Profile

Cover photo
Andy Forsberg
Worked at MentorMate
Attended University of Minnesota
598 followers|789,446 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
These are three semi-obscure plugins that you may not be using, which can significantly improve your WordPress website's load time even if you already are using a caching plugin and a CDN, plus all you need to do is literally just download, install and enable them!

Try them out and see how much faster your WordPress website loads, then smile =) 
1
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
Best Smart Home Automation Products by Category

BEST SMART COFFEEMAKER
Mr. Coffee With WeMo
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-mr-coffee

BEST SMART CROCK POT
Crock Pot With WeMo
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-crock-pot

BEST SMART GARAGE DOOR OPENER
Chamberlain MYQ
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-myq

BEST SMART GARAGE PARKING ASSISTANT
Chamberlain CLULP1 Universal Laser Garage Parking Assist
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-clulp1

BEST SMART HUMIDIFIER
Holmes Smart Humidifier With WeMo
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-humidifier

BEST SMART LIGHTING SYSTEM
Philips Hue
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-hue

BEST SMART MEDIA STREAMING DEVICE
Nexus Player
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-nexus-playe

BEST SMART PERSONAL ASSISTANT
Amazon Echo
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-amazon-ech

BEST SMART SLEEP SENSOR
Sense
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-sense

BEST SMART SMOKE/CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTOR
Nest Protect
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-nest-protect

BEST SMART THERMOSTAT
Nest Learning Thermostat
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-nest

BEST SMART VIDEO MONITOR
Dropcam Pro
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-dropcam-pro

BEST SMART WATCH
Moto 360
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-moto-360

BEST SMART WATER LEAK DETECTION SYSTEM
WallyHome Water Leak Detection System
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-wallyhome

BEST SMART WINDOW BLINDS
Tilt My Blinds
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-tilt-my-blind

BEST SMART WIRELESS AUDIO SYSTEM
SONOS
http://peng.io/home-automation-gadget-sono

Read the full post: http://penguininitiatives.com/best-smart-home-automation-products/
1
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
How To Setup & Use A WordPress Child Theme

What is a WordPress Child Theme?
A child theme is a theme that inherits the functionality of a parent theme. It is a separate theme, that allows you to modify the parent theme without having to modify any of the parent theme’s files.

Why should I use a WordPress Child Theme?
Child themes are particularly useful if you want to customize a non-custom theme that has updates. With a child theme, you can update the parent theme without losing the custom changes you have made to it. It can also make development more efficient, because your child theme will only contain the files from the parent theme that you’ve actually made changes to. This makes it a lot easier to find your past changes to make additional changes in the future.

1) Create a folder (i.e. /wp-content/themes/theme-child/)

2) Create a style.css file (i.e. /wp-content/themes/theme-child/style.css) that starts with the following:

WordPress Child Theme style.css

/
 Theme Name:   Theme Child
 Template:     theme
/
 
@import url("../theme/style.css");

3) Activate your new child theme in your WordPress Admin Dashboard: Appearance > Themes

4) Customize parent theme via child theme

For example if you wanted to customize the header.php file and it was at this location /wp-content/themes/theme/header.php, you would simply save a new version of header.php, then save & upload your edited version to this location in the child theme /wp-content/themes/theme-child/header.php – then the child theme’s header.php file will be loaded instead of the parent theme’s header.php file.

5) Use filters whenever possible

If you want to inject something into one of your plugins, you can do this with filters via the child theme’s functions.php file.

Have any other tips for using child themes?
Would love to hear of other elegant ways anyone is customizing parent themes and plugins inside a child theme. Hacking plugins and themes after every update is lame, so anything you can do to avoid it is awesome! If you have any other tips for avoiding this, please share them!

Read the full post: http://penguininitiatives.com/setup-use-wordpress-child-theme/
27
11
Kevin Thomas's profile photoRob Lee's profile photoTodd Causby's profile photoRoy Montero's profile photo
3 comments
 
Hi +Andy Forsberg, thanks for spreading the word about child themes. I recently created a child theme for the Responsive theme using the cyber chimp download and was surprised that the import statement was missing, as the theme instead looks for the child CSS style file via wp_enqueue_style(). Per the doc the import can be a performance problem.

