Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Action Scuba Inc
SCUBA Instructor
Today 10:00 am – 9:00 pm
241 followers|144,558 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our 2015 #PADI   #scuba  course schedule is now available. Check it out and start planning your next step towards Master Scuba Diver. #scubadiving   #montreal  
http://www.actionscuba.com/scuba-diving-course-schedule-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Getting #married  in 2015? Planning a #honeymoon  or a destination wedding? Make your trip even more memorable by learning to #scuba  dive before you go. Check out our honeymoon special for #couples  
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our Black Friday sale is now extended until Sunday, November 30 at 5 PM!
Save on scuba diving and snorkelling equipment and courses at Action Scuba Montreal. Find out the latest specials and sales.
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Congratulations to our newly certified #PADI   #scuba  instructors who aced the PADI Instructor Exam this weekend! #IE  

http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/padi-open-water-scuba-instructor-idc-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Are your #firstaid  skills up to date? As a reminder, you should refresh your first aid training every 2 years. Our next Emergency First Response ( #EFR  ) course takes place on November 11. Plus you can bring a friend for 50% off! #scuba   #scubadiving  
http://www.actionscuba.com/efr-emergency-first-response-first-aid-course-montreal/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our huge end of season #scuba sale starts Wednesday, Sept 24 and runs until Sunday September 28 at 7PM. Don't miss out on huge savings!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
241 people
Scuba Dive Asia's profile photo
Gary Cross's profile photo
Leah Boneham's profile photo
InMo Divers Dahab's profile photo
Arnold Weisz's profile photo
Coach Zarlino's profile photo
Ma Jay's profile photo
Déménagement Excellence's profile photo
sarah conica's profile photo

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Join us for the #PADI  Ice Diver course this February. See how beautiful it is under the ice!
#scubadiving   
http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/padi-specialties/padi-ice-diver-specialty-course/
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our extended #holiday  shopping hours are now in effect. Shop weekdays until 9PM! #christmas2014   #christmasgifts   #scuba  
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our #blackfriday2014  sale is on this Friday. Huge savings on #scuba  and #snorkeling  gear and courses. Drop by and see us! 
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some great #PADI   #scuba  courses on sale right now. You can even take them in winter! Plus you`ll get closer to your Master Scuba Diver rating!
1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Join us this weekend for the DUI Drysuit Demo Days
#drysuit #scubadiving

