Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Barnes-Jewish Hospital
Hospital
Today Open 24 hours
252 followers|4,054,358 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Shared publicly  - 
1
Lizzy Carter's profile photo
 
Social worker
Add a comment...

Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

Barnes-Jewish Hospital

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1 Barnes Jewish Hospital Plaza St. Louis, MO 63110
1 Barnes Jewish Hospital PlazaUSMissouriSt. Louis63110
(314) 747-3000barnesjewish.org
Hospital, Centres
Hospital
Centres
Doctor
Emergency Room
Medical Center
Today Open 24 hours
Saturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hoursMonday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hoursThursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hours
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
2.9
116 reviews
5 star
41 reviews
4 star
13 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
51 reviews
"People are k ,but their needs to be more available free parking ..."
"The communication between the doctors, nurses and staff is horrible."
"After getting my iv they gave me meds and put me out to wait again."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Tim Mitchell's profile photo
Tim Mitchell
a month ago
My mother was transported here from 2.5 hours away. Because we couldn't be there every minute we trusted the hospital to keep us informed. They did not! Not with updates, not with test results, not when they applied restraints (without consent), not when she hit milestones, tore out her IV or had the drain removed from her brain, not when she was transferred to other units, nothing. If we weren't there in person or initiating calls(which usually required leaving a message and often didn't result in a return call) , we heard NOTHING. Scans, procedures and tests were ordered (and pre-registered for) then when we inquired about the results we were told that they hadn't been done after all...with little or no explanation. We found later that some had actually truly been done but we were misinformed. Different doctors and nurses would give conflicting medical explanations and "opinions". My mother suffers great confusion due to a brain injury...one of the nurses told her to "stop with the silliness". We reminded her that it wasn't silliness, nor was it deliberate. Their pharmacy didn't stock a medication that she took daily so we were asked to provide it (and it's costly). We were happy to do so. When she was transported from Barnes to a rehab hospital, we reminded the hospital to send her medication with her. They did not. When we called to inquire they initially stated that she used all of it while she was there...then reminded us that it's very important that she stay on it. Upon being advised that it was impossible that she used it all they "did further checking" and stated that it had expired while she was there and they threw it away....again stressing the importance of her to stay on the medication. No one could explain why we weren't contacted that the medication was being thrown away nor were we contacted to provide more medication...especially since they had continued to stress the importance for her to stay on it. Going without the medication is more acceptable than calling the family to provide more? A family that was there on a regular basis and was willing to continue to provide it and even make a special trip if necessary. Examples of this type are endless. We, as a family, are horribly disappointed in the hospitals lack of communication, care and respect for patients and their families. We used to think so highly of Barnes. By the way, would anyone like to see the picture we have of the ICU nurse sleeping at the desk for the majority of the morning? I WENT BACK TO VIEW MY POST AFTER COMPLETION AND AFTER GIVING IT A 1 STAR THE SITE SHOWS THAT I RATED IT A 2.9 STAR AND EDITING WOULD NOT REFLECT THE ACCURATE RATING.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hello Tim - We are sorry to hear about the lack of communication regarding your mother's care. We would like to address the treatment your family received. We have forwarded your message to our Office of Patient and Family Affairs, however they need more information in order to follow up. We encourage you to contact their office by calling 314-362-6100 or emailing PatientLiaison@bjc.org. Thank you.
Larry Coleman's profile photo
Larry Coleman
2 months ago
I was admitted to the hospital through the ER department. During the process of admitting, the property I had when I arrived was lost. Value was over $2000. The hospital public relations team did offer to provide a check for $100 as compensation. I did not accept their offer. During my course of treatment, I suffered severely at the hands of the hospital staff physicians. The nursing team and support staff delivered acceptable care. They were tied to the orders written by the physicians in charge of managing my care and healing. There were many issues with the care I was provided. During my stay, I suffered with overwhelming pain that lead to anxiety and sleep deprivation. This technique of sleep deprivation is aggressively used for enhanced interrogation. The culture of this facility strictly aligned with the way we manage terrorists housed at GITMO. It