Profile cover photo
Profile photo
39 West Press
Live. Write. Evolve.
Live. Write. Evolve.
About
Posts

Post has attachment
Meet Richard Alan Nichols

RICHARD ALAN NICHOLS is an actor, teacher, and director. He studied acting with Uta Hagen for five years at HB Studio in New York and has taught acting at Washington University, Park University, Avila University, and Rockhurst University. In 1987 he created his own studio, The Actor’s Craft Studio, where he instructs beginning, intermediate, and advanced actors.

Richard Alan’s stage credits include: Nonno in Night of the Iguana (Metropolitan Ensemble Theatre), the title role in The Giver (The Coterie), Moris in Permanent Collection ( Unicorn Theatre), Morrie in Tuesdays with Morrie (American Heartland Theatre), Harry in The Sum of Us (Actors & Artists Against AIDS), Dorn in The Seagull (Missouri Repertory Theatre), and many more. His film credits include: James Ivory’s Mr. and Mrs. Bridge, Steven Soderbergh’s King of the Hill, and the TV movie They've Taken Our Children.

Richard Alan has directed Jesus on Toast (KC Fringe Festival), You Can’t Take It With You (Rockhurst University), Anna in the Tropics (Johnson County CC), Reckless (Unicorn Theatre), The Woolgatherer (Park University), and many more. He is the author of two plays: Land and Detours.

Post has attachment
To Act Is To Do: Six Classes for Teachers and Actors Based on the Uta Hagen Technique
by Richard Alan Nichols

Order online from one of these retailers:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1946358061/

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/to-act-is-to-do-richard-alan-nichols/1127773745?ean=9781946358066

IndieBound: https://www.indiebound.org/book/9781946358066?aff=39WestPress

Post has attachment

Post has attachment

Post has attachment
Meet Ben Stoltzfus & Judith Palmer

JUDITH PALMER is a printmaker whose work is in the tradition of Jasper Johns, Cy Twombly, and Richard Diebenkorn. She explores the language of art and the process by which art’s sign-system communicates its message-line, texture, color and image. Palmer collects “found language”-numerals, words, sentences-from streets, walls, or waste paper and transfers their photo images onto zinc plates. She combines these elements with traditional, more rigid patterns and techniques of etching. The result is a dialectic, a movement back and forth between spontaneously flowing arabesques that represent energy, aggression and rebellion, and the rigid, straight lines of confinement and restriction. This combined language of spontaneity and restraint generates movement and tension between the different parts. Form becomes content.

BEN STOLTZFUS is a novelist, translator and literary critic. He has received many grants and awards: Fulbright, Camargo, Humanities, Creative Arts, and in 1997, the Gradiva Award from NAAP for Lacan and Literature: Purloined Pretexts. He translated Alain Robbe-Grillet’s pictonovel, La Belle Captive, in collaboration with René Magritte, and The Target, a short fiction, in collaboration with Jasper Johns. Stoltzfus’ latest novel, Cat O’Nine Tails, was published in 2012. His study of Hemingway and French Writers appeared in 2010, and Magritte and Literature: Elective Affinities in 2013. He lives with his artist wife, Judith Palmer, in Riverside, California.

Post has attachment
Meet Harmon Leon

Harmon Leon is a journalist, comedian, and the author of six previous books, including The Harmon Chronicles and Republican Like Me, which both won Independent Publisher Awards for humor. Leon has appeared on This American Life, The Howard Stern Show, MSNBC, Penn and Teller: Bullshit!, Last Call with Carson Daly, and the BBC.

He has performed critically-acclaimed solo comedy shows at venues around the world, including The Edinburgh Festival, Melbourne Comedy Festival, and Montreal's Just for Laughs. His writing can be found in Vice, The Nation, Esquire, Ozy, National Geographic, The Guardian, Wired, and more.

Post has attachment
Meet Ted Rall

Ted Rall has worked in almost every aspect of cartooning. His syndicated editorial cartoons for Andrews McMeel Syndication have appeared in publications like The New York Times, Rolling Stone, Washington Post, and Village Voice since the 1990s and have earned him two RFK Journalism Awards and a Pulitzer finalistship.

He has done local- and state-issue cartoons for The Asbury Park Press, Las Vegas Review-Journal, Harrisburg Patriot-News, and The Los Angeles Times and humor cartoons for MAD magazine.

Rall was a top editor at United Media and continues to edit cartoons for a variety of publications and cartoonists. He is also a widely-circulated syndicated opinion columnist for Creators Syndicate and has published 20 books, including collections of cartoons and essays, original graphic novels, war correspondency, adventure travel, and political biographies.

Rall's best-known books are the Gen X manifesto Revenge of the Latchkey Kids, the war travelogue To Afghanistan and Back, and the political bios Snowden and Bernie. His latest title is Francis: The People's Pope. Rall lives in New York.

Post has attachment

Post has attachment
Meet Lindsey Martin-Bowen

Lindsey Martin-Bowen is a poet, fiction writer, and educator. She received both her M.A. in English and J.D. from the University of Missouri-Kansas City, where she also taught for eighteen years. Her poems have appeared in many literary journals, magazines, and anthologies.

A chapbook version of Crossing Kansas with Jim Morrison, her third collection of poetry, was a semi-finalist in a 2015-16 QuillsEdge Press contest. Her preceding collection, Inside Virgil’s Garage, was a runner-up for the 2015 Nelson Poetry Book Award, and a poem from that volume was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. Last year, in its 85th annual contest, Writer’s Digest awarded her "Vegetable Linguistics" an Honorable Mention, and in 2008, McClatchy Newspapers named her debut collection, Standing on the Edge of the World, one of the Ten Top poetry books of the year.

Martin-Bowen has worked as a reporter for The Louisville Times and The SUN Newspapers, as an associate editor for Modern Jeweler Magazine, and as editor of The National Paralegal Reporter. She currently teaches writing at MCC-Longview.

Post has attachment
Meet José Faus

José Faus, a Bogota, Colombia native and longtime Kansas City resident, is a founding member of the Latino Writers Collective and has been involved in many mural works in the Kansas City area, Mexico, and most recently Bolivia, where he received a cultural ambassador grant from the U.S. State Department. He is the 2011 winner of Poets & Writers Maureen Egen Writers Exchange award and maintains a studio practice at caridostudio in downtown Kansas City, KS.
Wait while more posts are being loaded