Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
A Dog's Dream
Dog Day Care Center
Today 7AM–6PM
30 followers|157,602 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our star of the day is Winchester. He is a very clever boy and has lots of friends. He can unlatch our gates and is the one of the reasons we use locks on our gates. #keepyourspanky #staroftheday #dogs
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Don't take your dog to work, bring him to daycare so he can play, swim and socialize with some four-legged friends.
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
The social media life of a dog. Don't forget to take them with you for a walk while looking for Pokemon Go! #dogs
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Make regular grooming appointments to keep your dog looking good and feeling cool. Call (252) 514-2502 today to make schedule a spa day for your dog.
#dogs #grooming #keepyourspanky
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
What do you think it takes to be our Star of the Day? Personality? Smile? Affection? Kaya has it all! #staroftheday
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
This handsome boy is Jack. He keeps us smiling all day which is why today he is our Star of the Day! #staroftheday
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
30 people
Brian Kennedy's profile photo
Diesel N.'s profile photo
PrideBites's profile photo
chad bowen's profile photo
Dog Health Guide's profile photo
PetWholesaler.com's profile photo
Jessica Williams's profile photo
Gary Wittmann's profile photo
De Vonee Kaiser's profile photo

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our staff love the time they get to interact, socialize and play with all of our four-legged friends that visit. #playtime #keepyourspanky
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Cameron is our sweet and beautiful Star of the Day. #welovedogs #staroftheday #keepyourspanky
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
This week is on track to be hotter than normal for July let's make sure our dogs stay cool.http://ow.ly/MzsL302B74y #keepyourspanky #staycool
Keeping your dogs safe in the summer heat is crucial in order to prevent heatstroke and exhaustion. Check out these tips for keeping your dog safe in the hot weather.
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Chip is our Star of the Day today.The coolest thing about Chip is that he comes with his own fan club. #staroftheday
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Bo is our handsome and happy Star of the Day! He is so happy look at him posing like the star he is! #staroftheday
1
Add a comment...

A Dog's Dream

Shared publicly  - 
 
Bri is our Star of the Day. She's a Pitbull with a special story and she has been working hard on her socialization skills. #staroftheday
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1819 RaceTrack Rd New Bern, NC 28562
1819 RaceTrack RoadUSNorth CarolinaNew Bern28562
(252) 514-2502adogsdreamnc.com
Dog Day Care Center, Dog Trainer
Dog Day Care Center
Dog Trainer
Indoor Swimming Pool
Kennel
Pet Boarding Service
Pet Groomer
Today 7AM–6PM
Friday 7AM–6PMSaturday 8–10AM, 4–6PMSunday 8–10AM, 4–6PMMonday 7AM–6PMTuesday 7AM–6PMWednesday 7AM–6PMThursday 7AM–6PM
Our mission at A Dog’s Dream is to provide you with a safe and loving environment for your dog while you are at work or play. A place where your baby will be able to interact with people and other dogs, building positive social behavior and confidence. They will enjoy hours of playtime, exercise and stimulation. Naps are given if your baby is getting tired and needs a recharge or as requested. Daycare helps to curb destructive habits and alleviate separation anxiety, creating a more relaxed, polite and healthy dog. And at the end of the day when you are tired and ready to relax, you will have a happy and exhausted dog ready to join you. Come and check us out, your dog will thank you for it!
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
17 reviews
5 star
11 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
No reviews
1 star
5 reviews
"Took my wheaten terrier to be groomed today."
"This boarding facility is ABUSIVE."
"I loved being able to see my dogs on the webcams while they were out at play."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
30 people
Brian Kennedy's profile photo
Diesel N.'s profile photo
PrideBites's profile photo
chad bowen's profile photo
Dog Health Guide's profile photo
PetWholesaler.com's profile photo
Jessica Williams's profile photo
Gary Wittmann's profile photo
De Vonee Kaiser's profile photo
All reviews
Marissa Smith's profile photo
Marissa Smith
a month ago
Took my dog Cooper there for a week long stay. I loved how I could check in on him with web cams! He came home happy, healthy, and with a brand new toy! The staff answered all my questions and settled all my fears. Cooper will definitely be back!
Response from the owner - a month ago
Mrs. Smith, Thank you so much for bringing Cooper in to spend the week with us. He was amazing as always and he did great while he was here. I am glad to hear you had a relaxing vacation knowing that we were taking good care of him. Thank you again for trusting us with Cooper. We can't wait to see him again. Sincerely, Dan
Megan Queen's profile photo
Megan Queen
7 months ago
This boarding facility is ABUSIVE. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR DOG HERE! I brought my 3 month old puppy to stay here over the thanksgiving holiday. He was returned to me filthy and underfed. His bed and toys were completely saturated with urine. As if he had not been let out the entire time. I had to throw out $20 worth of toys and a $50 bed. He smelled so badly of urine I almost threw up on the way home. We tried washing him and couldn't get the stink out. He had to be professionally cleaned to get rid of the stink. He was also extremely skinny and underfed! I will never take my dog to this facility ever again and would NEVER recommend this facility to anyone!
