Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Castle In the Country Bed & Breakfast Inn
Bed & Breakfast
66 followers|458,141 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Our guests love our unique location - there’s plenty to do on-site, but a short drive away and you can experience a South Haven summer getaway.
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/south-haven-summer-getaway
1
Add a comment...
 
Ready to escape to gorgeous Southwest Michigan this July? Book your getaway now and save $25 per night on whirlpool rooms when you book 2 or more midweek nights in July at least two weeks (14 days) in advance.

Plan ahead, enjoy the savings, and experience everything Castle in the Country has to offer.

http://www.castleinthecountry.com/bed-breakfast-specials.html
1
Add a comment...
 
Book our Fat Bike Fun Package for your biking vacation in Michigan this summer!
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/biking-vacation 
1
Add a comment...
 
As a local Michigan business, we are proud to be surrounded by so many amazing Michigan craft breweries.  Our guests love that quick trips to any surrounding town can include a favorite or new favorite brewery! 
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/michigan-beer-vacation 
1
Add a comment...
 
Every year, Holland hosts the popular Tulip Time Festival during the first week of May (2nd-9th) and it’s an extra special reason to recommend a day-trip to this nearby town! 
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/tulip-season
1
Add a comment...
 
Who said the kids get to have all the fun? Plan the perfect "grown up" Spring Break near Lake Michigan!

Read more > http://bit.ly/1ClRgn9
1
Add a comment...
In their circles
1 person
Have them in circles
66 people
Liz Hamilton's profile photo
Des Morgan's profile photo
Suzy Prybell's profile photo
Mihaela Anca Buture's profile photo
il Cocus B&B's profile photo
B&B Francesco Redi's profile photo
Bryan G's profile photo
Diego Farci's profile photo
Cynthia Coffield's profile photo
 
The Allegan Antique Market, held at the Allegan County Fairgrounds, is our favorite "go to" spot for unique furniture!

>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/antique-market-show 
1
Add a comment...
 
Dreaming of the perfect Lake Michigan beach vacation? Our Southwest Michigan 10 room destination Inn is centrally located to the best area beaches!
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/lake-michigan-beach-vacation 
1
Add a comment...
 
There is nothing better than fresh produce at its peak season. Here are the top Michigan Farmers Markets near our inn.
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/michigan-farmers-markets  #michigan #farmersmarket  
1
Add a comment...
 
Our rural location is home to many wineries, craft breweries and specialty food shops - making us one of the best Michigan getaways near Chicago!
>> http://www.castleinthecountry.com/michigan-getaways-near-chicago 
1
Add a comment...
 
Plan your dream wedding at our romantic Michigan getaway!
>>http://www.castleinthecountry.com/michigan-wedding-venue 
1
Suzy Prybell's profile photo
 
We got married there almost 6 years ago, and it was the most beautiful wedding ever! I'd do it again in a heart beat.
Add a comment...
 
Romantic Getaway for Couples - Visit our B&B near Grand Rapids, MI for a truly relaxing getaway! >>http://www.castleinthecountry.com/romantic-getaway-for-couples
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
340 M-40 South Allegan, MI 49010
340 M-40 SouthUSMichiganAllegan49010
Bed & Breakfast, Wedding Venue
Bed & Breakfast
Wedding Venue
Inn

Our romantic Michigan getaway is situated on 65 beautiful and secluded acres near Saugatuck, South Haven, Holland, and Kalamazoo. Experience luxurious on-site spa services, delightful gourmet breakfasts, romance and dinner packages and fantastic hospitality at our Allegan, Michigan bed and breakfast. Discover our private lake and pond, make use of the kayaks, walking trails, and relax in our screened gazebo and porch. Our romantic getaway in Michigan offers 10 wonderfully decorated rooms, featuring cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs.

Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
In their circles
1 person
Have them in circles
66 people
Liz Hamilton's profile photo
Des Morgan's profile photo
Suzy Prybell's profile photo
Mihaela Anca Buture's profile photo
il Cocus B&B's profile photo
B&B Francesco Redi's profile photo
Bryan G's profile photo
Diego Farci's profile photo
Cynthia Coffield's profile photo
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$175
Book at priceline.com
Booking links sponsored. $189 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.5
19 reviews
5 star
15 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
No reviews
2 star
No reviews
1 star
2 reviews
Refined rooms with fireplaces, plus a spa & outdoor recreation in an upscale retreat on 65 acres.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Chelsea Wickenheiser
in the last week
We stayed in the Sir Lancelot room. It had such a beautiful view and the room was perfect, just like the pictures! It was really enjoyable to walk through the woods and take the paddle boat on the lake. Breakfast was delicious both day that we stayed. It is a quiet and romantic atmosphere. We loved it!
Steve N
4 months ago
My wife and I drove from Minnesota to spend 2 days at the Castle in the Country Bed and Breakfast. It was a long drive, but totally worth it. First off all the rooms were exactly as shown on the website and were just as beautiful. The bed was comfortable along with the bedding being very soft. My suite included a whirlpool that came with complimentary bath beads and not to mention they had soft water(If you never had soft water it is very nice, it makes your skin feel really clean and soft; hotels have hard water and it always irritates my skin after a shower). So I though that was another great touch. With your stay they give you breakfast between 8AM and 10 AM at what ever time you choose. When you go down to get your breakfast there are serval tables but one is just set up waiting for you to eat at. It was really inviting and felt as though you were just visiting family and they were waiting for you to come down. The food was also very delicious and served in a very elegant manner, with great presentation and amazing flavor. While you are down to eating breakfast someone sneaks up to your room and puts it back in order without you knowing, so when you're done with your food and go back to your room everything is just as beautiful as it was as when you first got there! Besides the room we went to a nearby town called Holland that was cool to visit and we ate at the 8th Street Grille. My wife and I shared a burger and each enjoyed one of their micro brews together. Then we went and saw Lake Michigan after that at Castle Park. We wanted to go horse back riding, but we couldn't get ahold of the owner to make a time to do it. My suggestion would be if you decide to you want to go horse back riding call a day in advance. We didn't think about that until later. So we continued on to what we were going to do next, Skiing! If you order passes through the B & B then you get a better deal on the lift pass so we did that. Then we went skiing for about 4-5 hours at the Bitter Sweat Ski Resort. It was great! There were not too many people as it was a Tuesday. After that we went to The Grill House just north of the B & B. We had a great meal there as well. All in all, we had a great time! There was quite a bit of stuff to do and we wish had more time do it. Ruth was very kind. Check in was between 4-6 EST and we weren't going to make it by that time so she made accommodations so that we could stop at Brewsters in Paw Paw on the way up. She knew we were hungry and were going to probably head back out after checking in so she said "just go eat first then come up and check in that way you don't have to back track." I thought that was a very nice gesture. I booked my stay in January and the price per night was $240. While we were there we noticed a promo on Facebook that they just posted 3 days before our actual stay. We asked if they would honor that promo. They said normally it would have to be referenced while booking, but they said that they would honor it for us.This kind gesture saved me $200. It is obvious to me that the Castle In The Country is not only a business to make make money, but they also want to make sure that they take great care of their guests even at their expense, which I find to be rare and a great business trait. We had a wonderful time and I will recommend Castle in the Country to others. This is my first B&B experience and I now plan on visiting many more because of my experience at Castle in the Country, but I have a strong feeling that maybe Castle In The Country may have set the bar so high that I may have too high of expectations when I visit others. :) Thank you Castle In The Country for the great time. Steve and Megan
• • •
Katrina Olson's profile photo
Katrina Olson
11 months ago
