Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Deck Store (Oakville)
Deck Builder
Today 8AM–6PM
38 followers|181,704 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

1
Add a comment...
 
Arcadia Roofs 19 http://bit.ly/1L3VMlc
1
Add a comment...
1
Add a comment...
 
Outdoor Shading 20 http://bit.ly/1Pp8SXW
1
Add a comment...
 
Arcadia Roofs 21 http://bit.ly/1L3URBn
1
Add a comment...
 
Stoney Creek: South-West contemporary deck http://bit.ly/1hCJxyN
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
38 people
The Fielding Team - Oakville Real Estate's profile photo
Michael Petrie's profile photo
Holly Springs Builders, Inc.'s profile photo
Housewright Construction's profile photo
Petrie Fence & Deck Co.'s profile photo
Miller Chan's profile photo
Jeff Trudeau's profile photo
Taras Boychuk's profile photo
Christina Ketron's profile photo
1
Add a comment...
 
Thinking you want to be the envy of the neighbourhood? http://bit.ly/1PmBQ8Q
1
Add a comment...
 
Arcadia Roofs 20 http://bit.ly/1Pp8Qzk
1
Add a comment...
 
Arcadia Roofs 22 http://bit.ly/1Pp7HYM
1
Add a comment...
 
Arcadia Roofs 24 http://bit.ly/1L3UiHD
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
454 S Service Rd W Oakville, ON L6L 5B8 Canada
454 South Service Road WestCAOntarioOakvilleL6L 5B8
+1 905-337-7707deckstore.ca
Deck BuilderToday 8AM–6PM
Wednesday 8AM–6PMThursday 8AM–7PMFriday 8AM–5PMSaturday 9AM–5PMSunday 10AM–5PMMonday 8AM–6PMTuesday 8AM–6PM
The Deck Store prides itself on being the largest volume dealer of decking and outdoor supplies in the Canadian market. It is our goal to provide you with as many material and design options as possible, and our highly skilled team of installers and designers can turn any outdoor dream into a reality. Our four locations house hundreds of products in a fully interactive environment, allowing you to not only see what your material choices may be, but also providing you the opportunity to stimulate your senses with them as well. Our unique process provides you with the ability to walk on or handle your decking material, physically see color options, feel surface textures and experience comfort. You can witness the simulated ambiance of landscape lighting firsthand, immerse yourself in the relaxing tones of water features and hot tubs, and be amazed by the ease and simplicity of adjustable patio covers and outdoor awnings.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4 reviews
"All I wanted was to buy a small amount of railing for my porch."
"The manager had essentially told me he was trying to scam me."
"When I went to buy, he told me the final price was $2400!"
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
38 people
The Fielding Team - Oakville Real Estate's profile photo
Michael Petrie's profile photo
Holly Springs Builders, Inc.'s profile photo
Housewright Construction's profile photo
Petrie Fence & Deck Co.'s profile photo
Miller Chan's profile photo
Jeff Trudeau's profile photo
Taras Boychuk's profile photo
Christina Ketron's profile photo
All reviews
Paul Milton's profile photo
Paul Milton
a month ago
I read all the reviews and to be honest, I was going to run for Zee Hillz! But, I knew what I wanted and by advice from others I read and made sure the materials were what I wanted. Sales (Jessica and Natalia) were great and patient with me. Owner (Alan) actually went over the top to make sure everything went well, pleasantly surprised. I'll do business here again for sure. Thank you.
Paul Anderson's profile photo
Paul Anderson
9 months ago
All I wanted was to buy a small amount of railing for my porch. I asked the salesman to give me "the total cost for everything I will need to complete the job". I gave him a copy of my plans with detailed measurements, pictures of the porch and gave him as much detail as I could about what I wanted to do and how I was going to do it. He told me with this information he'd give me "an exact price" and he quoted me, in writing, $1174.95 + tax and specified it was for the Timbertech Radiance Rail Express. When I went to buy, he told me the final price was $2400!!! When I complained about the huge disparity in prices he told me the quote he gave me was just a ballpark price, not the actual final cost. He told me there was nothing he could do about the final price and directed me to the manager. The manager Alain told me he had told the salesman to give me a price for a completely different product, an Azek railing, that at the time was on clearance and was available in white only (I wanted black) and was no longer available. He also told me that they don't give actual price quotes because it's too time consuming. Their quotes are only ever supposed to be a guideline. None of this information had been expressed to me at any point until after I tried to buy the product I had been given an "exact price" for. This is the definition of Bait and Switch. The manager had essentially told me he was trying to scam me. In an effort to appease me, the manager told me he'd give me the "contractor price" which worked out to be about $300 less than what the salesman told me I'd have to pay, but didn't include some vital pieces of hardware and specific posts I required. When I asked him to give me a breakdown of the unit prices for each item I would be receiving he told me "we only give out prices after customers have given us a $250 deposit". I would have to give him money and commit to buying from him, before he would give me the prices for what I would be buying. What an absolute scam. I asked to speak with the owner of the company about these shady business practices. Rather than choosing to discuss this with me, the owner, Terry Fangrad, told the manager to email me telling me to buy my railing somewhere else. If you're thinking of buying here, take your business anywhere else. Easily the worst experience I've ever had trying to buy something.