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Ms. Queen, Thank you for giving us a review. Please accept my sincerest apologies for everything that has happened. I understand having a puppy is a cherished thing, and I am sorry we have failed to meet your standard. I understand your frustration and I regret that we provided you with bad service and a poor customer experience. It is the exact opposite of what we pride ourselves on. We value each and every one of our clients and I am sorry that Milo’s boarding stay does not reflect that whatsoever. As for your statement that we are “abusive”, by no means is that accurate. We pride ourselves on every dog receiving excellent care. I understand your concern about him being “underfed”, but we did follow your feeding instructions and the small Tupperware containers that you brought in with Milo. Some possible explanations of why he may have looked underfed are; a higher energy output and/or possible growth spurt. As a puppy, being in a new environment with different sounds, smells, and activities makes them more alert. This along with the adding play time means that they are burning more calories than normal. It is not uncommon after the first boarding stay with us; to have to increase the amount of food a dog is fed. This is not a lifelong addition, but with the amount of growth they experience as pups, and the added energy expelled, there is sometimes a need for a change in the amount of food they eat. Growth spurts are a another very common part of puppy life, and overnight it seems that they get really thin, no matter how much they eat. Over the next 9 – 15 months, you will see Milo go from skinny to heavy and back. Similar to what humans go through, but we do it over 18-20 years, whereas most dogs do the full growth cycle in 12-18 months. Here is an excerpt of an article from Dogster Magazine to give you some more information. “Puppies need more food when they are in a growth spurt and the quality of food can make a difference in his size. Giving a pup a bowl of high quality kibble will help insure he is getting all the nutrients he needs and is growing as he should. Don’t be alarmed if your pup thins out a bit during this period despite extra food. Check on his growth stats and, once he slows down, he should fill out a bit again.” http://www.dogster.com/puppies/Tips-for-Dealing-with-Your-Puppys-Growth-Spurts-49 I am very sorry to hear that Milo and his toy’s and bedding smelled of urine. During his stay with us, we gave him two baths, to include the morning of when you picked him up. On other days we would do a spot wipe down. We did these at no charge to ensure he was healthy and clean as possible for you. Milo did pee in his kennel and on his bed almost every night he stayed with us. This is common in young puppies, and we understand that. They are in a learning phase and we do whatever we can to help them, but there are going to be accidents until they are fully potty trained and understand how to use their bowels. We washed his bed and toys (as many as we could for safety) several times during the stay. I am sorry that we were not able to remove all of the odors. On the morning that you picked him up, the bed was in the laundry area to be washed. I am sorry that it was returned to you unwashed. We normally will keep the bed, if the owner wants, and we will clean it and have it ready for pick up within a few days. I am very sorry this service was not provided to you and Milo. Again, I am very sorry for the service that you experienced with us. By no means, does your experience represent our team’s commitment to Milo’s health and safety. We are all very sorry that you were not happy with our service. I will be contacting your personally to discuss how we can reimburse you for this inconvenience. Due to Google's character limit I am not able to put my full response here. I have also responded to your Facebook review and you can read the full response on there. Sincerely, Dan 252-514-2502
Terry Sharp's profile photo
Terry Sharp
a year ago
I went to A Dog's Dream a couple weeks ago before I went out of town about boarding my dogs while I was away. The owner apparently was out of state doing something. I spoke to the manager, Justine, and another woman I think named Kelly, and a shorter woman who I don't know a name. The front smelled strongly of pee, and marijuana. All three of the girls were visibly "high" and were not really answering my questions well. When they were talking to me, I noticed the same marijuana smell on each of them. I then walked around the side of the building to see the dogs, and the marijuana smell was extremely strong, seeming to come from the doggie doors in the building. Needless to say I did not board my dogs there, and will not be doing so ever.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Dear Mr. Sharp, I am at a loss for words with what you have experienced at our facility! I am so very sorry and please understand that this situation does not represent the high level of quality that we do provide. You are correct; I have been out of the office a lot lately because of some charity work I have been doing for our A Dog’s Dream Dreamer’s Foundation. I appreciate you bringing this issue to my attention and I will personally researching what may have happened. I have tried to find a way to contact you to personally apologize, but I haven’t been able to find a way. I also would like to find out more specifics about this situation, so that I can investigate it further. It would be extremely helpful to have a date and possibly a time, so that I can go back and review the camera footage of the facility. And with the outdoor area, clients are not able to get close to our bay doors where the dogs are, so if you can give me a better location (ie door 1, 2, or 3) that would be a huge help. Again, I am extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations. I hope we are able to resolve this issue and that you will feel confident to come back and give us another opportunity. I look forward to talking with you soon, please feel free to contact me at Info@adogsdreamnc.com and if you would like to talk on the phone please give me a call at 252-514-2502. If you are in the area, please feel free to stop by and meet with me. I will be around the end of this week and all next week (6/28-7/5). Sincerely, Dan
Lauren Armstrong's profile photo
Lauren Armstrong
2 years ago
I can't say enough good things about A Dog's Dream for boarding. My dogs LOVED spending a long weekend there. I received a super fantastic caring service at a reasonable price. I loved being able to see my dogs on the webcams while they were out at play. It really helped to ease my anxiety thinking my dogs would be stressed out and depressed away from home-- it was very much the opposite. When I picked them up they were happy and exhausted from all the fun they had!! My dogs will be returning and I will be passing on my wonderful experience to everyone I know with dogs!