did not matter how much I discussed the issues I was struggling with when reviewing my case with the physicians treating me. The concerns I had were discounted and ignored. Residents and interns displaying extreme arrogance and at times hostility managed the care plan. I only saw an attending for two visits. The residents and interns wrote orders that were in conflict with the discussion and plan discussed with attending physician. I suffered a horrific (neglect) level of care. I would describe the treatment program to align with increasing the pain and issues. It was not a healing process. The goal might have been to keep me as a patient longer to increase the revenue. A horrific educational process I endured while being treated. I was definitely in poorer physical condition upon discharge than when I arrived. I spent the next two months with physicians and providers not tied to Barnes Jewish Hospital to help me recover. The time I spent in the facility was a complete waste of funds and time. In the end, I did not receive any therapy or procedures to reduce my suffering. There are other paths and providers to seek healing and help from in the St Louis area. My experience dictates that another facility and staff should be considered. This hospital definitely has an agenda. You can learn from my experience and suffering. It was a very expensive lesson that validates the poor value that this organization delivers. A one star review is too high a rating! Shalom
• • •
Dennis Theriault's profile photo
Dennis Theriault
a month ago
These people saved my life and I am grateful .The care I received here was the best. They were professional and friendly during my stay and return visits. I gladly pay for the parking when I get the best possible care I could get anywhere . God bless Barnes Jewish Hospital
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hello Dennis - Thank you for the kind words! We will pass them on to your care team.
Kenneth Warren's profile photo
Kenneth Warren
a month ago
My dad stayed for a week and a half on the eleventh floor of the hospital. The care from the doctors and staff that he received was good, however the wedding ring that my mom gave him 35 years ago somehow disappeared. After religiously wearing that ring for the 35 year bond that they have had, he has lost this ring forever. The worst part of the whole thing was, it was a cheap ring, but priceless at the same time. Very sad!
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hello Kenneth - We would like to know more about this so we can see if the ring was turned in anywhere. If you email your contact information to barnesjewish@bjc.org, we will have a representative contact you for more information. Thank you.
Corey Young's profile photo
Corey Young
2 months ago
Barnes is known for certain specialties and quality of care may depend on what you are there for. My experience with Barnes has been excellent. I can't recommend the CR surgery and CR floor enough. From pre-op to post-op and everything in between I was treated with kindness, understanding, and respect. I was there for multiple stays within a 12 month period and every time my quality of care was consistent. The CR nurses at Barnes are some of the best!
Melanie Hercik's profile photo
Melanie Hercik
2 months ago
Before 2010 this was a wonderful hospital. Over the past 6 years the hospitals customer service has dropped considerably. Doctors don't listen, the nurses are inconvenienced and everyone knows better than the patient. There is no help at this hospital if you have a serious issue.
Ben Dickmann's profile photo
Ben Dickmann
4 months ago
This is one of the finest hospitals in the world. The affiliation with Washington University Physicians and the WU Medical School is a relationship designed to save lives and it is successful despite the many severe challenges sent to them by other medical facilities. I have been a patient in the system and have several physicians with Barnes-Jewish privileges. I've NEVER been treated like a "number" (a complete misunderstanding by those who have never been a patient). Instead, I have been respected as an individual with individual problems while receiving very personal and compassionate care by extremely competent people. Ben Dickmann
• • •
Melody Marlay's profile photo
Melody Marlay
4 months ago
There should be a listing for negative stars because I would give them negative a billion stars. The nurses are untrained, curt, rude, condescending and throw trash on the floor when they use something wrapped in paper or plastic. The student doctors are also rude, untrained, and make a lot of mistakes that cause patient suffering. The hospital is old and needs to be updated and they offer nothing to patient family, not even a decent chair, for comfort. The communication between the doctors, nurses and staff is horrible. I have never seen a hospital ran so poorly and staffed with such inept uncaring people. I would suggest that you go to another hospital if you expect to survive your medical condition. Also, if you tell anyone your cares or concerns...all they do is let you vent on them and go on doing the same thing. So don't bother voicing your cares or concerns because it will fall on deaf ears. This is the very worst hospital I have ever seen in my life and I am not young.
• • •