Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Action Scuba Inc
SCUBA Instructor
Today 10AM–9PM
240 followers|247,802 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
151 Avenue Cartier Pointe-Claire, QC H9S 4R9 Canada
151 Avenue CartierCAQuébecPointe-ClaireH9S 4R9
+1 514-697-8878actionscuba.com
SCUBA Instructor, Dive Shop
SCUBA Instructor
Dive Shop
Outdoor Sports Store
SCUBA Tour Agency
Water Sports Equipment Rental Service
Today 10AM–9PM
Friday 10AM–9PMSaturday 10AM–5PMSunday 10AM–5PMMonday 10AM–6PMTuesday 10AM–6PMWednesday 10AM–6PMThursday 10AM–9PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
15 reviews
5 star
10 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
No reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
No-frills dive shop featuring a host of equipment plus lessons, activities & other options.- Google
"I've done my open water certification with these guys and I am very happy!"
"A terrific Dive Center with a great team of staff and instructors."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
240 people
Albatross Dive Charters's profile photo
Oleg Kalachov's profile photo
The Diving Register's profile photo
Scuba Reguator HQ's profile photo
台灣網路貿易資訊服務網站群's profile photo
Darshini Krishnan's profile photo
Caribe Island Resort's profile photo
임현조 (HyeonJo Im)'s profile photo
Roch Farmer's profile photo
All reviews
Youssef Jebboury's profile photo
Youssef Jebboury
11 months ago
I have had the opportunity to do my open water certification with action scuba and I gotta say I wasn't disappointed! From beginning to end, the service was above and beyond my expectations! I came twice to the shop before registering for my open water class and I never felt pressured to take the class! The staff was super friendly and very helpful! When taking the class, I was impressed by the number of instructors they had! It seemed very important that everyone gets the maximum out of this course! When someone shows difficulty with a certain skill they take him apart with an instructor to make sure he gets the skill right! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to start diving! You would not regret your choice! For myself, I'll continue taking courses with these guys!
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
HI Youssef, thanks for the nice words. We're so glad that you had a good time - our staff always enjoys teaching and introducing new divers like yourself to the sport. We look forward to seeing you out diving with us again!
David Bordeleau's profile photo
David Bordeleau
11 months ago
This is a review of their Open Water course. It is hard to compare the experience with another shop but I doubt it gets better than this. The staff at Action Scuba are very friendly and knowledgeable. They will try their best to get you through the course but that doesn't mean they will go easy on you. They expect the students to master the skills required by PADI and will not let you go by even for a slight mistake which in the end is all for your own well being. Considering the price of the course, I feel that the time and attention given to each student is more than adequate. They even brought us on an optional wreck dive after our certification, find another shop that will do that!
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
HI David, Thanks for the nice review. Our staff are really passionate and committed and we will definitely pass on your kinds words, which will make them very happy! We look forward to seeing you out diving with us again!
Andre Morneau's profile photo
Andre Morneau
a year ago
Very professional and courteous. You would be very hard pressed to find a better dive shop that can take a what at times is a very confusing world and make it very simple. From training to equipment, they have got you covered. Gary, Christine, Johnathan and the entire staff are always helpful.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Andre! Thanks so much for the kind words. It's been a pleasure diving with you and seeing your progression.
Gordon B's profile photo
Gordon B
a year ago
Could not complete the Open Water Dive certification after two attempts, due to a) equalization issues with allergies (medication did not help), and b) failure to master the emergency stop (suspend 10 feet under water) for 30 seconds to the Dive Instructor's liking. Found both head DI's on the two weekends I attended lacked empathy and were on ego trips - I'm in top shape, and love snorkeling but found diving claustrophobic and demanding for technical details, dangerous. Action Scuba also refused to refund or help me resell $500 worth of top of the line equipment I used once for only a few hours, presumably because they feel it doesn't serve their purposes. Extremely demanding physically and mentally doing the Open Water Certification weekend. Lots of prestudy required, then classroom, then lugging equipment half way across the city, doing the program and returning it to the west end. Lots of people seemed to like it but to me it was just drudgery.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
HI Gordon, we’re very sorry that you were not able to complete the requirements in order to become certified as a PADI Open Water Diver. As a reminder, as a PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Centre, Action Scuba adheres to PADI’s standards for certifying new divers. The individual instructors do not determine the course requirements, but rather these are set by PADI, who is the global leader in training scuba divers. Our instructors are committed to ensuring that all of our students have a safe and enjoyable course, but ultimately it is up to the individual to complete the skills. At Action Scuba we offer students every opportunity to succeed, and offer students the chance to return to the pool as needed to complete. I believe in your case you did return after your first pool session for additional instruction, at no extra charge. Unfortunately, if you are unable to complete the course for medical or physical reasons, or if you choose not to because you realize that scuba diving is not for you, we are not permitted to pass you. And since you have up to 12 months in which to complete your course, you are welcome to return and continue at any time in that period. With regards to your equipment, we have a very generous return policy but even we cannot accept returns on personal gear that you have had and used for almost a year (purchased in June 2014). The equipment is not faulty; you have simply decided you no longer want to use it. Since you enjoy snorkeling, and the gear you are referring to is in fact a mask, fins and snorkel, we encourage you to continue using it for snorkeling so that you can enjoy a bit of the underwater world we love so much. If you decide to give diving another try, please let us know.
Sheila Honeyborne's profile photo
Sheila Honeyborne
11 months ago
Took the Open Water PADI course with Action Scuba because it was highly recommended by a friend. Enrolled our entire family of 5 for the course this summer. Just completed our open water dives and all 5 of us are certified!! The level of instruction was exemplary. The instructors were incredibly organized, supportive, encouraging and helpful. The staff at the Action Scuba store were the same. They all took the time to talk with us, answer any questions and offer all kinds of advice. During the pool sessions and the Open Water dives Action Scuba ensured that the pupil instructor ration was 3 to 1 at all times - which is incredible! Clearly the people involved in the set up, certification, and follow up are not only qualified but are passionate about what they do. Thanks to our main instructors Jen, Marc and Carolyn (and Jude!) plus all the other the Action Scuba staff who were on site - you are awesome!!! Well done!! Thanks for a great experience. Thanks for a great experience
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
HI Sheila. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your course. We enjoy hearing that you had fun and that we lived up to your expectations. We will definitely share your nice words with the instructors and staff. They are always happy to hear that they are making customers happy!
Dave Paterson's profile photo
Dave Paterson
a year ago
Yes, unfortunately several dive shops do not take the time to train people properly. It is not because you can clear your mask once that you master this dive skill and you are a safe diver. Repetition is important without rushing people. Unfortunately these shops consider that you "meet the performance requirement" and that you can move forward. Instructors are requested to minimize the training time in order to maximize the profit. This is a short term view. When choosing a dive shop for training, ask how many hours you will spend in the pool, how many sessions you will get. The more time you spend in the pool, the better your dive skills. You are not in the south, take time to get a proper training.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Dave, we wholeheartedly agree that we must invest time in training divers properly, and that practice and repetition are important. All of our instructors are taught to give people the time needed, and in fact, our students are welcome to return for multiple training sessions if they need it. This is also why we aim to have very low student to instructor ratios - lower than required by PADI - in order to offer more time per student. Your review suggest that you have issue with all dive shops, and not ours in particular. Since we have no record of your having take a course or shopped with us, we can only assume that you have made some assumptions about the way we teach, or else have us confused with another dive shop. We invite you to visit us and join one of our courses so that you can see that in fact, safety, practice and mastery are of utmost importance to us.
Raymond Persaud's profile photo
Raymond Persaud
11 months ago
These guys are great. When we were certified, we had an instructor or an instructor assistant for every 2 participants. Felt like a private session even though it was a group certification. They are a great set of people and you can probably find a diving buddy during your course!
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
HI Raymond, We're glad you enjoyed the course and the personalized attention. Our team works very hard to make sure that every students gets the attention they need and that our group classes still feel personal. We're glad to hear that it's working! Be sure to join our Facebook dive club Action Scuba Montreal Dive Club if you do want to meet more diving buddies. Staying active as a diver is a great way to keep improving. See you soon!
Steve Turner's profile photo
Steve Turner
2 years ago
A terrific Dive Center with a great team of staff and instructors. I started diving with Action Scuba about 6 months ago after arriving in Montreal from Australia. From my first email contact with Action Scuba, I was treated as a valued client and felt welcomed into their diving community. I have since taken and continue to take additional dive training with Action Scuba and have found them to be a fun, safety conscious and very very knowledgeable group. I have no hesitation in recommending Action Scuba to new and experienced divers alike. I have no doubt you will be warmly welcomed and well looked after, as I was.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 years ago
Thanks for the kind words Steve. We're pleased to have you in our diving community. We love meeting new divers!

