Okay Mr. Missouri. Here's my solution.Tool Solution: Feature Request
Go to the Notifications page. Notice the menu which says All. And then you can look at only some
of the Notification stream. For example, just the Mentions, or Tagged in a Photo.
Everything should have that kind of display option--not just the Notification stream. And Public should be one of the options. ___
You say above that the solution is to change the name of "public" to "all my circles". It is not
. Those are two different things. Public means you've given permission to anyone on the Internet to read your post. "All my circles" means you given permission to anyone you are following to read your posts. (Not just people who are following you.) In fact if you share it with someone who isn't following you they get a notification and they can see the post in their Incoming box.Solution for your Father: Which Works Now
I suggest you use this feature for your father. Have your father unfollow
you. He doesn't want to follow you. He doesn't want to read all your stuff. You wouldn't have this problem if you mapped your actual relationship, in terms of what he wants to read of yours.
You, however, still follow him. When you share with the circle he is in, then he'll get a notification. And he can read your post in his Incoming box. And none of your Public posts will appear in his main stream.