Cover photo
Verified local business
Carolina Cupcakery at Skinny Dip
Today 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
6 followers|365,373 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1619 Colley Ave Norfolk, VA 23517
1619 Colley AvenueUSVirginiaNorfolk23517
Bakery, Wholesale Bakery
Wholesale Bakery
Wedding Bakery
Today 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Wednesday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMThursday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMFriday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMSaturday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMSunday 12:00 – 5:00 PMMonday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PMTuesday 10:00 AM – 7:00 PM
Carolina Cupcakery is a gourmet cupcake shop bakery located in Greenbrier West in Chesapeake VA. Our Ghent location has moved to Skinny dip Ghent at 1619 Colley Ave., just 2 blocks SW of 21st street. Cupcakes and food allergy baked goods may also be found at select partner locations such as The Heritage Store in Virginia Beach VA
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
28 reviews
5 star
9 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
9 reviews
"My husband does not like sweets, however, he loves carrot cake."
"The black & white chocolate cupcake was fantastic and the staff are just superb."
"A grocery store cake has tasted better,and had a better texture."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Have them in circles
6 people
ANGELA ZAMPIER's profile photo
Melissa Bliss Photography's profile photo
Katie Williams's profile photo
Local Pickins's profile photo
raven wilson's profile photo
All reviews
daena mousso's profile photo
daena mousso
4 weeks ago
I spent nearly $50 on 12 cupcakes that were so dry that 12 year old girls at my daughter's birthday party would not eat them. The cake was so extremely dry and tasteless. Thinking it may have been just the one I had, I tried another with the same results. These were horrible cupcakes for the price, which are not even marked in the store. I would NOT recommend this company to anyone.
R Whitt's profile photo
R Whitt
7 months ago
Disappointed in the service I received recently. I chose Carolina Cupcakery because of the amount of positive reviews but since this experience I highly doubt I will return. I ordered a cake for my husbands birthday on a Tuesday and by Friday upon going to pick it up I was advised that they did not have the cake. I made a call to the Chesapeake location to find out what was going on and why the individuals I had picking up the cake were told there was no cake. The individual said they saw the cake that morning but they could not find it that it was possible someone picked it up by accident. When I ordered the cake I was told that not only do they photograph the cake but they make sure you are happy before you leave. So with that said, I call and was basically told that they "lost" the cake and I was placed on hold for 8 minutes resulting in me disconnecting the call and having to call back to hear "we are trying to figure out what happen"....There was nothing to figure out, I would rather someone simply say they didn't fulfill the order that I had already paid for than to tell me they "lost" my cake. I did have my money refunded but I am highly upset and disappointed and had to purchase a cake elsewhere last minute.
• • •
Kristle Laury's profile photo
Kristle Laury
9 months ago
I was very surprised at how mediocre and dry the cupcakes are. They didn't taste fresh at all. I was completely throw off guard at how impolite the staff was. I think it was the owner's daughter. Customer service training is definitely needed along with better bakers. :(
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Kristle, We are SO sorry you had this experience, everything in store is baked from scratch daily and guaranteed to be fresh. I would be glad to refund the money you spent. Instead, I hope you'll give us another chance? Please send me your email addy so I can send you a gift certificate? We take a lot of pride in our product and it's tricky being the only scratch-bakery in the area. Your feedback is so helpful to let us know what's going on and I really appreciate it. Won't you give us a chance to earn your approval? Dawn
Google User
4 months ago
Way, way over priced especially when you can clearly see that the cupcakes are a day or two old maybe three days to a week old. The cupcakes are clearly not fresh. Staff is dressed and look like they don't frequently wash. I do not recommend this place.
Jessica Abioro
3 weeks ago
I tired the vanilla bean, which was awesome, they have so many flavors to choose from. But, the prices are a little expensive, almost $4 for a small cupcake. I can get 2 for $5 at my local cupcake shop back home.
Mya Davis's profile photo
Mya Davis
8 months ago
The Cupcakes are AMAZING. I usually don't write reviews but this is undoubtedly the best Cupcake shop in the state of VA (and I've been to alot). The customer service was exceptional.., the owner showed me the different types of cupcakes shouldn't had to offer and helped me pick it a few to my likings .. I enjoyed my experience and I will most definitely be back !! (:
nina smith
7 months ago
im giving this place 3 stars solely on customer service alone.. they are friendly staff, polite and helpfull. the cupcakes look amazing. i got a cake that was exactly what i asked for but not to my exspectations.. it was a nice size sweet 16 cake. 2 tiers, decorated how asked but i wasnt pleased with it. my complaint is not that i paid $80 for a cake, it was not worthy of its price. id of happilly paid that for a better tasting cake. the cake batter itself was very dry and bland, crumbled upon slicing. a grocery store cake has tasted better,and had a better texture. i really exspected to love it. it is simply nothing to rave about. im not a fan. i will say my daughter was pleased and had no gripes except the zebra print did not look like zebra. I will not return, nor will i recommend!!
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
We are very sorry that you're not entirely pleased with the cake. Custom cakes can be tricky- that's why we sent a photo and got your approval on advance. Zebra stripes are not usually blue. As to the taste and texture, it was fresh baked and decorated the night before. Our cakes will never taste like grocery store cake because they contain NO. pudding mix or preservatives. Not everyone is a fan of scratch baking and it is a shame that you found out this way. Give us a call on Monday and we'll see what we can do to improve on your experience. We certainly hope your daughters party was wonderful, she seemed like such a nice young lady,
Miss Peaches
a year ago
To me the cupcakes look better than they taste. I mostly have been trying the gluten free cupcakes, they were okay. Not very sweet and the frosting sometimes had a odd texture.


Have them in circles
6 people
ANGELA ZAMPIER's profile photo
Melissa Bliss Photography's profile photo
Katie Williams's profile photo
Local Pickins's profile photo
raven wilson's profile photo

Carolina Cupcakery at Skinny Dip hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.