More details about my experience with the Responsive child theme (and what to do when you have problems with getting a child's CSS to work) are here in my post: http://webenso.com/child-theme-css-modifications-not-working/

The other comment I would make is that if you are just changing the CSS there are plugins you can use instead of making a child theme. I haven't played around with them too much, but they do store the changes in the db - so no worries of losing them when you update.

Hope this is helpful!

Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
A comprehensive list of 14 easy ways to make your WordPress website more secure.
6
1
Feedweb Research's profile photo
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
The best WordPress hosting options broken down by use case to make selection easy and kept to only four options to avoid overwhelming you.
1
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
SEO is not necessarily how to make your blog popular. You can create a popular blog quickly without SEO using other strategies. Click here to find out how.
1
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
598 people
Semme Thomas's profile photo
Patrick Allmond's profile photo
Boris Arabov's profile photo
PSD to WordPress - WordpressIntegration's profile photo
Jasper Oldersom's profile photo
Matt Tutt's profile photo
Vertical Measures's profile photo
White Hat Mastermind's profile photo
Troy Cantini's profile photo
 
23 SWEEET DEALS on WordPress hosting, plugins & themes as well as some awesome digital marketing products.
1
Add a comment...
 
Best Free & Paid WordPress Plugins by Category in 2014

Author Biography
Best Free: Sexy Author Bio (http://wordpress.org/plugins/sexy-author-bio/)
Best Paid: Fanciest Author Box (http://penguin.marketing/fanciest-author-box/)

Custom Admin Theme
Best Free: Helios Solutions Custom Admin Theme (https://wordpress.org/plugins/hs-custom-admin-themes/)
Best Paid: Modern Admin (http://penguin.marketing/modern-admin/)

Custom Login
Best Free: Custom Login (https://wordpress.org/plugins/custom-login/)
Best Paid: Pathway _Custom WordPress Login Page (http://penguin.marketing/pathway-custom-wordpress-login-page/)

Email Opt-in
Best Free: Optin Forms (https://wordpress.org/plugins/optin-forms/)
Best Paid: OptinMonster (http://penguin.marketing/optinmonster/)

Forms
Best Free: Contact Form 7 (http://wordpress.org/plugins/contact-form-7/)
Best Paid: Gravity Forms (http://penguin.marketing/gravity-forms/)

Google Maps
Best Free: Comprehensive Google Map Plugin (https://wordpress.org/plugins/comprehensive-google-map-plugin/)
Best Paid: Interactive World Maps (http://penguin.marketing/interactive-world-maps/)

Live Chat
Best Free: WP Live Chat Support (https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-live-chat-support/)
Best Paid: WordPress Live Chat (http://penguin.marketing/wordpress-live-chat/)

Logos
Best Free: Logo Slider (https://wordpress.org/plugins/logo-slider/)
Best Paid: Logos WordPress Plugin (http://penguin.marketing/logos-wordpress-plugin/)

Navigation Menu
Best Free: Responsive Menu (https://wordpress.org/plugins/responsive-menu/)
Best Paid: UberMenu _WordPress Mega Menu Plugin (http://penguin.marketing/ubermenu/)

Notification Bar
Best Free: GC Message Bar (https://wordpress.org/plugins/gc-message-bar/)
Best Paid: Foobar _WordPress Notification Bars (http://penguin.marketing/foobar/)

Popular Posts
Best Free: WordPress Popular Posts (http://wordpress.org/plugins/wordpress-popular-posts/)
Best Paid: Popular Posts Bar Widget (http://penguin.marketing/popular-posts-bar-widget)

Pricing Tables
Best Free: Easy Pricing Tables (https://wordpress.org/plugins/easy-pricing-tables/)
Best Paid: CSS3 Responsive Web Pricing Tables Grids (http://penguin.marketing/css3-responsive-web-pricing-tables-grids/)

Question & Answer
Best Free: DQ Question & Answer (http://wordpress.org/plugins/dw-question-answer/)
Best Paid: SabaiDiscuss for WordPress (http://penguin.marketing/sabaidiscuss/)

Ready-to-use Shortcodes
Best Free: Shortcodes Ultimate (https://wordpress.org/plugins/shortcodes-ultimate/)
Best Paid: Intense Shortcodes (http://penguin.marketing/intense-shortcodes/)

Redirection
Best Free: Permalink Finder Plugin (https://wordpress.org/plugins/permalink-finder/)
Best Paid: 5sec Redirect (http://penguin.marketing/5sec-redirect/)