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Lauren, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Your furry children are a blast to have with us, we love seeing them. We look forward to seeing them again soon.  :)
Richard Nash's profile photo
Richard Nash
3 months ago
This is hands down the best place to take your "children" for daycare & boarding! Sammie & Charlie love it there, they both come home tired from all the playtime! Everyone there really care about the dogs, you can tell by how they interact with them. It is also very reassuring knowing that every dog there is current with all their shots, no chance of your pup "catching anything from the other pups. This is the only place I take my babies for daycare or boarding.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Mr. Nash, Thank you so much for letting us know how happy you are with the services we provide. We take the health and safety of all the "children" in our care very seriously, and also, we do everything we can to make them feel comfortable. Sammie and Charlie are great to have here, and we look forward to them staying with us in the future. Have a great day! Sincerely, Dan
Sunny R's profile photo
Sunny R
8 months ago
I will first start this off by stating when used Just for a daycare a dogs dream is an excellent choice. However I was about to leave my baby there to spend the night until I found out that the entire staff leaves at 4:30 & your dog isn' taken out until after 7:30 am Next Day. For over 14hrs Alone & to hold his pee!!! Why do we callously expect our babies to hold it for THAT LONG? I was so upset as this is normally our first choice in day care. The staff & facility is superb otherwise but I just didn't expect the news that my baby would be alone in the facility all night without being taken out for that long. So stressful. Other people can choose to force their dogs to hold their bodily functions that long but my normal reply would be, "then you hold it that long & see how it feels." Again outside of this a dogs dream really is the best play daycare around.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Hi, Isis Roman, Thank you so much for reviewing our company. I am very happy to see that you love our daycare services. Giving our furry family members time to socialize and play with their friends is extremely important to their health and welfare, so thank you for that. Thank you also for the great compliment on our team. They work very hard to provide the best care possible for everyone's furry family members. I do want to address your other concern with our facility pertaining to the hours. I am not sure where you received the information, but it is incorrect and I am very sorry for the misunderstanding. As posted on our door and website, we are open Monday through Friday from 7am - 6pm and on weekends and holidays from 8am-10am and 4pm-6pm. Most of the time, we are in the building before and after those posted times. With concern for the pets, they are let out first thing when we arrive, so between 6:45am-7:15am (7:45-8:15 weekends). Their last time out will be just before the end of the day, so between 5:30pm-6pm. Again, many times we are early to get them out and late putting them up, so they have sufficient time to take care of their business. I understand your concern about the pets having to “hold it” for a long time, but with the times I have posted, the pets do great. Many of them are so tired from playing in daycare all day that they sleep right through the night. There are occasional messes, but that is normal. I hope this clears up some of the concern you had with our facility. I appreciate you reviewing us. Please feel free to contact myself or our manager, Justine. I have tried to find your account in our system to reach out to you, but Isis Roman is not listed. I am sure our records have a different name. Thank you again for your support. Sincerely, Dan
Peter Ellis Jr's profile photo
Peter Ellis Jr
4 months ago
Thanks Justine! On very short notice I called to book Joe for boarding three days. This is not the first time that I have called to get my dog coverage on short notice. Once again, you made my day, and Joe's!
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Mr. Ellis and Joe, Thank you so much for giving us a 5-star review. Justine and the rest of our team work hard to make sure your furry four-legged child has a great time with us. We look forward to seeing Joe soon. Have a great day! Sincerely, Dan and the rest of the A Dog's Dream Team
Patricia Stroh's profile photo
Patricia Stroh
a year ago
Took my wheaten terrier to be groomed today. Mark did an absolute fantastic job. He listened to my every request and I have to say that his work was the best Orion has received in 5 years.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Patricia, Thank you so much for bringing Orion to us! I am very glad to hear that you were very happy with the work Mark did. He is a great groomer and we are very happy that he is part of our team. I hope to see you and Orion back soon! Have a wonderful day! ~Dan