I can't say enough great things about this magical place. We spent our 5 year anniversary here and came back for our 10th. We had a rough couple of weeks before our tip due to some unforseen issus and this place helped relax us and was just perfect. Ruth and Herb treat you as family and will do anything they can to make your stay what you want. Herb is a wouderful gourmet cook and I haven't had anything that was not good. Ruth will make sure you know all the places to go (if you want to leave the room). The couples massage was worth every penny!! If you want a relaxing place to go to forgot about everyday life for awhile this is it! :)
• • •
Kirra Sheremet Ressler's profile photo
Kirra Sheremet Ressler
a year ago
Great experience staying at the Castle this past week! The Bovens were very accommodating and wonderful "Innkeepers". We have fantastic breakfast both mornings and loved our room (The Jewel Box). Couldn't have asked for a better birthday present from my fiancé!
Dubz McDubswag
2 weeks ago
Looks nothing like the pictures, don't be fooled. its directly next to the road in basically the poorest county in all of the state of MI. (google it) surrounded by collapsing and decrepit buildings, it smelled horribly of cow manure, so bad that we could not enjoy being outside, not even for a minute. the main house looked as though it hadn't been painted in years, the paint was peeling off the building and the ugliest color blue i've seen in my life. so if you can imagine the exterior, don't get me started on the dated and horridly colored interior. The food was awful, and i guarantee frozen. Zero fresh ingredients. I'm sure Chef Ramsey would have a field day there, i can't imagine what the walk in cooler must look like or how horribly dirty the kitchen is. over all i feel ripped off. it was overpriced and left me with a sour taste in my mouth. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
As a small business, we strive to accept and learn from our guest interactions and value guest feedback, both positive praise and constructive criticism. Other review platforms require that guests verify their stay with us, and all of our other reviews have been actual guests of Castle in the Country. However, this review has been written by someone who has not been a guest of ours and because of that fact we are deeply saddened that potential guests could be dissuaded from a wonderful stay based on the false claims in this review. The claims of this review do not align with guest experiences listed in other reviews; thus, we want to set the record straight. We know this specific review was a personal attack on our business by an individual who was disgruntled due to a non-refundable event cancellation and decided to fabricate other concerns that are completely unrelated and unfounded. Finding a suitable getaway destination is a difficult task, and we know from guest feedback that online reviews play an important role in choosing to book with us. We know our guests continue to be smart online consumers who understand the difference between a spiteful and destructive review intended to damage our online reputation versus affirming evidence of their positive experience and constructive criticism written thoughtfully. We do ask that potential guests concerned about the claims raised in this review would read through other reviews that earned us a high overall rating and consider viewing our trip advisor page or website with accurate photos representing our building, grounds, rooms, and breakfast offerings. As always, we are available to answer any questions and provide personalized service to ensure the romantic couple’s getaway you’ve been hoping for becomes a reality when you book with Castle in the Country.
Cynthia Pollet's profile photo
Cynthia Pollet
11 months ago
This was by far one of our favorite B&B experiences! The minute we drove up the drive we began to relax. The person who checked us in had excellent suggestions for what to do during our stay. We stayed in "Lady Guinevere" and enjoyed the unique decor--especially the room with the Jacuzzi! We grabbed a delicious cookie on our way before walking one of the pathways, then sat in the gazebo, soaking in Nature around us. In the morning, we headed off in the kayaks, just after the fog rolled off the little lake. It was gorgeous! We spied on 2 sand hill cranes, and made it around the lake just in time for walking up to breakfast! Our hostess was completely gracious, and the food was perfect! A yummy scone, OJ, coffee, an egg dish, sausage, and fruit. Wow! We did LOVE our stay there!!
• • •
Brandy Miller's profile photo
Brandy Miller
11 months ago
Absolutely loved it. Every moment. It was so peaceful and beautiful. You feel like you're so welcome there. I didn't ever want to leave.
Dawn B's profile photo
Dawn B
3 years ago
We had the intimate wedding of our dreams at "Castle in the Country". Ruth, Herb and their team did a wonderful job of ensuring our wedding was everything we wanted it to be. It was very difficult to find a location that embraces intimate weddings like they do. If you are looking for a beautiful scenic place to have your intimate wedding then this is the place for you. Their attention to detail was superb in all they do. My husband and I are looking forward to going back for years to come.
• • •