Concerned about unknown people circling you?
Many people who are new to Google+ get concerned by notifications that a person they do not know circled them. The truth is that having someone circle you is completely harmless
. Circling on Google+ is not like "friending" on Facebook, which is a two-way relationship.
The most common concern is that the unknown person might be able to see your private information. They cannot. A person who adds you to one of their Circles can only see information you share as Public. They cannot see posts or anything else shared only with your Circles (unless, of course, you add the person to your Circles).
Another common concern is that the unknown person might be able to spam your Stream. That too is impossible. Having you in one of their circles allows the person to attempt
to share posts with you but the posts will not appear in your Stream unless you reciprocate by adding them to one of your circles.
So the next time you see that a stranger circled you, you can take comfort from the knowledge that it affects you in no way whatsoever. #googleplus #googlepluscircles #googleplustips