Stream

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our 2015 #PADI   #scuba  course schedule is now available. Check it out and start planning your next step towards Master Scuba Diver. #scubadiving   #montreal  
http://www.actionscuba.com/scuba-diving-course-schedule-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Getting #married  in 2015? Planning a #honeymoon  or a destination wedding? Make your trip even more memorable by learning to #scuba  dive before you go. Check out our honeymoon special for #couples  
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our Black Friday sale is now extended until Sunday, November 30 at 5 PM!
Save on scuba diving and snorkelling equipment and courses at Action Scuba Montreal. Find out the latest specials and sales.
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Congratulations to our newly certified #PADI   #scuba  instructors who aced the PADI Instructor Exam this weekend! #IE  

http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/padi-open-water-scuba-instructor-idc-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Are your #firstaid  skills up to date? As a reminder, you should refresh your first aid training every 2 years. Our next Emergency First Response ( #EFR  ) course takes place on November 11. Plus you can bring a friend for 50% off! #scuba   #scubadiving  
http://www.actionscuba.com/efr-emergency-first-response-first-aid-course-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our huge end of season #scuba sale starts Wednesday, Sept 24 and runs until Sunday September 28 at 7PM. Don't miss out on huge savings!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
240 people
Albatross Dive Charters's profile photo
Oleg Kalachov's profile photo
The Diving Register's profile photo
Scuba Reguator HQ's profile photo
台灣網路貿易資訊服務網站群's profile photo
Darshini Krishnan's profile photo
Caribe Island Resort's profile photo
임현조 (HyeonJo Im)'s profile photo
Roch Farmer's profile photo

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Join us for the #PADI  Ice Diver course this February. See how beautiful it is under the ice!
#scubadiving   
http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/padi-specialties/padi-ice-diver-specialty-course/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our extended #holiday  shopping hours are now in effect. Shop weekdays until 9PM! #christmas2014   #christmasgifts   #scuba  
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our #blackfriday2014  sale is on this Friday. Huge savings on #scuba  and #snorkeling  gear and courses. Drop by and see us! 
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some great #PADI   #scuba  courses on sale right now. You can even take them in winter! Plus you`ll get closer to your Master Scuba Diver rating!
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Join us this weekend for the DUI Drysuit Demo Days
#drysuit #scubadiving


Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Congratulations to our newly certified #PADI  Open Water Divers. Your #scubadiving   adventure is just beginning!
http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/start-diving/padi-open-water-diver/
3
Add a comment...