• • •
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
The customer came to our store and spoke with one of our sales team about railing that he required for his project. In the early stages, all that was ever discussed was generalities and no drawing was provided at that time. When asked for pricing, our team member indicated that the railing would be around $1200 but that drawings would need to be provided so an accurate list and quote could be generated. Our employee should have indicated a range of pricing at the time but made the error of not doing that. When the drawing was supplied by the customer and the railing type and colour was specified, a more accurate quote was prepared and the pricing came in at around $2400. The customer was provided with this quote at which point he became quite upset about the variation in numbers. When it was explained to him, he refused to accept the fact that an error was made in the original ballpark estimate and demanded that we sell the product to him at the lower price. We would not do this as it would mean a substantial cost to us and we did not feel that we had erred to the degree that warranted that. No business transactions had occurred at that point in time. When we tried to work things out with the customer even to the point of offering a substantial discount, he stood firm in his stance that we honor the original numbers. From there, we suggested that perhaps he should buy the product elsewhere as things were not coming to a resolution. We did not Bait and Switch as is suggested in the complaint nor did we do anything that would constitute shady business practices. The situation was one where the customer and us could not come to a resolution on a simple miscalculation on a ballpark estimate that was provided without all of the information needed. We strive hard to please our customers and provide top notch service. We understand though that we just can't please everyone all the time.
Cameron MacLean's profile photo
Cameron MacLean
8 months ago
I have mixed feeling about my experience with the Deck Store. First off, I will say that the purchasing experience was excellent. The sales consultants were terrific, very knowledgeable, and very willing to spend the time to get things right. Their ideas on design and style were bang on, and their product knowledge was solid. Knowing what I now know, however, I think they may have glossed over some of the messier points of the sales contract. The sales contract? Oh yes, make sure you read it VERY carefully. There are all kinds of clauses in there that they will invoke if you have to return something. Make sure you get EVERYTHING in writing. Let me explain: First of all, they indicate there is a 25% restocking fee for unused materials. I think 25% is high, but I did agree to it. When I did have three or four boards that needed to be returned, they attempted to refuse, claiming that there were no returns on special order materials. I asked them to define special orders - they claimed basically anything other than wood or Wolf PVC is considered special orders. That was news to me and was never explained when we made the purchase decision. If it had been, I might have thought differently about buying the Azek decking I bought. Then I made a purchase of railing materials, prepaid in full, several thousands of dollars worth. The sales consultant called me within a couple of days, to let me know that they would not be able to fulfill the order for a couple of months. He suggested we cancel that order, and reorder when I was ready to make another decision. I expected the purchase to be refunded to my card. It was not. It was held "on account". When I let them know I had purchased railings from another vendor in order to meet my timeline, they attempted to withhold 10% of the overall order value (because the purchase had been cancelled more than 24 hours later - READ THE CONTRACT), plus a 3% credit card processing charge. I protested, indicating the cancellation was not my fault nor my idea, and I should not be held liable for their inability to fulfill the order. Many annoyed phone calls later, they fully refunded the charges. But it left a very sour taste in my mouth, such that I would think twice about using them in the future. So to sum, in the end, the sales process was good. The support processes and policies are, in my opinion, unnecessarily punitive, and not very customer-friendly. I don't appreciate having to do battle for product returns, and feeling nickel-and-dimed over a couple of hundred dollars, when I have spent over ten thousand with them. I don't think I'll be recommending them to friends or family.
• • •
Taras Boychuk's profile photo
Taras Boychuk
2 years ago