1
Add a comment...

Action Scuba Inc

Shared publicly  - 
 
Congratulations to our newly certified #PADI  Open Water Divers. Your #scubadiving   adventure is just beginning!
http://www.actionscuba.com/courses/start-diving/padi-open-water-diver/
3
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
151 Avenue Cartier Pointe-Claire, QC H9S 4R9 Canada
151 Avenue CartierCAQuébecPointe-ClaireH9S 4R9
+1 514-697-8878actionscuba.com
SCUBA Instructor, SCUBA Tour Agency
SCUBA Instructor
SCUBA Tour Agency
Water Sports Equipment Rental Service
Outdoor Sports Store
Dive Shop
Today 10:00 am – 9:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am – 6:00 pmTuesday 10:00 am – 6:00 pmWednesday 10:00 am – 6:00 pmThursday 10:00 am – 9:00 pmFriday 10:00 am – 9:00 pmSaturday 10:00 am – 5:00 pmSunday 10:00 am – 5:00 pm
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
10 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
No reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
No-frills dive shop featuring a host of equipment plus lessons, activities & other options.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
241 people
Scuba Dive Asia's profile photo
Gary Cross's profile photo
Leah Boneham's profile photo
InMo Divers Dahab's profile photo
Arnold Weisz's profile photo
Coach Zarlino's profile photo
Ma Jay's profile photo
Déménagement Excellence's profile photo
sarah conica's profile photo
All reviews
Gordon B's profile photo
Gordon B
3 months ago
Could not complete the Open Water Dive certification after two attempts, due to a) equalization issues with allergies (medication did not help), and b) failure to master the emergency stop (suspend 10 feet under water) for 30 seconds to the Dive Instructor's liking. Found both head DI's on the two weekends I attended lacked empathy and were on ego trips - I'm in top shape, and love snorkeling but found diving claustrophobic and demanding for technical details, dangerous. Action Scuba also refused to refund or help me resell $500 worth of top of the line equipment I used once for only a few hours, presumably because they feel it doesn't serve their purposes. Extremely demanding physically and mentally doing the Open Water Certification weekend. Lots of prestudy required, then classroom, then lugging equipment half way across the city, doing the program and returning it to the west end. Lots of people seemed to like it but to me it was just drudgery.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
HI Gordon, we’re very sorry that you were not able to complete the requirements in order to become certified as a PADI Open Water Diver. As a reminder, as a PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Centre, Action Scuba adheres to PADI’s standards for certifying new divers. The individual instructors do not determine the course requirements, but rather these are set by PADI, who is the global leader in training scuba divers. Our instructors are committed to ensuring that all of our students have a safe and enjoyable course, but ultimately it is up to the individual to complete the skills. At Action Scuba we offer students every opportunity to succeed, and offer students the chance to return to the pool as needed to complete. I believe in your case you did return after your first pool session for additional instruction, at no extra charge. Unfortunately, if you are unable to complete the course for medical or physical reasons, or if you choose not to because you realize that scuba diving is not for you, we are not permitted to pass you. And since you have up to 12 months in which to complete your course, you are welcome to return and continue at any time in that period. With regards to your equipment, we have a very generous return policy but even we cannot accept returns on personal gear that you have had and used for almost a year (purchased in June 2014). The equipment is not faulty; you have simply decided you no longer want to use it. Since you enjoy snorkeling, and the gear you are referring to is in fact a mask, fins and snorkel, we encourage you to continue using it for snorkeling so that you can enjoy a bit of the underwater world we love so much. If you decide to give diving another try, please let us know.
Dave Paterson
2 months ago
Yes, unfortunately several dive shops do not take the time to train people properly. It is not because you can clear your mask once that you master this dive skill and you are a safe diver. Repetition is important without rushing people. Unfortunately these shops consider that you "meet the performance requirement" and that you can move forward. Instructors are requested to minimize the training time in order to maximize the profit. This is a short term view. When choosing a dive shop for training, ask how many hours you will spend in the pool, how many sessions you will get. The more time you spend in the pool, the better your dive skills. You are not in the south, take time to get a proper training.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Dave, we wholeheartedly agree that we must invest time in training divers properly, and that practice and repetition are important. All of our instructors are taught to give people the time needed, and in fact, our students are welcome to return for multiple training sessions if they need it. This is also why we aim to have very low student to instructor ratios - lower than required by PADI - in order to offer more time per student. Your review suggest that you have issue with all dive shops, and not ours in particular. Since we have no record of your having take a course or shopped with us, we can only assume that you have made some assumptions about the way we teach, or else have us confused with another dive shop. We invite you to visit us and join one of our courses so that you can see that in fact, safety, practice and mastery are of utmost importance to us.
Steph Harnois
a year ago
Horrible service. I called for pricing for a Christmas gift. I asked if I could pay and have my significant other sign the paperwork after Christmas as this a gift. I didnt want to spoil the surprise. Instead of being understanding and hold the reservation after paying, (I mean they would be at lost since it would already have been payed) the receptionist got sarcastic and insulting. I will gladly call other compagnies and spend my money elsewere.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Steph, I am very sorry you felt that you had a bad experience. There was clearly a misunderstanding, for which we apologize. We never like to hear that we've disappointed someone, and your feedback will help us improve how we communicate course requirements to others. The person you spoke to was in fact an instructor, not a receptionist, and she was simply trying to explain that your significant other would have to sign his own medical questionnaire, regardless of when the course takes place. We appreciate that you said you wanted to complete this for him in order to preserve the surprise, but every student needs to make their own medical declaration for safety reasons. We take diver safety very seriously here at Action Scuba, and therefore it was impossible for us to bend the rules to accommodate your request. I am sorry that you feel that our inability to do so was rude, and we apologize for the way it was explained to you. It is absolutely possible to buy a course as a gift and present the paperwork later, and many people do so without ruining the surprise. We can and do hold course reservations without the required paperwork, as long as it is completed and submitted a few days before the course takes place. We hope that this experience has not dampened your enthusiasm for scuba diving, and wish you success no matter where you choose to take your course. The owners and management of Action Scuba.
John Taylor
9 months ago
Bad service and very expensive prices. The training is average (as bad as acceptable).
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
Hi John, We`re very sorry to hear that you were not happy with your service or training. We`d like to learn more about your experience to see if we can address any of your concerns. I`ve searched through our training records and customer list, and I don`t see a record of your having taken a course with us or shopped with us as John Taylor. If this is under another name, please let me know. We would be more than happy to take any specific feedback under consideration or help you in any way. Thanks
Andre Morneau's profile photo
Andre Morneau
2 months ago
Very professional and courteous. You would be very hard pressed to find a better dive shop that can take a what at times is a very confusing world and make it very simple. From training to equipment, they have got you covered. Gary, Christine, Johnathan and the entire staff are always helpful.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Andre! Thanks so much for the kind words. It's been a pleasure diving with you and seeing your progression.
Steve Turner's profile photo
Steve Turner
a year ago
A terrific Dive Center with a great team of staff and instructors. I started diving with Action Scuba about 6 months ago after arriving in Montreal from Australia. From my first email contact with Action Scuba, I was treated as a valued client and felt welcomed into their diving community. I have since taken and continue to take additional dive training with Action Scuba and have found them to be a fun, safety conscious and very very knowledgeable group. I have no hesitation in recommending Action Scuba to new and experienced divers alike. I have no doubt you will be warmly welcomed and well looked after, as I was.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks for the kind words Steve. We're pleased to have you in our diving community. We love meeting new divers!
Sebastien Bouthillette's profile photo
Sebastien Bouthillette
a month ago
I've done my open water certification with these guys and I am very happy! I love the people there and I can't wait to get my advanced open water done! Keep up the good work guys!
A Google User
3 years ago
FANTASTIC! After years of putting off my scuba certification I finally signed up with the fantastic staff at Action Scuba. Their attentiveness, caring nature and patience with all of the students was unmistakable and their passion for the sport infectious! I cannot say enough wonderful words about the team at Action Scuba and I look forward to years of diving together. Thanks Action Scuba for helping me achieve my dream.