy to change): "People whose tags of you are automatically approved to link to your Profile."

It's easy to see that much more thought and testing went into this launch than Google Buzz. Google+ is simpler to navigate, and I don't see any obvious privacy missteps that drew such (often unfounded) shrill complaints about Buzz. At launch, at least, it seems to give better privacy options than Facebook as well.

Anything I missed?

-Declan


Update: There's a "disable reshare" option (in the top right of each post you own) that I presume does what I was speculating about above. And as Sajid said, I should have noted the clever decision to make circle identities -- the equivalent of Twitter followers/followees -- default public but not the actual names of the circles each person is in.
Shared publiclyView activity