Reviews
Best Free: WP Product Review (https://wordpress.org/plugins/wp-product-review/)
Best Paid: Taqyeem _WordPress Review Plugin (http://penguin.marketing/taqyeem-wordpress-review-plugin/)

SEO
Best Free: WordPress SEO by Yoast (https://wordpress.org/plugins/wordpress-seo/)
Best Paid: Premium SEO Pack (http://penguin.marketing/premium-seo-pack/)

Social Counts
Best Free: Social Count Plus (http://wordpress.org/plugins/social-count-plus/)
Best Paid: Easy Social Share Buttons for WordPress (http://penguin.marketing/easy-social-share-buttons-for-wordpress/)

Social Locking
Best Free: OnePress Social Locker (https://wordpress.org/plugins/social-locker/)
Best Paid: Social Locker for WordPress (http://penguin.marketing/social-locker/)

Social Sharing
Best Free: Simple Share Buttons Adder (http://wordpress.org/plugins/simple-share-buttons-adder/)
Best Paid: Easy Social Share Buttons for WordPress (http://penguin.marketing/easy-social-share-buttons-for-wordpress/)

Testimonials
Best Free: Easy Testimonials (https://wordpress.org/plugins/easy-testimonials/)
Best Paid: Testimonials Showcase (http://penguin.marketing/testimonials-showcase/)

Visual Builder
Best Free: Page Builder by SiteOrigin (https://wordpress.org/plugins/siteorigin-panels/)
Best Paid: Visual Composer:_ Page Builder for WordPress (http://penguin.marketing/visual-composer/)

WordPress Management
Best Free: InfiniteWP Client (https://wordpress.org/plugins/iwp-client/)
Best Paid: ManageWP Worker (http://penguin.marketing/managewp/)

Did I miss any of the best free and/or paid WordPress plugins?

If so, please share any of the best free and/or paid WordPress plugins I missed in the comments!

Read the full post here: http://penguininitiatives.com/best-wordpress-plugins/
10
3
Norene Jewell's profile photojeckziel cortes's profile photoTeng Chiang Lim's profile photoFabien Spack's profile photo
4 comments
 
hey Andy  whats up
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
3
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
Three different ways to easily remove old WordPress shortcodes from your WordPress website's posts & pages.
1
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
WordPress Giveaway
Enter for your chance to win free WordPress web hosting services from A2 Hosting, SiteGround or Bluehost and possibly a free lifetime Elegant Themes membership as well: http://penguininitiatives.com/wordpress-giveaway/
2
Add a comment...

Andy Forsberg

Shared publicly  - 
 
A manually curated list of the best internet marketing news, tutorials & tools in May 2014.
2
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
598 people
Semme Thomas's profile photo
Patrick Allmond's profile photo
Boris Arabov's profile photo
PSD to WordPress - WordpressIntegration's profile photo
Jasper Oldersom's profile photo
Matt Tutt's profile photo
Vertical Measures's profile photo
White Hat Mastermind's profile photo
Troy Cantini's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Blogger
Skills
Digital Marketing, SEO, SEM, Lead Generation, Google Analytics, Salesforce.com, WordPress, PHP, HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Affiliate Marketing
Employment
  • MentorMate
    Digital Marketing Director, 2007 - 2015
    Inbound lead generation, web presence management/development, conversion optimization, branding, Salesforce management, analytics and SEO consulting.
  • Digital Fluency
    Co-Owner/Founder, 2004 - 2008
    Conceptualized, designed and developed a music-oriented network of web properties as well as a web publisher tutorial site. Earned revenue via advertising and affiliate programs.
  • interclick
    Publisher Recruitment Intern, 2004 - 2004
    Assisted VP of Business Development and CEO in recruiting new online publishers to run interclick advertisements as well as performed a full SEO audit of a partner company's web property.
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Story
Tagline
Digital Marketer, Blogger, SEO & WordPress Expert
Introduction
My Name is Andy Forsberg. I am a senior digital marketer and blogger. Learn how to be a pro blogger using WordPress with me at my blog Penguin Initiatives.

Recent Blog Posts:
Bragging rights
Father, built large music network Get Some Noise from scratch, SEO, exceptional HoN player, great at web-based lead generation, made first revenue-generating web site at age 12, interviewed rock stars at age 13
Education
  • University of Minnesota
    B.Sc. in Business & Marketing Education
Links
Contributor to