, Instant Upload pictures are saved into a private, locked album. They are not visible to anyone else unless you explicitly share them.
G+ uses Picasa for photo storage, and as long as your photos are under a certain size, they are stored free. Instant Upload automatically converts then to a lower resolution. Not much lower, but still not necessarily the original size. Not a bad trade for free storage/backup.